The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1984 Season

Season Summary

1984 Full Schedule and Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1984 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 0 4 0 0 65 119 L4 0-4-0
Regular Season 16 9 7 0 18 464 443 W1 3-3-0
Home 8 6 2 0 12 275 180 W2 4-2-0
Visitor 8 3 5 0 6 189 263 L1 3-3-0
Intra-division 8 4 4 0 8 233 199 W1 3-3-0
Inter-division 8 5 3 0 10 231 244 W2 4-2-0

Full 1984 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 1984 Opponent Appearances

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (2)0-1-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Calgary Stampeders (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Ottawa Rough Riders (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Toronto Argonauts (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2)0-1-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Montreal Concordes (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Assistant Coaches
  • Paul Boudreau
  • Mike Nelson
  • Bud Riley
  • Paul Rudzinski
  • Steve Goldman

Edmonton Eskimos 1984 Attendance

  • Capacity: 60,081
  • High: 47,015
  • Avg: 40,977 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Variance over 1983 Avg: -9,043
  • Low: 32,441
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 68.20
  • Variance from League Avg: +13,611

More 1984 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19841983 +/-
Average Combined Score 56.69 5.00 +
Average Winning Score 35.22 4.15 -
Average Losing Score 21.00 4.13 +
Average Home Score 34.38 6.63 +
Average Visitor Score 23.63 4.88 -
Average Margin of Victory 13.67 3.96 -
Average Margin of Loss 14.57 6.07 +

Stadium

  • 1984 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 60,081
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1983 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 503282 7546121 7138109 7973152 275 (34.4)189 (23.6)464 (29.0)
Opponent 423981 4695141 5086136 424385 263 (32.9)180 (22.5)443 (27.7)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 8 (5-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (4-4-0)
After 2nd 5 (4-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 8 (6-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (2-5-0)
After 3rd 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 8 (7-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (2-6-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 9 (9-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)

Edmonton Eskimos 1984 Stars of the Week

Offensive Star

  • 1 – Brian Kelly
  • 1 – Matt Dunigan

Defensive Star

  • 1 – Darryl Hall

Lineman Star

  • 1 – Hector Pothier
  • 1 – James Hunter
Week Game Date Time (MST ) Result Attendance TV
A 5 Thu. June 7 6:30 PM SSK 33 @ EDM 30 L 21,305
B 9 Mon. June 11 7:30 PM EDM 8 @ BC 32 L 28,732 CTVR
C 11 Fri. June 15 6:30 PM WPG 25 @ EDM 11 L 31,382
D 16 Thu. June 21 6:30 PM EDM 16 @ CGY 29 L 20,370 CTVR
1 21 Sat. June 30 6:30 PM OTT 31 @ EDM 32 W 32,441 CBC
2 23 Fri. July 6 7:30 PM EDM 10 @ BC 44 L 43,501 CTV
3 27 Fri. July 13 6:30 PM CGY 13 @ EDM 40 W 40,215 CTV
4 33 Sun. July 22 2:00 PM EDM 26 @ TOR 43 L 31,132 CTV
6 39 Fri. Aug. 3 7:00 PM WPG 22 @ EDM 21 L 40,470 CTV
7 45 Sun. Aug. 12 12:30 PM EDM 37 @ SSK 21 W 22,371
8 48 Sat. Aug. 18 4:00 PM EDM 24 @ MTL 44 L 16,187 CBC
9 51 Fri. Aug. 24 6:30 PM HAM 14 @ EDM 35 W 42,750 CTV
10 57 Mon. Sept. 3 1:00 PM EDM 30 @ CGY 28 W 26,056 CTV
11 60 Sat. Sept. 8 6:30 PM TOR 33 @ EDM 34 W 39,517 CBC
13 67 Fri. Sept. 21 4:30 PM EDM 23 @ OTT 32 L 19,387 CTV
14 71 Fri. Sept. 28 6:30 PM BC 34 @ EDM 32 L 47,015 CTV
15 77 Sun. Oct. 7 10:30 AM EDM 28 @ HAM 21 W 13,452 CBC, R/C
16 80 Sat. Oct. 13 6:30 PM MTL 26 @ EDM 29 W 42,766
17 86 Sun. Oct. 21 2:00 PM EDM 11 @ WPG 30 L 29,135 CBC
18 90 Sun. Oct. 28 2:00 PM SSK 7 @ EDM 52 W 42,644 CBC
Playoffs Week 1 92 Sun. Nov. 4 1:00 PM EDM 20 @ WPG 55 L 27,711 CBC