The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1989 Season

Season Summary

1989 Full Schedule and Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1989 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 65 38 W1 1-1-0
Regular Season 18 16 2 0 32 644 302 W7 6-0-0
Home 9 9 0 0 18 343 156 W9 6-0-0
Visitor 9 7 2 0 14 301 146 W3 5-1-0
Intra-division 10 9 1 0 18 362 201 W3 5-1-0
Inter-division 8 7 1 0 14 282 101 W7 6-0-0

Full 1989 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 1989 Opponent Appearances

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (4)2-0-0 (2)2-0-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3)1-0-0 (1)2-0-0 (2)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Ottawa Rough Riders (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3)2-0-0 (2)0-1-0 (1)
Toronto Argonauts (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Assistant Coaches
  • Don Sutherin – Defensive secondary
  • Don Matthews – Linebackers
  • Gary Durchik – Offensive line
  • Mike Faragalli – Receivers
  • Brian Dickinson – Special assistant

Edmonton Eskimos 1989 Attendance

  • Capacity: 60,081
  • High: 41,327
  • Avg: 30,815 (9 out of 9 games)
  • Variance over 1988 Avg: +69
  • Low: 27,242
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 51.29
  • Variance from League Avg: +5,398

More 1989 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19891988 +/-
Average Combined Score 52.56 3.39 +
Average Winning Score 37.00 3.55 +
Average Losing Score 26.00 10.43 +
Average Home Score 38.11 6.00 +
Average Visitor Score 33.44 12.56 +
Average Margin of Victory 22.44 6.26 +
Average Margin of Loss 15.57 -

Stadium

  • 1989 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 60,081
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1983 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 7453127 9491185 7094164 10563168 343 (38.1)301 (33.4)644 (35.8)
Opponent 363470 384684 311344 5153104 146 (16.2)156 (17.3)302 (16.8)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (5-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (5-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 10 (10-0-0) 5 (5-0-0) 3 (1-2-0)
After 2nd 8 (8-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 15 (15-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (0-2-0)
After 3rd 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 8 (7-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 16 (15-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (1-0-0)
After 4th 9 (9-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 16 (16-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0)

Edmonton Eskimos 1989 Stars of the Week

Offensive Star

  • 2 – Tracy Ham
  • 1 – Jerry Kauric

Defensive Star

  • 2 – Don Wilson
  • 2 – Danny Bass
  • 1 – Stanley Blair
  • 1 – Mark Mathis
  • 1 – Enis Jackson

Lineman Star

  • 3 – Hector Pothier
  • 2 – Brett Williams
  • 1 – Stewart Hill
Week Game Date Time (CEST ) Result Attendance TV
A 3 Thu. June 29 3:30 AM EDM 24 @ SSK 28 L 18,988
B 9 Thu. July 6 3:30 AM CGY 10 @ EDM 41 W 37,192
1 12 Fri. July 14 3:30 AM BC 15 @ EDM 20 W 30,041 CFN
2 17 Sat. July 22 3:30 AM EDM 54 @ CGY 4 W 21,235 CFN
3 20 Fri. July 28 1:30 AM EDM 17 @ TOR 21 L 34,840 CBC
4 24 Fri. Aug. 4 3:30 AM TOR 21 @ EDM 22 W 28,238 CBC
5 27 Thu. Aug. 10 4:30 AM EDM 33 @ BC 13 W 32,158 TSN
6 32 Fri. Aug. 18 1:30 AM EDM 39 @ OTT 4 W 21,413 CBC
7 36 Thu. Aug. 24 3:30 AM HAM 14 @ EDM 37 W 28,861 TSN
8 40 Thu. Aug. 31 3:30 AM SSK 19 @ EDM 45 W 31,667 CFN
9 43 Mon. Sept. 4 9:30 PM EDM 31 @ CGY 14 W 33,139 TSN
10 46 Sat. Sept. 9 3:30 AM CGY 27 @ EDM 38 W 41,327 CFN
11 53 Sun. Sept. 17 9:00 PM EDM 35 @ SSK 48 L 24,776 CBC
12 57 Sun. Sept. 24 8:00 PM BC 25 @ EDM 32 W 30,173 CBC
13 58 Sat. Sept. 30 12:30 AM EDM 33 @ HAM 12 W 16,387 CFN
14 65 Mon. Oct. 9 8:00 PM WPG 7 @ EDM 45 W 28,869 CBC
15 69 Sun. Oct. 15 8:30 PM OTT 11 @ EDM 55 W 30,920 TSN
16 72 Sun. Oct. 22 7:30 PM EDM 34 @ WPG 11 W 23,590 CFN
17 74 Sun. Oct. 29 3:30 AM EDM 25 @ BC 19 W 27,115 CFN
18 81 Sun. Nov. 5 9:00 PM SSK 17 @ EDM 49 W 27,242 CBC
Playoffs Week 2 85 Sun. Nov. 19 10:30 PM SSK 32 @ EDM 21 L 35,112 CFN