The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1991 Season

Season Summary

1991 Full Schedule and Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1991 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 52 35 L1 1-1-0
Regular Season 18 12 6 0 24 671 569 W2 5-1-0
Home 9 7 2 0 14 350 271 W1 4-2-0
Visitor 9 5 4 0 10 321 298 W2 3-3-0
Intra-division 10 6 4 0 12 400 351 W1 4-2-0
Inter-division 8 6 2 0 12 271 218 W3 4-2-0

Full 1991 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 1991 Opponent Appearances

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (3)0-1-0 (1)1-1-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3)2-0-0 (2)0-1-0 (1)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Ottawa Rough Riders (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4)1-1-0 (2)2-0-0 (2)
Toronto Argonauts (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Assistant Coaches
  • Rich Stubler – Defensive Coordinator
  • Denny Creehan – Defensive line
  • Bill Diedrick – Offensive Coordinator
  • Ron Smeltzer – Offensive line

Edmonton Eskimos 1991 Attendance

  • Capacity: 60,081
  • High: 57,843
  • Avg: 33,265 (9 out of 9 games)
  • Variance over 1990 Avg: -2,492
  • Low: 23,128
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 55.37
  • Variance from League Avg: +5,460

More 1991 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19911990 +/-
Average Combined Score 68.89 6.56 +
Average Winning Score 38.08 2.92 -
Average Losing Score 35.67 10.42 +
Average Home Score 38.89 1.89 +
Average Visitor Score 35.67 4.67 +
Average Margin of Victory 11.58 7.22 -
Average Margin of Loss 6.17 4.58 -

Stadium

  • 1991 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 60,081
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1983 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 7343116 11988207 8257139 76126202 350 (38.9)321 (35.7)671 (37.3)
Opponent 5649105 6971140 4492136 10186187 298 (33.1)271 (30.1)569 (31.6)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 5 (3-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 10 (8-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (4-4-0)
After 2nd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 4 (3-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 9 (8-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 6 (2-4-0)
After 3rd 9 (7-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (3-2-0) 12 (8-4-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (3-2-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 11 (11-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 5 (0-5-0)
After OT1 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0)

Edmonton Eskimos 1991 Stars of the Week

Offensive Star

  • 1 – Reggie Taylor

Defensive Star

  • 2 – Willie Pless
  • 1 – Danny Bass

Lineman Star

  • 1 – Rod Connop
  • 1 – Brett Williams
Week Game Date Time (BST ) Result Attendance TV
A 5 Fri. June 28 2:30 AM BC 10 @ EDM 31 W 31,029
B 7 Wed. July 3 2:30 AM EDM 21 @ CGY 25 L 32,469
1 12 Sat. July 13 2:30 AM EDM 34 @ SSK 25 W 20,582 TSN
2 14 Thu. July 18 2:30 AM OTT 33 @ EDM 40 W 35,511 TSN
3 20 Fri. July 26 3:30 AM EDM 36 @ BC 37 L 31,747 TSN
4 22 Thu. Aug. 1 2:30 AM SSK 24 @ EDM 54 W 28,183 TSN
5 29 Sun. Aug. 11 12:30 AM EDM 38 @ HAM 13 W 15,107 TSN
6 31 Fri. Aug. 16 12:30 AM EDM 35 @ OTT 36 L 25,884
7 34 Thu. Aug. 22 2:30 AM TOR 39 @ EDM 53 W 43,826 TSN
8 40 Thu. Aug. 29 2:30 AM SSK 44 @ EDM 41 L 26,825 TSN
9 44 Mon. Sept. 2 8:00 PM EDM 36 @ CGY 48 L 32,511 CBC
10 46 Sat. Sept. 7 2:30 AM CGY 37 @ EDM 51 W 57,843 TSN
11 52 Sun. Sept. 15 8:00 PM EDM 41 @ SSK 36 W 24,166
12 54 Sun. Sept. 22 12:30 AM EDM 28 @ TOR 47 L 34,895 CBC
13 58 Sat. Sept. 28 2:30 AM WPG 15 @ EDM 31 W 30,212
14 62 Sat. Oct. 5 2:30 AM HAM 17 @ EDM 18 W 23,128 TSN
15 67 Sun. Oct. 13 3:30 AM EDM 45 @ BC 38 OT W 54,108
16 73 Sun. Oct. 20 8:30 PM BC 39 @ EDM 38 OT L 30,472 TSN
17 77 Sun. Oct. 27 8:30 PM CGY 23 @ EDM 24 W 23,391
18 80 Sun. Nov. 3 8:00 PM EDM 28 @ WPG 18 W 24,240
Playoffs Week 2 85 Sun. Nov. 17 9:30 PM CGY 38 @ EDM 36 L 30,142 CBC