The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1998 Season

Season Summary

1998 Full Schedule and Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1998 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 45 29 L1 1-1-0
Regular Season 18 9 9 0 18 396 450 W1 2-4-0
Home 9 5 4 0 10 212 203 W1 3-3-0
Visitor 9 4 5 0 8 184 247 L1 2-4-0
Intra-division 10 5 5 0 10 214 226 W1 2-4-0
Inter-division 8 4 4 0 8 182 224 W1 2-4-0

Full 1998 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 1998 Opponent Appearances

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (4)1-1-0 (2)2-0-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3)0-1-0 (1)0-2-0 (2)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2)0-1-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Montreal Alouettes (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3)2-0-0 (2)0-1-0 (1)
Toronto Argonauts (2)0-1-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Assistant Coaches
  • Brad Miller – Defensive assistant
  • Rich Stubler – Defensive Coordinator
  • Mike Bender – Offensive line
  • Scott Fawcett – Special teams

Edmonton Eskimos 1998 Attendance

  • Capacity: 60,081
  • High: 50,856
  • Avg: 31,956 (9 out of 9 games)
  • Variance over 1997 Avg: +62
  • Low: 22,588
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 53.19
  • Variance from League Avg: +9,368

More 1998 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19981997 +/-
Average Combined Score 47.00 1.83 -
Average Winning Score 28.89 2.78 -
Average Losing Score 15.11 1.39 -
Average Home Score 23.56 10.22 -
Average Visitor Score 20.44 1.00 +
Average Margin of Victory 11.89 2.03 -
Average Margin of Loss 17.89 3.22 +

Stadium

  • 1998 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 60,081
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1983 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 673198 5858116 532881 346498 212 (23.6)184 (20.4)396 (22.0)
Opponent 424082 6075135 393675 6296158 247 (27.4)203 (22.6)450 (25.0)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 5 (3-2-0) 6 (4-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 9 (4-5-0)
After 2nd 5 (4-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 10 (8-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)
After 3rd 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 10 (9-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 8 (8-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 9 (0-9-0)
After OT1 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0)

Edmonton Eskimos 1998 Stars of the Week

Offensive Star

  • 1 – David Archer

Defensive Star

  • 1 – Rio Wells
  • 1 – Kavis Reed
  • 1 – Malikia Griffin
  • 1 – Willie Pless

Lineman Star

  • 2 – Malvin Hunter
Week Game Date Time (EDT ) Result Attendance TV
A 4 Fri. June 19 9:30 PM EDM 22 @ SSK 3 W 17,999
B 7 Thu. June 25 9:00 PM CGY 26 @ EDM 23 L 38,114
1 11 Thu. July 2 10:30 PM EDM 20 @ BC 12 W 16,212
2 16 Fri. July 10 9:00 PM BC 10 @ EDM 15 W 31,582
3 17 Thu. July 16 9:30 PM EDM 14 @ SSK 28 L 21,686
4 22 Thu. July 23 7:30 PM EDM 30 @ TOR 27 OT W 15,106
5 28 Fri. July 31 9:00 PM MTL 10 @ EDM 22 W 30,813
6 31 Fri. Aug. 7 9:00 PM HAM 39 @ EDM 10 L 22,588
7 33 Thu. Aug. 13 7:00 PM EDM 23 @ HAM 48 L 16,399
8 39 Fri. Aug. 21 9:00 PM WPG 16 @ EDM 25 W 29,123
9 43 Thu. Aug. 27 10:00 PM SSK 13 @ EDM 35 W 31,894
10 48 Mon. Sept. 7 4:00 PM EDM 8 @ CGY 26 L 37,611
11 49 Fri. Sept. 11 9:00 PM CGY 30 @ EDM 23 L 50,856
12 55 Sat. Sept. 19 10:00 PM EDM 27 @ BC 21 W 13,380
13 58 Sat. Sept. 26 9:00 PM TOR 30 @ EDM 29 L 31,923
14 62 Sun. Oct. 4 1:00 PM EDM 3 @ MTL 34 L 16,152
15 68 Mon. Oct. 12 4:00 PM EDM 40 @ WPG 20 W 19,448
16 71 Sun. Oct. 18 3:30 PM BC 31 @ EDM 7 L 30,362
17 76 Sun. Oct. 25 5:00 PM EDM 19 @ CGY 31 L 27,984
18 80 Sun. Nov. 1 3:30 PM SSK 24 @ EDM 46 W 28,470
Playoffs Week 1 82 Sun. Nov. 8 4:00 PM BC 33 @ EDM 40 W 26,102 CBC
Playoffs Week 2 84 Sun. Nov. 15 4:00 PM EDM 10 @ CGY 33 L 31,121 CBC