The Edmonton Eskimos’ 2002 Season

Season Summary

2002 Full Schedule and Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 2002 Record
GP W L T OTL PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 0 2 76 68 W1 1-1-0
Regular Season 18 13 5 0 0 26 516 450 L1 4-2-0
Home 9 8 1 0 0 16 309 210 W1 5-1-0
Visitor 9 5 4 0 0 10 207 240 L1 4-2-0
Intra-division 10 7 3 0 0 14 267 245 L1 4-2-0
Inter-division 8 6 2 0 0 12 249 205 L1 4-2-0

Full 2002 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 2002 Opponent Appearances

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Calgary Stampeders (3)1-0-0 (1)2-0-0 (2)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Montreal Alouettes (2)0-1-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3)2-0-0 (2)0-1-0 (1)
Toronto Argonauts (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Ottawa Renegades (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Assistant Coaches
  • Greg Marshall – Defensive Coordinator
  • Danny Maciocia – Offensive Coordinator
  • Bill Macdermott – Offensive line
  • Dan McKinnon – Receivers
  • Rick Campbell – Special teams

Edmonton Eskimos 2002 Attendance

  • Capacity: 60,081
  • High: 61,481
  • Avg: 38,160 (9 out of 9 games)
  • Variance over 2001 Avg: +2,652
  • Low: 30,152
  • Sellouts: 1
  • % of Capacity: 63.52
  • Variance from League Avg: +13,372

More 2002 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

20022001 +/-
Average Combined Score 53.67 3.56 +
Average Winning Score 33.46 6.13 +
Average Losing Score 16.20 5.24 -
Average Home Score 34.33 9.44 +
Average Visitor Score 23.00 0.89 -
Average Margin of Victory 12.15 6.04 +
Average Margin of Loss 18.40 9.62 +

Stadium

  • 2002 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 60,081
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1983 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 6561126 8764151 7639115 8143124 309 (34.3)207 (23.0)516 (28.7)
Opponent 5754111 6365128 404989 5072122 240 (26.7)210 (23.3)450 (25.0)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (5-5-0)
After 2nd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 4 (3-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 9 (8-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 7 (4-3-0)
After 3rd 7 (7-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 12 (12-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)
After 4th 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 13 (13-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)

Edmonton Eskimos 2002 Stars of the Week

Offensive Star

  • 2 – John Avery
  • 1 – Ricky Ray
  • 1 – Jason Maas

Defensive Star

  • 2 – Singor Mobley
  • 1 – Terry Ray
  • 1 – A.J. Gass

Lineman Star

  • 4 – Elfrid Payton
  • 1 – Steve Charbonneau
  • 1 – Tim Prinsen

Special Teams Star

  • 1 – Sean Fleming
  • 1 – Winston October
Week Game Date Time (EDT ) Result Attendance TV
A 5 Fri. June 14 9:30 PM EDM 24 @ SSK 27 L 19,614
B 8 Thu. June 20 9:00 PM CGY 41 @ EDM 52 W 33,107
1 13 Fri. June 28 10:00 PM EDM 27 @ CGY 21 W 33,584 TSN
2 16 Thu. July 4 9:00 PM OTT 24 @ EDM 40 W 30,152 TSN
3 23 Sat. July 13 9:00 PM TOR 17 @ EDM 31 W 33,108 TSN
4 27 Fri. July 19 9:30 PM EDM 11 @ SSK 45 L 25,149 TSN
5 31 Fri. July 26 9:00 PM BC 27 @ EDM 37 W 32,844 TSN
6 36 Fri. Aug. 2 7:00 PM EDM 14 @ MTL 37 L 20,002 RDS, TSN
7 37 Wed. Aug. 7 9:00 PM HAM 5 @ EDM 33 W 38,852 TSN
8 43 Thu. Aug. 15 9:00 PM WPG 32 @ EDM 35 W 32,174 TSN
9 48 Fri. Aug. 23 7:00 PM EDM 30 @ TOR 7 W 23,642
10 54 Mon. Sept. 2 4:00 PM EDM 28 @ CGY 20 W 35,967 CBC
11 55 Fri. Sept. 6 9:00 PM CGY 11 @ EDM 45 W 61,481 TSN
12 59 Fri. Sept. 13 10:30 PM EDM 18 @ BC 23 L 21,886 TSN
13 64 Sat. Sept. 21 3:00 PM SSK 25 @ EDM 31 W 44,480 CBC
14 70 Sun. Sept. 29 1:00 PM EDM 34 @ HAM 33 W 16,054
15 73 Sun. Oct. 6 1:00 PM EDM 37 @ OTT 34 W 20,576 TSN
16 78 Mon. Oct. 14 4:00 PM MTL 48 @ EDM 30 L 36,255 CBC, RDS
18 83 Fri. Oct. 25 9:00 PM SSK 21 @ EDM 27 W 34,101 TSN
19 88 Sat. Nov. 2 3:00 PM EDM 8 @ WPG 20 L 28,780 CBC
Playoffs Week 2 94 Sun. Nov. 17 4:00 PM WPG 30 @ EDM 33 W 34,322 RDS, CBC
Grey Cup 95 Sun. Nov. 24 6:00 PM MTL 25 @ EDM 16 L 62,531 CBC, RDS