The Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1953 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1953 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 39 31 W1 1-1-0
Regular Season 14 8 6 0 16 229 243 W1 3-3-0
    Home 7 5 2 0 10 129 114 W2 4-2-0
    Visitor 7 3 4 0 6 100 129 L2 3-3-0

Full 1953 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (6-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (2-5-0)
After 2nd 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (3-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (5-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 7 (3-4-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-6-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Sat Aug 22
AS-SI 5 @ HAM 36 W 15,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Fri Aug 14
CGY 19 @ HAM 18 L 15,000  
B
Mon Aug 17
SSK 12 @ HAM 21 W 10,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Sat Aug 29
OTT 10 @ HAM 14 W 12,000  
2
Mon Sep 7
TOR 12 @ HAM 14 W 17,000  
3
Fri Sep 11
HAM 0 @ MTL 17 L 13,215  
4
Wed Sep 16
TOR 21 @ HAM 20 L    
4
Sat Sep 19
HAM 12 @ TOR 9 W 20,382  
5
Sat Sep 26
MTL 15 @ HAM 20 W 16,000  
6
Sat Oct 3
HAM 6 @ OTT 31 L 15,500  
7
Sat Oct 10
HAM 26 @ TOR 0 W    
7
Mon Oct 12
TOR 30 @ HAM 12 L 19,069  
8
Sat Oct 17
HAM 33 @ OTT 24 W 13,500  
9
Sat Oct 24
HAM 5 @ TOR 17 L 19,437  
10
Sat Oct 31
MTL 18 @ HAM 31 W 17,000  
11
Sun Nov 8
HAM 18 @ MTL 31 L 12,085  
12
Sat Nov 14
OTT 8 @ HAM 18 W 18,000  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P2
Wed Nov 18
MTL 12 @ HAM 37 W 16,000  
P2
Sun Nov 22 1:30 PM
HAM 22 @ MTL 11 W 18,070  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Nov 28 1:00 PM
WPG 6 vs HAM 12 W 27,313 CBCE

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1953 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.459 5-2-0 (7) 3-4-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Montreal Alouettes (4) 0.571
Ottawa Rough Riders (4) 0.500
Toronto Argonauts (6) 0.357

Team Scoring

19531952 +/-
Average Combined Score 33.71 -2.12
Average Winning Score 21.00 -3.89
Average Losing Score 10.17 -5.33
Average Home Score 18.43 -5.07
Average Visitor Score 14.29 -6.88
Average Margin of Victory 9.00 -5.33
Average Margin of Loss 14.33 +2.83

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Hamilton 132841 352964 451661 362763 129 (18.4)100 (14.3)229 (16.4)
Opponent 322557 362258 281947 186381 129 (18.4)114 (16.3)243 (17.4)

Coaches

Head Coach

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1953 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–4 (4)   Dunc Ellis (M) Toronto
2–4 (8)   Ray Truant (HB) Western Ontario
3–4 (12)   Lorne Wrigglesworth (HB) McMaster
4–4 (16)   Gerry McTaggart (E) McMaster
5–4 (20)   Jim Carroll (HB) Western Ontario
6–4 (24)   Jack Sissons (HB) Queen's
7–4 (28)   George Sutherland (C) Toronto
8–4 (32)   Blair Thomson (HB) Western Ontario
9–4 (36)   Bob McMurdo (QB) Western Ontario
10–4 (40)   Jim Forrester (E) McMaster

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2019. All rights reserved

Server: Clements