The Hamilton Tiger-Cats’ 1954 Season

Season Summary

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1954 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1954 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
1954 Record for Hamilton Tiger-Cats unavilable as season pending.
Regular Season 14 9 5 0 18 275 207 W1 4-2-0
    Home 7 5 2 0 10 139 81 W5 5-1-0
    Visitor 7 4 3 0 8 136 126 L1 3-3-0

Full 1954 League Standings

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1954 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.474 5-2-0 (7) 4-3-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Montreal Alouettes (5) 0.786
Ottawa Rough Riders (4) 0.143
Toronto Argonauts (5) 0.429

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1954 Hamilton Tiger-Cats Attendance

  • Capacity: 14,000
  • Total: 86,600
  • High: 16,000
  • Avg: 12,371 (7 out of 7 games)
  • Diff from 1953 Avg: -4,140
  • Low: 9,000
  • Sellouts: 4
  • % of Capacity: 88.37
  • Diff from League Avg: +9,541

More 1954 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19541953 +/-
Average Combined Score 34.43 0.71 +
Average Winning Score 25.89 4.89 +
Average Losing Score 8.40 1.77 -
Average Home Score 19.86 1.43 +
Average Visitor Score 19.43 5.14 +
Average Margin of Victory 17.44 8.44 +
Average Margin of Loss 17.80 3.47 +

Stadium

  • 1954 home stadium: Civic Stadium
  • Capacity: 14,000
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1950 – Reduction

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Hamilton 313364 322961 454085 313465 139 (19.9)136 (19.4)275 (19.6)
Opponent 21728 273966 123648 214465 126 (18.0)81 (11.6)207 (14.8)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 5 (4-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (7-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 7 (7-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (1-5-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 8 (7-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 9 (9-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1954 Player Awards and Nominations

1954 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Bernie Custis (Team Nominee)

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1954 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–4 (4) Steve Oneschuk (HB) Toronto
2–4 (8) Jim Dodds (FB) McMaster
3–4 (12) Jack Thompson (HB) Western Ontario
4–4 (16) Bill Moulton (G) McGill
5–4 (20) George Bertrand (G) McGill
6–4 (24) Dan Pughese (T) McMaster
7–4 (28) Don Sterling (E) McGill
8–4 (32) Pete Cranston (QB) Queen's
Week Game Details (EDT
A 3
Fri. Aug. 13
HAM 25 @ SSK 5 W 10,366
B 4
Mon. Aug. 16
HAM 5 @ CGY 12 L 10,000
7
Wed. Aug. 18
HAM 12 @ BC 0 W 10,000
1 5
Sat. Aug. 28
MTL 24 @ HAM 6 L 16,000
2 8
Sat. Sept. 4
HAM 17 @ TOR 6 W 14,797
9
Mon. Sept. 6
TOR 21 @ HAM 7 L 14,000
3 11
Sat. Sept. 11
2:00 PM
HAM 3 @ MTL 21 L 17,463 CBCE
4 13
Sat. Sept. 18
MTL 6 @ HAM 7 W 14,000
5 16
Sat. Sept. 25
HAM 38 @ OTT 12 W 9,220
6 17
Sat. Oct. 2
OTT 0 @ HAM 45 W 9,300
7 19
Sat. Oct. 9
TOR 6 @ HAM 34 W 15,000
22
Mon. Oct. 11
HAM 22 @ TOR 13 W 16,050
8 23
Sat. Oct. 16
HAM 11 @ MTL 46 L 21,000
9 25
Sat. Oct. 23
OTT 17 @ HAM 25 W 9,300
10 28
Sat. Oct. 30
2:00 PM
HAM 30 @ OTT 9 W 8,422
11 29
Sat. Nov. 6
HAM 15 @ MTL 19 L 19,127
12 31
Sat. Nov. 13
TOR 7 @ HAM 15 W 9,000
P2 33
Wed. Nov. 17
MTL 14 @ HAM 9 L 15,000
34
Sat. Nov. 20
HAM 19 @ MTL 24 L 21,025