The Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1957 Season

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1957 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 2 0 0 4 46 9 W2 2-0-0
Regular Season 14 10 4 0 20 250 189 W1 5-1-0
    Home 7 6 1 0 12 152 83 W3 5-1-0
    Visitor 7 4 3 0 8 98 106 L1 4-2-0

Full 1957 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 8 (7-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (2-3-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (6-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 5 (3-2-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 8 (7-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (3-2-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Tue Aug 13
HAM 15 @ KWD 15 T 6,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Thu Aug 1
HAM 21 @ WPG 0 W 11,200  
B
Wed Aug 7
TOR 9 @ HAM 25 W 14,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Aug 20
HAM 7 @ OTT 20 L 18,000  
1
Sat Aug 24
MTL 6 @ HAM 22 W 17,000  
2
Mon Sep 2
TOR 8 @ HAM 35 W 21,685  
3
Fri Sep 6
HAM 20 @ TOR 9 W 23,194  
4
Sat Sep 14
OTT 14 @ HAM 18 W 22,010  
5
Sat Sep 21
HAM 8 @ MTL 18 L 22,984  
6
Sat Sep 28
MTL 14 @ HAM 8 L 21,115  
7
Sat Oct 5
HAM 18 @ OTT 17 W 17,240  
8
Sat Oct 12
TOR 14 @ HAM 38 W 16,000  
8
Mon Oct 14
HAM 22 @ TOR 16 W 18,604  
9
Sat Oct 19
MTL 15 @ HAM 18 W 19,000  
10
Sat Oct 26
HAM 19 @ MTL 17 W 23,000  
11
Sat Nov 2
HAM 4 @ OTT 9 L 16,000  
12
Sat Nov 9
OTT 12 @ HAM 13 W 18,000  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P2
Sat Nov 16
HAM 17 @ MTL 10 W 19,609  
P2
Sat Nov 23
MTL 1 @ HAM 39 W 17,600  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Nov 30 1:00 PM
WPG 7 vs HAM 32 W 27,051 R/C, CBC

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1957 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.439 6-1-0 (7) 4-3-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Montreal Alouettes (5) 0.429
Ottawa Rough Riders (5) 0.571
Toronto Argonauts (4) 0.286

Team Scoring

19571956 +/-
Average Combined Score 31.36 -23.50
Average Winning Score 22.30 -11.41
Average Losing Score 6.75 -14.25
Average Home Score 21.71 -13.71
Average Visitor Score 14.00 -5.29
Average Margin of Victory 9.50 -10.79
Average Margin of Loss 8.50 -12.07

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Hamilton 223355 192847 421961 691887 152 (21.7)98 (14.0)250 (17.9)
Opponent 301343 283361 92736 163349 106 (15.1)83 (11.9)189 (13.5)

Coaches

Head Coach

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1957 Player Awards and Nominations

1957 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Carlton “Cookie” Gilchrist (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — John Barrow (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Pete Neumann (Team Nominee)

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1957 All-Star Selections

9 All-Division Selections
HB Carlton “Cookie” Gilchrist
HB Gerry McDougall
G Dave Suminski
T John Barrow
DT John Barrow
DE Pete Neumann
DG Vince “Boomer” Scott
SEC Tony Curcillo, Jr.
DHB Ralph Goldston

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1957 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–5 (5)   John Larsen (T) McGill
3–5 (23)   Rick Adrian (HB) McGill
4–5 (29)   Al Gleeson (E) Western Ontario
5–5 (34)   Bob Rogers (HB) McGill
6–5   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020. All rights reserved

Server: Clements