The Hamilton Tiger-Cats’ 1958 Season

Season Summary

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1958 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1958 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 1 3 0 2 43 63 W1 1-3-0
Regular Season 14 10 3 1 21 291 235 W1 3-3-0
    Home 7 7 0 0 14 183 103 W7 6-0-0
    Visitor 7 3 3 1 7 108 132 L3 2-3-1

Full 1958 League Standings

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1958 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.426 7-0-0 (7) 3-3-1 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Montreal Alouettes (5) 0.536
Ottawa Rough Riders (5) 0.429
Toronto Argonauts (4) 0.286

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1958 Hamilton Tiger-Cats Attendance

  • Capacity: 33,085
  • Total: 126,725
  • High: 21,297
  • Avg: 18,103 (7 out of 7 games)
  • Diff from 1957 Avg: +18,103
  • Low: 14,874
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 54.72
  • Diff from League Avg: +138

More 1958 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19581957 +/-
Average Combined Score 37.57 6.21 +
Average Winning Score 25.00 2.70 +
Average Losing Score 6.67 0.08 -
Average Home Score 26.14 4.43 +
Average Visitor Score 15.43 1.43 +
Average Margin of Victory 11.50 2.00 +
Average Margin of Loss 19.67 11.17 +

Stadium

  • 1958 home stadium: Civic Stadium
  • Capacity: 21,600
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1957 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Hamilton 41546 332861 4268110 67774 183 (26.1)108 (15.4)291 (20.8)
Opponent 232346 94655 632386 84048 132 (18.9)103 (14.7)235 (16.8)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (5-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-1-1) 3 (1-2-0) 6 (6-0-0) 4 (2-1-1) 4 (2-2-0)
After 2nd 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-0-1) 5 (2-3-0) 6 (6-0-0) 2 (1-0-1) 6 (3-3-0)
After 3rd 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 4 (3-0-1) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 7 (6-0-1) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 3 (0-3-0) 10 (10-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 3 (0-3-0)

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1958 Player Awards and Nominations

1958 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Bernie Faloney (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — John Barrow (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Ron Howell (Winner)

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1958 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–8 (8) John Cronin (HB) McGill
2–8 (17) Ray Brown (T) McGill
3–8 Pass
4–8 Pass
5–8 Pass

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1958 All-Star Selections

11 All-Division Selections
QB Bernie Faloney
HB Gerry McDougall
FW Ron Howell
E Paul Dekker
T John Barrow
DT John Barrow
DE Pete Neumann
DG Vince Scott
SEC Tony Curcillo, Jr.
DHB Eddie Macon
DHB Ralph Goldston

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
A 2
Fri. Aug. 1
HAM 7 @ BC 14 L 15,948
B 3
Mon. Aug. 4
HAM 7 @ EDM 9 L 14,000
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
7
Fri. Aug. 8
EDM 19 @ HAM 7 L 14,000
C 10
Wed. Aug. 13
HAM 22 @ TOR 21 W 11,713
1 11
Tue. Aug. 19
HAM 27 @ MTL 14 W 22,676
14
Sat. Aug. 23
OTT 7 @ HAM 13 W 21,297
2 16
Mon. Sept. 1
TOR 24 @ HAM 31 W 20,946
3 17
Fri. Sept. 5
HAM 26 @ TOR 17 W 26,781
4 20
Sun. Sept. 14
2:00 PM
OTT 18 vs HAM 24 W 15,110 CBCE
5 21
Sat. Sept. 20
HAM 21 @ MTL 21 T 23,641
6 23
Sat. Sept. 27
MTL 29 @ HAM 35 W 20,000
7 25
Sat. Oct. 4
HAM 14 @ OTT 1 W 18,000
8 27
Sat. Oct. 11
TOR 15 @ HAM 28 W 16,583
30
Mon. Oct. 13
HAM 0 @ TOR 37 L 16,583
9 31
Sat. Oct. 18
MTL 10 @ HAM 29 W 17,915
10 33
Sat. Oct. 25
HAM 12 @ MTL 28 L 22,391
11 35
Sat. Nov. 1
HAM 8 @ OTT 14 L 13,603
12 37
Sat. Nov. 8
1:00 PM
OTT 0 @ HAM 23 W 14,874
P2 40
Sat. Nov. 15
1:00 PM
HAM 35 @ OTT 7 W 10,490
41
Sat. Nov. 22
1:00 PM
OTT 7 @ HAM 19 W 15,671
Canadian Football League
GC 92
Sat. Nov. 29
4:00 PM
WPG 35 vs HAM 28 L 36,567 R/C, CBC