The Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1959 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1959 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 14 20 W1 1-1-0
Regular Season 14 10 4 0 20 298 162 L1 3-3-0
    Home 7 6 1 0 12 161 58 W2 5-1-0
    Visitor 7 4 3 0 8 137 104 L2 3-3-0

Full 1959 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (4-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 6 (6-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 4 (1-3-0)
After 2nd 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 12 (10-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0)
After 3rd 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (4-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 12 (10-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Tue Jul 28
BC 15 @ HAM 6 L 10,000  
B
Thu Aug 6
HAM 8 @ WPG 5 W 18,025  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Aug 18
MTL 16 @ HAM 22 W 22,126  
1
Fri Aug 21
HAM 16 @ TOR 7 W 22,813  
2
Sat Aug 29
OTT 10 @ HAM 34 W 17,266  
3
Mon Sep 7
TOR 3 @ HAM 37 W 24,425  
4
Sat Sep 12
HAM 21 @ MTL 27 L 26,218  
5
Wed Sep 16
MTL 13 @ HAM 25 W 24,759  
5
Sun Sep 20
HAM 34 @ TOR 17 W 27,883  
6
Sat Sep 26
HAM 23 @ OTT 14 W 19,837  
7
Sat Oct 3
OTT 9 @ HAM 7 L 20,012  
8
Sat Oct 10
HAM 13 @ TOR 7 W 26,223  
8
Mon Oct 12
TOR 7 @ HAM 20 W 22,068  
9
Sat Oct 17 2:00 PM
HAM 16 @ OTT 17 L 16,000  
10
Sat Oct 24
MTL 0 @ HAM 16 W 15,500  
11
Sat Oct 31
HAM 14 @ MTL 15 L 21,817  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P2
Sat Nov 14 1:00 PM
HAM 5 @ OTT 17 L 18,926 CBCE
P2
Sat Nov 21 1:00 PM
OTT 7 @ HAM 21 W 20,000 CBC
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Nov 28 1:00 PM
WPG 21 vs HAM 7 L 33,133 CBC

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1959 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.418 6-1-0 (7) 4-3-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Montreal Alouettes (5) 0.429
Ottawa Rough Riders (4) 0.571
Toronto Argonauts (5) 0.286

Team Scoring

19591958 +/-
Average Combined Score 32.86 -4.71
Average Winning Score 24.00 -1.00
Average Losing Score 14.50 +7.83
Average Home Score 23.00 -3.14
Average Visitor Score 19.57 +4.14
Average Margin of Victory 14.60 +3.10
Average Margin of Loss 2.50 -17.17

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Hamilton 301848 7550125 312051 254974 161 (23.0)137 (19.6)298 (21.3)
Opponent 101929 4610 273562 174461 104 (14.9)58 (8.3)162 (11.6)

Coaches

Head Coach

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1959 Player Awards and Nominations

1959 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Bernie Faloney (Division Finalist)
  • Lineman — John Barrow (Division Finalist)
  • Canadian Player — Ron Howell (Team Nominee)

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1959 All-Star Selections

No Hamilton Tiger-Cats Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1959.

See an error? Please send corrections.

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1959 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–2 (2) [BC] Tim Reid (HB) Toronto
1–5 (5) [OTT] Dave Bates (T) McMaster
1–8 (8)   Bob Atchison (C) McMaster
2–4 (13) [CGY] Mitch Wasek (T) Queen's
2–8 (17)   Jerry Kutas (T) McMaster
3–8 (21)   Nick Sopinka (QB) Toronto
4–8   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2019. All rights reserved

Server: Clements