Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Fri Jul 21 11:30 PM
HAM 9 @ EDM 17 L 10,000  
Ex
Mon Jul 24
HAM 27 @ BC 38 L 18,769  
Ex
Mon Jul 31 8:00 PM
HAM 25 @ MTL 16 W 17,635  
Ex
Tue Aug 8 8:00 PM
BUF 21 @ HAM 38 W 12,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
2
Tue Aug 15
BC 21 @ HAM 30 W 17,103  
3
Sun Aug 20
HAM 28 @ TOR 24 W 27,809  
5
Thu Aug 31
HAM 30 @ WPG 9 W 18,951  
6
Mon Sep 4
TOR 19 @ HAM 21 W 26,533  
8
Mon Sep 11
EDM 15 @ HAM 32 W 27,646  
8
Sat Sep 16 11:30 PM
HAM 37 @ CGY 36 W 16,707  
9
Mon Sep 18 10:30 PM
HAM 22 @ SSK 15 W 10,152  
9
Sat Sep 23
MTL 28 @ HAM 7 L 25,291  
10
Sat Sep 30 2:00 PM
HAM 21 @ OTT 47 L 22,400  
12
Mon Oct 9
OTT 14 @ HAM 10 L 25,273  
13
Sun Oct 15 2:00 PM
HAM 37 @ TOR 10 W 29,553  
14
Sat Oct 21 2:00 PM
MTL 5 @ HAM 15 W 22,723 CTVE
15
Sat Oct 28
OTT 29 @ HAM 44 W 20,271  
16
Sat Nov 4 2:00 PM
HAM 6 @ MTL 21 L 16,199  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P2
Sat Nov 18
HAM 7 @ TOR 25 L 33,161  
P2
Sat Nov 25 2:00 PM
TOR 2 @ HAM 48 W 22,671 CTV
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Dec 2 1:00 PM
WPG 21 vs HAM 14 OT L 32,651 CBC
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1961.
Regular Season 14 10 4 0 20 340 293 L1 3-3-0
    Home 7 5 2 0 10 159 131 W2 4-2-0
    Visitor 7 5 2 0 10 181 162 L1 4-2-0
   Divisional opponent 9 5 4 0 10 189 197 L1 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 5 5 0 0 10 151 96 W5 5-0-0

Full 1961 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (3-2-0) 8 (7-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 2nd 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 8 (7-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 3rd 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 8 (7-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.476 3-2-0 (5) 2-2-0 (4)
Non-Divisional 0.475 2-0-0 (2) 3-0-0 (3)
Montreal Alouettes (3) 0.321
Ottawa RedBlacks (3) 0.571
Toronto Argonauts (3) 0.536
BC Lions (1) 0.125
Calgary Stampeders (1) 0.438
Edmonton Elks (1) 0.656
Saskatchewan Roughriders (1) 0.344
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (1) 0.813
19611960 +/-
Average Combined Score 45.21 -1.21
Average Winning Score 29.60 +5.60
Average Losing Score 11.00 -6.70
Average Home Score 22.71 +2.00
Average Visitor Score 25.86 +7.57
Average Margin of Victory 11.30 +7.30
Average Margin of Loss 16.50 +4.50
Quarter Team Home (PPG) Visitor (PPG) Total (PPG)
Total Hamilton 159 (22.7) 181 (25.9) 340 (24.3)
Opponent 162 (23.1) 131 (18.7) 293 (20.9)
1st Hamilton 54 (7.7) 28 (4.0) 82 (5.9)
Opponent 37 (5.3) 16 (2.3) 53 (3.8)
2nd Hamilton 40 (5.7) 38 (5.4) 78 (5.6)
Opponent 39 (5.6) 40 (5.7) 79 (5.6)
3rd Hamilton 39 (5.6) 39 (5.6) 78 (5.6)
Opponent 48 (6.9) 29 (4.1) 77 (5.5)
4th Hamilton 26 (3.7) 76 (10.9) 102 (7.3)
Opponent 38 (5.4) 46 (6.6) 84 (6.0)
Head Coach
1961 Player Awards and Nominations
1961 Most Outstanding
Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1961 All-Star Selections
7 All-Division Selections
QB Bernie Faloney
E Paul Dekker
G Ellison Kelly
DT John Barrow
DE Pete Neumann
ILB Hardiman Cureton
DHB Don Sutherin

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1961 Hamilton Tiger-Cats Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–3 (3) [MTL] John Ware (C) Queen's
2–1 (6)   Wally Barrie (LB) McGill
3–1 (11)   Weldon Thorburn (T) Toronto
4–1 (16)   Bob House (E) Toronto
5–1 (20)   Bob Godley (G) Toronto
6–1   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway