The Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1971 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1971 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 0 4 0 0 47 89 L4 0-4-0
Regular Season 14 7 7 0 14 242 246 W1 2-4-0
    Home 7 5 2 0 10 136 103 L1 4-2-0
    Visitor 7 2 5 0 4 106 143 W1 1-5-0
   Divisional opponent 9 5 4 0 10 164 165 W1 4-2-0
   Non-divisional opponent 5 2 3 0 4 78 81 L1 2-3-0

Full 1971 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (3-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 7 (4-3-0) 4 (2-2-0) 3 (1-2-0)
After 2nd 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 8 (6-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 5 (4-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 7 (1-6-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Wed Jul 7
WPG 16 @ HAM 14 L 19,075  
B
Mon Jul 12
HAM 16 @ SSK 32 L 10,499  
C
Mon Jul 19
HAM 9 @ MTL 20 L 11,755  
D
Thu Jul 22
TOR 21 @ HAM 8 L 25,645  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Thu Jul 29 8:00 PM
EDM 15 @ HAM 17 W 22,786 CTV
3
Wed Aug 11
HAM 20 @ OTT 17 W 26,385  
5
Wed Aug 25
MTL 12 @ HAM 8 L 33,321  
6
Tue Aug 31 8:00 PM
HAM 24 @ MTL 25 L 24,401  
7
Mon Sep 6
TOR 17 @ HAM 30 W 34,535  
8
Sun Sep 12
HAM 14 @ TOR 23 L 33,135  
9
Sat Sep 18
MTL 9 @ HAM 10 W 28,871  
10
Sun Sep 26
OTT 7 @ HAM 19 W 26,953  
11
Sun Oct 3
HAM 1 @ CGY 17 L 23,616  
12
Wed Oct 6 10:00 PM
HAM 20 @ SSK 28 L 13,914 CTV
12
Mon Oct 11 2:00 PM
BC 3 @ HAM 36 W 25,997 CTV
13
Sun Oct 17
HAM 4 @ WPG 18 L 20,345  
14
Sat Oct 23
OTT 40 @ HAM 16 L 21,700  
15
Sun Oct 31
HAM 23 @ TOR 15 W 33,135  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 7
OTT 4 @ HAM 23 W 26,471  
P2
Sun Nov 14
TOR 23 @ HAM 8 L 33,392  
P2
Sat Nov 20
HAM 17 @ TOR 17 T 33,135  

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1971 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.524 3-2-0 (5) 2-2-0 (4)
Non-Divisional 0.488 2-0-0 (2) 0-3-0 (3)
Montreal Alouettes (3) 0.429
Ottawa Rough Riders (3) 0.429
Toronto Argonauts (3) 0.714
BC Lions (1) 0.406
Calgary Stampeders (1) 0.594
Edmonton Eskimos (1) 0.375
Saskatchewan Roughriders (1) 0.594
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (1) 0.469

Team Scoring

19711970 +/-
Average Combined Score 34.86 -5.93
Average Winning Score 22.14 -2.73
Average Losing Score 12.43 -2.57
Average Home Score 19.43 -4.86
Average Visitor Score 15.14 -2.29
Average Margin of Victory 10.29 -1.59
Average Margin of Loss 10.86 -5.54

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Hamilton 332356 363369 111930 563187 136 (19.4)106 (15.1)242 (17.3)
Opponent 93443 213455 304575 433073 143 (20.4)103 (14.7)246 (17.6)

Coaches

Head Coach
  • Al Dorow (Jan. 1, 1971 – Dec. 31, 1971)

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1971 Player Awards and Nominations

1971 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Garney Henley (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Bill Danychuk (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Bill Danychuk (Team Nominee)

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1971 All-Star Selections

No Hamilton Tiger-Cats Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1971.

See an error? Please send corrections.

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 1971 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–7 (16)   Walter Sehr (HB) Toronto
3–7 (25)   Paul Zarek (FL) McMaster
4–7 (34)   Chuck Wakefield (E) Waterloo
5–7 (43)   Jim Dimitroff (FL) Saint Mary's
6–7 (52)   Roger Hunter (DB) Guelph
7–7 (60)   Mike Chevers (E) Waterloo
8–7 (66)   Wayne Fox (FL) Waterloo
9–7   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2019. All rights reserved

Server: Clements