The Montreal Alouettes’ 1954 Season

Season Summary

Montreal Alouettes 1954 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Montreal Alouettes 1954 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
1954 Record for Montreal Alouettes unavilable as season pending.
Regular Season 14 11 3 0 22 341 148 L1 4-2-0
    Home 7 7 0 0 14 200 57 W7 6-0-0
    Visitor 7 4 3 0 8 141 91 L2 3-3-0

Full 1954 League Standings

Montreal Alouettes 1954 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.403 7-0-0 (7) 4-3-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (5) 0.643
Ottawa Rough Riders (5) 0.143
Toronto Argonauts (4) 0.429

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1954 Montreal Alouettes Attendance

  • Capacity: 23,000
  • Total: 128,247
  • High: 21,000
  • Avg: 18,321 (7 out of 7 games)
  • Diff from 1953 Avg: +5,054
  • Low: 12,865
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 79.66
  • Diff from League Avg: +15,491

More 1954 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19541953 +/-
Average Combined Score 34.93 2.29 -
Average Winning Score 27.18 0.18 +
Average Losing Score 14.00 1.33 +
Average Home Score 28.57 2.86 +
Average Visitor Score 20.14 4.14 +
Average Margin of Victory 18.36 2.49 +
Average Margin of Loss 3.00 7.67 -

Stadium

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Montreal 144054 573996 61667 6856124 200 (28.6)141 (20.1)341 (24.4)
Opponent 111829 222850 191635 52934 91 (13.0)57 (8.1)148 (10.6)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (2-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 5 (3-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (5-2-0) 3 (3-0-0) 4 (3-1-0)
After 2nd 6 (6-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (4-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 11 (10-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (0-1-0)
After 3rd 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 10 (10-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (1-2-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 11 (11-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0)

Montreal Alouettes 1954 Player Awards and Nominations

1954 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Sam “The Rifle” Etcheverry (Winner)

Montreal Alouettes 1954 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–1 (5) [TOR] Jacques Belec (FB) Western Ontario
2–3 (7) Fred Wilmot (FW) Toronto
3–3 (11) Ray McMurtry (T) Toronto
4–3 (15) John McGill (C) McGill
5–3 (19) Bob Leeming (HB) Toronto
6–3 (23) Ollie Mandryk (QB) Toronto
7–3 (27) Doug Geckie (QB) Toronto
8–3 (31) Dave Fraser (HB) McMaster
Week Game Details (EDT
A 1
Wed. Aug. 11
MTL 22 @ BC 0 W 19,371
2
Fri. Aug. 13
MTL 19 @ CGY 24 L
B 5
Mon. Aug. 16
MTL 11 @ SSK 1 W 6,969
1 5
Sat. Aug. 28
MTL 24 @ HAM 6 W 16,000
2 7
Sat. Sept. 4
OTT 2 @ MTL 21 W 20,563
10
Mon. Sept. 6
MTL 20 @ OTT 11 W 13,000
3 11
Sat. Sept. 11
2:00 PM
HAM 3 @ MTL 21 W 17,463 CBCE
4 13
Sat. Sept. 18
MTL 6 @ HAM 7 L 14,000
5 15
Sat. Sept. 25
TOR 7 @ MTL 28 W 18,104
6 18
Sat. Oct. 2
MTL 30 @ TOR 12 W 20,710
7 20
Sat. Oct. 9
MTL 25 @ OTT 11 W 9,155
21
Mon. Oct. 11
OTT 6 @ MTL 24 W 12,865
8 23
Sat. Oct. 16
HAM 11 @ MTL 46 W 21,000
9 26
Sat. Oct. 23
MTL 24 @ TOR 30 L 16,400
10 27
Sat. Oct. 30
TOR 13 @ MTL 41 W 19,125
11 29
Sat. Nov. 6
HAM 15 @ MTL 19 W 19,127
12 32
Sat. Nov. 13
MTL 12 @ OTT 14 L 9,370
P2 33
Wed. Nov. 17
MTL 14 @ HAM 9 W 15,000
34
Sat. Nov. 20
HAM 19 @ MTL 24 W 21,025
GC 89
Sat. Nov. 27
1:00 PM
EDM 26 vs MTL 25 L 27,321 R/C, CBCE