The Montreal Alouettes 1956 Season

Montreal Alouettes 1956 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 3 0 0 6 109 20 W3 3-0-0
Regular Season 14 10 4 0 20 478 361 L2 4-2-0
    Home 7 6 1 0 12 271 139 L1 5-1-0
    Visitor 7 4 3 0 8 207 222 L1 3-3-0

Full 1956 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 1 (1-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 3 (2-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 8 (5-3-0)
After 2nd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 9 (8-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (2-3-0)
After 3rd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Thu Aug 2 5:45 PM
SSK 13 @ MTL 42 W 20,102  
B
Wed Aug 8 5:45 PM
EDM 0 @ MTL 33 W 22,806  
C
Thu Aug 16
WPG 7 @ MTL 34 W 20,116  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Sat Aug 25
TOR 20 @ MTL 24 W 22,732  
2
Fri Aug 31 8:30 PM
MTL 42 @ OTT 10 W 17,870 CBCR
2
Mon Sep 3 2:00 PM
OTT 20 @ MTL 22 W 23,014  
3
Sat Sep 8 2:00 PM
MTL 28 @ TOR 51 L 20,942 CBCR
4
Wed Sep 12 4:00 PM
OTT 21 @ MTL 36 W 19,463  
4
Sat Sep 15 2:00 PM
MTL 9 @ OTT 20 L 15,000 CBCR
5
Sat Sep 22 2:00 PM
HAM 14 @ MTL 56 W 22,367 CBCR
6
Sat Sep 29 2:00 PM
MTL 44 @ HAM 43 W 18,000  
7
Sat Oct 6
MTL 42 @ OTT 35 W 17,643  
7
Mon Oct 8 2:00 PM
OTT 9 @ MTL 24 W 22,365  
8
Sat Oct 13
MTL 28 @ TOR 13 W 18,679  
9
Sat Oct 20 2:00 PM
HAM 14 @ MTL 82 W 22,365  
10
Sat Oct 27
MTL 14 @ HAM 50 L 20,000  
11
Sat Nov 3
TOR 41 @ MTL 27 L 20,913  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P2
Sat Nov 10
MTL 30 @ HAM 21 W 16,000  
P2
Sat Nov 17 2:00 PM
HAM 41 @ MTL 48 W 22,280  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Nov 24 1:00 PM
EDM 50 vs MTL 27 L 27,425 R/C, CBCE

Montreal Alouettes 1956 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.439 6-1-0 (7) 4-3-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (4) 0.500
Ottawa Rough Riders (6) 0.500
Toronto Argonauts (4) 0.286

Team Scoring

19561955 +/-
Average Combined Score 59.93 +9.76
Average Winning Score 40.00 +1.00
Average Losing Score 19.50 +7.17
Average Home Score 38.71 -1.79
Average Visitor Score 29.57 +5.40
Average Margin of Victory 20.10 -2.79
Average Margin of Loss 21.00 +10.33

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Montreal 423678 8976165 8747134 5348101 271 (38.7)207 (29.6)478 (34.1)
Opponent 574299 276188 205070 3569104 222 (31.7)139 (19.9)361 (25.8)

Coaches

Head Coach

Montreal Alouettes 1956 Player Awards and Nominations

1956 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Hal “Prince” Patterson (Winner)
  • Lineman — Jim Staton, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Tom Moran (Team Nominee)

Montreal Alouettes 1956 All-Star Selections

No Montreal Alouettes Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1956.

See an error? Please send corrections.

Montreal Alouettes 1956 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–7 (7)   Ted Collins (G) Western Ontario
2–7 (16)   Bill Hutchison (HB) Queen's
3–7 (25)   Gene Lansky (HB) Toronto
4–7   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2019. All rights reserved

Server: Clements