The Montreal Alouettes’ 1956 Season

Season Summary

Montreal Alouettes 1956 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Montreal Alouettes 1956 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 3 0 0 6 109 20 W3 3-0-0
Regular Season 14 10 4 0 20 478 361 L2 4-2-0
    Home 7 6 1 0 12 271 139 L1 5-1-0
    Visitor 7 4 3 0 8 207 222 L1 3-3-0

Full 1956 League Standings

Montreal Alouettes 1956 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.439 6-1-0 (7) 4-3-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (4) 0.500
Ottawa Rough Riders (6) 0.500
Toronto Argonauts (4) 0.286

Team Scoring

19561955 +/-
Average Combined Score 59.93 +9.76
Average Winning Score 40.00 +1.00
Average Losing Score 19.50 +7.17
Average Home Score 38.71 -1.79
Average Visitor Score 29.57 +5.40
Average Margin of Victory 20.10 -2.79
Average Margin of Loss 21.00 +10.33

1956 Montreal Alouettes Attendance

  • Capacity: 23,000
  • Total: 153,219
  • High: 23,014
  • Avg: 21,888 (7 out of 7 games)
  • Diff from 1955 Avg: +21,888
  • Low: 19,463
  • Sellouts: 1
  • % of Capacity: 95.17
  • Diff from League Avg: +17,543

More 1956 Attendance Numbers

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Stadium

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Montreal 423678 8976165 8747134 5348101 271 (38.7)207 (29.6)478 (34.1)
Opponent 574299 276188 205070 3569104 222 (31.7)139 (19.9)361 (25.8)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 1 (1-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 3 (2-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 8 (5-3-0)
After 2nd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 9 (8-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (2-3-0)
After 3rd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)

Montreal Alouettes 1956 Player Awards and Nominations

1956 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Hal “Prince” Patterson (Winner)
  • Lineman — Jim Staton, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Tom Moran (Team Nominee)

Montreal Alouettes 1956 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–7 (7)   Ted Collins (G) Western Ontario
2–7 (16)   Bill Hutchison (HB) Queen's
3–7 (25)   Gene Lansky (HB) Toronto
4–7   Pass

Montreal Alouettes 1956 All-Star Selections

8 All-Division Selections
QB Sam “The Rifle” Etcheverry*
HB Pat Abbruzzi
FW Joey Pal
E Hal “Prince” Patterson*
C Tom Hugo, Jr.
DE Jim Miller
SEC Tom Hugo, Jr.
DHB Hal “Prince” Patterson

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
A
Thu. Aug. 2 5:45 PM
SSK 13 @ MTL 42 W 20,102  
B
Wed. Aug. 8 5:45 PM
EDM 0 @ MTL 33 W 22,806  
C
Thu. Aug. 16
WPG 7 @ MTL 34 W 20,116  
1
Sat. Aug. 25
TOR 20 @ MTL 24 W 22,732  
2
Fri. Aug. 31 8:30 PM
MTL 42 @ OTT 10 W 17,870 CBCR
2
Mon. Sept. 3 2:00 PM
OTT 20 @ MTL 22 W 23,014  
3
Sat. Sept. 8 2:00 PM
MTL 28 @ TOR 51 L 20,942 CBCR
4
Wed. Sept. 12 4:00 PM
OTT 21 @ MTL 36 W 19,463  
4
Sat. Sept. 15 2:00 PM
MTL 9 @ OTT 20 L 15,000 CBCR
5
Sat. Sept. 22 2:00 PM
HAM 14 @ MTL 56 W 22,367 CBCR
6
Sat. Sept. 29 2:00 PM
MTL 44 @ HAM 43 W 18,000  
7
Sat. Oct. 6
MTL 42 @ OTT 35 W 17,643  
7
Mon. Oct. 8 3:00 PM
OTT 9 @ MTL 24 W 22,365  
8
Sat. Oct. 13
MTL 28 @ TOR 13 W 18,679  
9
Sat. Oct. 20 3:00 PM
HAM 14 @ MTL 82 W 22,365  
10
Sat. Oct. 27
MTL 14 @ HAM 50 L 20,000  
11
Sat. Nov. 3
TOR 41 @ MTL 27 L 20,913  
P2
Sat. Nov. 10
MTL 30 @ HAM 21 W 16,000  
P2
Sat. Nov. 17 2:00 PM
HAM 41 @ MTL 48 W 22,280  
Canadian Football Council
GC
Sat. Nov. 24 1:00 PM
EDM 50 vs MTL 27 L 27,425 R/C, CBCE