The Montreal Alouettes’ 1957 Season

Season Summary

Montreal Alouettes 1957 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Montreal Alouettes 1957 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 2 1 0 4 91 73 L1 2-1-0
Regular Season 14 6 8 0 12 287 301 L4 1-5-0
    Home 7 5 2 0 10 161 128 L2 4-2-0
    Visitor 7 1 6 0 2 126 173 L4 1-5-0

Full 1957 League Standings

Montreal Alouettes 1957 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.520 5-2-0 (7) 1-6-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (5) 0.714
Ottawa Rough Riders (4) 0.571
Toronto Argonauts (5) 0.286

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1957 Montreal Alouettes Attendance

  • Capacity: 23,000
  • Total: 156,491
  • High: 23,000
  • Avg: 22,355 (7 out of 7 games)
  • Diff from 1956 Avg: +467
  • Low: 20,315
  • Sellouts: 1
  • % of Capacity: 97.20
  • Diff from League Avg: +22,055

More 1957 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19571956 +/-
Average Combined Score 42.00 17.93 -
Average Winning Score 26.33 13.67 -
Average Losing Score 16.13 3.38 -
Average Home Score 23.00 15.71 -
Average Visitor Score 18.00 11.57 -
Average Margin of Victory 11.33 8.77 -
Average Margin of Loss 10.25 10.75 -

Stadium

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Montreal 232851 613394 374178 402464 161 (23.0)126 (18.0)287 (20.5)
Opponent 323264 182442 5354107 256388 173 (24.7)128 (18.3)301 (21.5)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (3-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 4 (2-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 9 (3-6-0)
After 2nd 4 (4-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (1-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 8 (5-3-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (0-4-0)
After 3rd 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 3 (0-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 6 (3-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (2-5-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)

Montreal Alouettes 1957 Player Awards and Nominations

1957 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Hal “Prince” Patterson (Division Finalist)
  • Lineman — Tom Hugo, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Ted Elsby (Team Nominee)

Montreal Alouettes 1957 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–7 (16) Vaughan McVey (C) McGill
3–7 (25) Tony Yakutchik (G) McMaster
4–7 (31) Bill Picard (HB) McGill
5–7 Pass
6–7 Pass

Montreal Alouettes 1957 All-Star Selections

5 All-Division Selections
QB Sam “The Rifle” Etcheverry
E Hal “Prince” Patterson*
C Tom Hugo, Jr.
SEC Tom Hugo, Jr.
DHB Hal “Prince” Patterson

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
A 3
Thu. Aug. 1
5:45 PM
CGY 13 @ MTL 39 W 21,184
B 5
Tue. Aug. 6
5:45 PM
SSK 20 @ MTL 32 W 20,317
C 10
Wed. Aug. 14
MTL 20 @ TOR 40 L 10,890
1 11
Tue. Aug. 20
TOR 28 @ MTL 29 W 21,632
14
Sat. Aug. 24
MTL 6 @ HAM 22 L 17,000
2 15
Sat. Aug. 31
OTT 21 @ MTL 22 W 22,984
3 18
Sat. Sept. 7
MTL 16 @ OTT 17 L 19,998
4 20
Sat. Sept. 14
TOR 1 @ MTL 43 W 22,712
5 21
Sat. Sept. 21
HAM 8 @ MTL 18 W 22,984
6 23
Sat. Sept. 28
MTL 14 @ HAM 8 W 21,115
7 26
Sat. Oct. 5
MTL 31 @ TOR 41 L 14,802
8 28
Sat. Oct. 12
MTL 17 @ OTT 27 L 18,356
29
Mon. Oct. 14
OTT 24 @ MTL 32 W 22,864
9 31
Sat. Oct. 19
MTL 15 @ HAM 18 L 19,000
10 33
Sat. Oct. 26
HAM 19 @ MTL 17 L 23,000
11 36
Sat. Nov. 2
MTL 27 @ TOR 40 L 12,971
12 38
Sat. Nov. 9
TOR 27 @ MTL 0 L 20,315
P1 39
Wed. Nov. 13
MTL 24 @ OTT 15 W 15,000
P2 40
Sat. Nov. 16
HAM 17 @ MTL 10 L 19,609
41
Sat. Nov. 23
MTL 1 @ HAM 39 L 17,600