The Montreal Alouettes 1957 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Montreal Alouettes 1957 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 2 1 0 4 91 73 L1 2-1-0
Regular Season 14 6 8 0 12 287 301 L4 1-5-0
    Home 7 5 2 0 10 161 128 L2 4-2-0
    Visitor 7 1 6 0 2 126 173 L4 1-5-0

Full 1957 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (3-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 4 (2-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 9 (3-6-0)
After 2nd 4 (4-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (1-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 8 (5-3-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (0-4-0)
After 3rd 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 3 (0-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 6 (3-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (2-5-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Thu Jul 25
KWD 7 @ MTL 39 W 14,207  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Thu Aug 1 5:45 PM
CGY 13 @ MTL 39 W 21,184  
B
Tue Aug 6 5:45 PM
SSK 20 @ MTL 32 W 20,317  
C
Wed Aug 14
MTL 20 @ TOR 40 L 10,890  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Aug 20
TOR 28 @ MTL 29 W 21,632  
1
Sat Aug 24
MTL 6 @ HAM 22 L 17,000  
2
Sat Aug 31
OTT 21 @ MTL 22 W 22,984  
3
Sat Sep 7
MTL 16 @ OTT 17 L 19,998  
4
Sat Sep 14
TOR 1 @ MTL 43 W 22,712  
5
Sat Sep 21
HAM 8 @ MTL 18 W 22,984  
6
Sat Sep 28
MTL 14 @ HAM 8 W 21,115  
7
Sat Oct 5
MTL 31 @ TOR 41 L 14,802  
8
Sat Oct 12
MTL 17 @ OTT 27 L 18,356  
8
Mon Oct 14
OTT 24 @ MTL 32 W 22,864  
9
Sat Oct 19
MTL 15 @ HAM 18 L 19,000  
10
Sat Oct 26
HAM 19 @ MTL 17 L 23,000  
11
Sat Nov 2
MTL 27 @ TOR 40 L 12,971  
12
Sat Nov 9
TOR 27 @ MTL 0 L 20,315  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Wed Nov 13
MTL 24 @ OTT 15 W 15,000  
P2
Sat Nov 16
HAM 17 @ MTL 10 L 19,609  
P2
Sat Nov 23
MTL 1 @ HAM 39 L 17,600  

Montreal Alouettes 1957 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.520 5-2-0 (7) 1-6-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (5) 0.714
Ottawa Rough Riders (4) 0.571
Toronto Argonauts (5) 0.286

Team Scoring

19571956 +/-
Average Combined Score 42.00 -17.93
Average Winning Score 26.33 -13.67
Average Losing Score 16.13 -3.38
Average Home Score 23.00 -15.71
Average Visitor Score 18.00 -11.57
Average Margin of Victory 11.33 -8.77
Average Margin of Loss 10.25 -10.75

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Montreal 232851 613394 374178 402464 161 (23.0)126 (18.0)287 (20.5)
Opponent 323264 182442 5354107 256388 173 (24.7)128 (18.3)301 (21.5)

Coaches

Head Coach

Montreal Alouettes 1957 Player Awards and Nominations

1957 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Hal “Prince” Patterson (Division Finalist)
  • Lineman — Tom Hugo, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Ted Elsby (Team Nominee)

Montreal Alouettes 1957 All-Star Selections

5 All-Division Selections
QB Sam “The Rifle” Etcheverry
E Hal “Prince” Patterson*
C Tom Hugo, Jr.
SEC Tom Hugo, Jr.
DHB Hal “Prince” Patterson

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Montreal Alouettes 1957 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–7 (16)   Vaughan McVey (C) McGill
3–7 (25)   Tony Yakutchik (G) McMaster
4–7 (31)   Bill Picard (HB) McGill
5–7   Pass
6–7   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway