Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Tue Jul 29 5:30 PM
WPG 7 @ MTL 40 W 21,347  
Ex
Tue Aug 5 5:30 PM
BC 34 @ MTL 22 L 21,343  
Ex
Mon Aug 11 5:30 PM
SSK 49 @ MTL 34 L 20,273  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Aug 19 5:30 PM
HAM 27 @ MTL 14 L 22,676  
1
Fri Aug 22 8:00 PM
MTL 14 @ TOR 15 L 19,492  
2
Sat Aug 30 2:00 PM
OTT 9 @ MTL 11 W 22,943  
3
Sat Sep 6 7:45 PM
MTL 1 @ OTT 17 L 17,056  
4
Sat Sep 13 2:00 PM
TOR 21 @ MTL 24 W 23,000 CBCE
5
Sat Sep 20 2:00 PM
HAM 21 @ MTL 21 T 23,641  
6
Sat Sep 27 2:00 PM
MTL 29 @ HAM 35 L 20,000 R/C, CBCE
7
Sat Oct 4 2:00 PM
MTL 14 @ TOR 10 W 16,000 R/C
8
Sat Oct 11 2:00 PM
MTL 7 @ OTT 41 L 15,000  
8
Mon Oct 13 1:30 PM
OTT 13 @ MTL 34 W 24,133  
9
Sat Oct 18 2:00 PM
MTL 10 @ HAM 29 L 17,915 R/C, CBCE
10
Sat Oct 25 2:00 PM
HAM 12 @ MTL 28 W 22,391  
11
Sat Nov 1 2:00 PM
MTL 44 @ TOR 7 W 26,813  
12
Sat Nov 8 1:00 PM
TOR 12 @ MTL 14 W 22,482  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Wed Nov 12 1:00 PM
OTT 26 @ MTL 12 L 18,048  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1958.
Regular Season 14 7 6 1 15 265 269 W3 4-2-0
    Home 7 5 1 1 11 146 115 W3 5-0-1
    Visitor 7 2 5 0 4 119 154 W1 2-4-0

Full 1958 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (1-1-0) 2 (1-0-1) 3 (3-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 6 (3-3-0) 3 (1-1-1) 5 (3-2-0)
After 2nd 4 (3-1-0) 1 (0-0-1) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (0-0-1) 7 (3-4-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-1-1) 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 8 (6-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-4-1)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 7 (7-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 6 (0-6-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.492 5-1-1 (7) 2-5-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (5) 0.750
Ottawa RedBlacks (4) 0.429
Toronto Argonauts (5) 0.286
19581957 +/-
Average Combined Score 38.14 -3.86
Average Winning Score 24.14 -2.19
Average Losing Score 12.50 -3.62
Average Home Score 20.86 -2.14
Average Visitor Score 17.00 -1.00
Average Margin of Victory 12.14 +0.81
Average Margin of Loss 14.83 +4.58
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Montreal 323668 392867 283462 472168 146 (20.9)119 (17.0)265 (18.9)
Opponent 343266 214970 392968 214465 154 (22.0)115 (16.4)269 (19.2)
Head Coach
1958 Player Awards and Nominations
1958 Most Outstanding
Montreal Alouettes 1958 All-Star Selections
8 All-Division Selections
HB Joel Wells
E John “Red” O'Quinn, Jr.
C Tom Hugo, Jr. (Tie)
G Jackie Simpson
DE Doug McNichol
DG Jackie Simpson
SEC Tom Hugo, Jr.
DHB Hal “Prince” Patterson

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1958 Montreal Alouettes Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–4 (4)   Ron Murphy (E) McGill
2–4 (13)   Sam Yuska (E) McGill
3–4 (22)   Frank Loftus (HB) Western Ontario
4–4 (27)   Bruce Ward (G) Western Ontario
5–4   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway