Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Tue Jul 28 8:00 PM
CGY 21 @ MTL 28 W 21,603  
Ex
Tue Aug 4 8:00 PM
WPG 39 @ MTL 34 L 21,739  
Ex
Mon Aug 10 8:00 PM
SSK 19 @ MTL 53 W 19,754  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Aug 18 8:00 PM
MTL 16 @ HAM 22 L 22,126 R/C, CBCE
1
Fri Aug 21 8:00 PM
OTT 8 @ MTL 23 W 22,813  
2
Fri Aug 28 8:00 PM
TOR 6 @ MTL 24 W 23,927  
3
Sat Sep 5 2:00 PM
MTL 22 @ OTT 7 W 16,698  
4
Sat Sep 12 2:00 PM
HAM 21 @ MTL 27 W 26,218  
5
Wed Sep 16 8:00 PM
MTL 13 @ HAM 25 L 24,759 R/C
5
Sat Sep 19 2:00 PM
OTT 43 @ MTL 6 L 23,811  
6
Sat Sep 26 2:00 PM
MTL 9 @ TOR 39 L 20,035 R/C, CBCE
7
Sat Oct 3 2:00 PM
TOR 37 @ MTL 14 L 22,152  
8
Sat Oct 10 2:00 PM
MTL 8 @ OTT 36 L 17,203  
8
Mon Oct 12 2:00 PM
OTT 28 @ MTL 12 L 21,817 R/C
9
Sat Oct 17 2:00 PM
MTL 4 @ TOR 3 W 19,041 CBCE
10
Sat Oct 24 2:00 PM
MTL @ HAM 16 L 15,500 R/C, CBCE
11
Sat Oct 31 2:00 PM
HAM 14 @ MTL 15 W 21,817  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sat Nov 7 1:00 PM
MTL @ OTT 43 L 19,060 CBC
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1959.
Regular Season 14 6 8 0 12 193 305 W1 2-4-0
    Home 7 4 3 0 8 121 157 W1 3-3-0
    Visitor 7 2 5 0 4 72 148 L1 2-4-0

Full 1959 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0) 4 (3-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 7 (2-5-0)
After 2nd 3 (2-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (1-5-0) 3 (2-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 9 (2-7-0)
After 3rd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (2-8-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.541 4-3-0 (7) 2-5-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (5) 0.714
Ottawa RedBlacks (5) 0.571
Toronto Argonauts (4) 0.286
19591958 +/-
Average Combined Score 35.57 -2.57
Average Winning Score 19.17 -4.98
Average Losing Score 9.75 -2.75
Average Home Score 17.29 -3.57
Average Visitor Score 10.29 -6.71
Average Margin of Victory 9.33 -2.81
Average Margin of Loss 21.00 +6.17
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Montreal 44145 201636 263561 312051 121 (17.3)72 (10.3)193 (13.8)
Opponent 284068 303565 362965 6344107 148 (21.1)157 (22.4)305 (21.8)
Head Coaches
1959 Player Awards and Nominations
1959 Most Outstanding
Montreal Alouettes 1959 All-Star Selections
3 All-Division Selections
C Tom Hugo, Jr.
T Billy Shipp
DE Doug McNichol

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1959 Montreal Alouettes Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–3 (3)   Bob Miller (HB) Western Ontario
2–3 (12)   Nick Cioran (HB) McMaster
3–3 (19)   Bill Hunter (G) Toronto
4–3   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway