The Montreal Alouettes’ 1960 Season

Season Summary

Montreal Alouettes 1960 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Montreal Alouettes 1960 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 5 2 2 1 5 89 146 W2 2-2-1
Regular Season 14 5 9 0 10 340 458 L1 2-4-0
    Home 7 3 4 0 6 185 177 W1 2-4-0
    Visitor 7 2 5 0 4 155 281 L1 2-4-0

Full 1960 League Standings

Montreal Alouettes 1960 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.541 3-4-0 (7) 2-5-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (5) 0.286
Ottawa Rough Riders (4) 0.643
Toronto Argonauts (5) 0.714

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1960 Montreal Alouettes Attendance

  • Capacity: 27,000
  • Total: 160,172
  • High: 24,553
  • Avg: 22,881 (7 out of 7 games)
  • Diff from 1959 Avg: -340
  • Low: 19,891
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 84.75
  • Diff from League Avg: +19,817

More 1960 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19601959 +/-
Average Combined Score 57.00 21.43 +
Average Winning Score 33.00 13.83 +
Average Losing Score 19.44 9.69 +
Average Home Score 26.43 9.14 +
Average Visitor Score 22.14 11.86 +
Average Margin of Victory 12.20 2.87 +
Average Margin of Loss 19.89 1.11 -

Stadium

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Montreal 513586 256691 6537102 441761 185 (26.4)155 (22.1)340 (24.3)
Opponent 455499 385593 5161112 43111154 281 (40.1)177 (25.3)458 (32.7)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 3 (2-1-0) 5 (3-2-0) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (2-4-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (1-3-0) 5 (4-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 7 (1-6-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 7 (5-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 9 (0-9-0)

Montreal Alouettes 1960 Player Awards and Nominations

1960 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Sam “The Rifle” Etcheverry (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Bill Hudson (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Bill Bewley (Team Nominee)

Montreal Alouettes 1960 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–3 (3) Lionel Conacher, Jr. (FB) Western Ontario
2–3 (8) Walt Sopinka (E) Toronto
3–3 (13) Doug Hargreaves (G) Queen's
4–3 (17) Gordon Johnson (QB) Queen's
5–3 (20) Bob Pearson (E) Western Ontario
6–3 (23) Dave Richards (HB) Queen's

Montreal Alouettes 1960 All-Star Selections

4 All-Division Selections
QB Sam “The Rifle” Etcheverry
E Hal “Prince” Patterson
G Jacki Simpson
T Bill Hudson

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
A 1
Fri. July 15
MTL 0 @ EDM 38 L 9,000
2
Wed. July 20
MTL 29 @ BC 29 T 24,392
Eastern Conference
1
Tue. July 26
8:00 PM
BC 49 @ MTL 7 L 19,999
B 4
Mon. Aug. 1
WPG 16 @ MTL 25 W 19,385
C 7
Mon. Aug. 8
8:00 PM
EDM 14 @ MTL 28 W 19,570
1 10
Tue. Aug. 16
HAM 10 @ MTL 23 W 23,531
12
Fri. Aug. 19
MTL 14 @ TOR 36 L 26,524
2 14
Fri. Aug. 26
TOR 29 @ MTL 28 L 24,553
3 16
Sat. Sept. 3
MTL 16 @ OTT 40 L 19,343
18
Mon. Sept. 5
OTT 22 @ MTL 39 W 23,876
5 20
Wed. Sept. 14
HAM 23 @ MTL 22 L 22,670
22
Sat. Sept. 17
MTL 30 @ HAM 29 W 24,000
6 25
Sat. Sept. 24
TOR 21 @ MTL 9 L 23,452
7 27
Sat. Oct. 1
MTL 15 @ TOR 50 L 24,145
8 29
Sat. Oct. 8
MTL 23 @ OTT 41 L 16,721
31
Mon. Oct. 10
OTT 51 @ MTL 21 L 22,199
9 32
Sat. Oct. 15
HAM 21 @ MTL 43 W 19,891
10 34
Sat. Oct. 22
MTL 30 @ HAM 22 W 19,199
11 37
Sun. Oct. 30
MTL 27 @ TOR 63 L 26,069
P1 38
Sat. Nov. 5
MTL 14 @ OTT 30 L 17,987