Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Sun Jun 7 1:30 PM
HAM 27 @ MTL 21 L 21,742  
B
Thu Jun 11 8:00 PM
MTL 17 @ OTT 18 L 16,139  
C
Sun Jun 21 1:30 PM
OTT 17 @ MTL 21 W 21,240  
D
Sat Jun 27 7:00 PM
MTL 38 @ HAM 24 W 16,604  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Sat Jul 4 11:00 PM
MTL 8 @ BC 48 L 26,627 CBC, R/C
2
Fri Jul 10 8:00 PM
TOR 22 @ MTL 23 W 35,281 CTV
3
Fri Jul 17 7:00 PM
MTL 31 @ OTT 33 L 24,872 R/C
4
Sun Jul 26 1:30 PM
EDM 33 @ MTL 17 L 45,835 CTV
5
Sun Aug 2 1:30 PM
SSK 43 @ MTL 23 L 33,209 CTV
6
Sat Aug 8 9:30 PM
MTL 2 @ WPG 58 L 32,938 CBCW, R/C
8
Sun Aug 23 1:30 PM
BC 29 @ MTL 14 L 28,932 CBC
9
Sat Aug 29 7:00 PM
MTL 11 @ HAM 16 L 27,180 CBCE, R/C
10
Sun Sep 6 4:00 PM
MTL 26 @ SSK 35 L 28,526 CBC, R/C
11
Sat Sep 12 1:30 PM
HAM 26 @ MTL 10 L 27,720 CBC
13
Sat Sep 26 9:00 PM
MTL 11 @ EDM 62 L 48,472 CTV, R/C
14
Sun Oct 4 1:30 PM
CGY 16 @ MTL 22 W 15,523 CTV
15
Sat Oct 10 9:00 PM
MTL 3 @ CGY 29 L 29,986 CTV
16
Sat Oct 17 7:30 PM
MTL 14 @ TOR 20 L 31,038 CTVE, R/C
17
Sat Oct 24 1:30 PM
WPG 33 @ MTL 13 L 20,487 CBC
18
Sun Nov 1 1:30 PM
OTT 15 @ MTL 39 W 20,867 CBCE
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 8 1:00 PM
MTL 16 @ OTT 20 L 17,554 CBC
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 97 86 W2 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 3 13 0 6 267 518 W1 2-4-0
    Home 8 3 5 0 6 161 217 W1 2-4-0
    Visitor 8 0 8 0 0 106 301 L8 0-6-0
   Divisional opponent 6 2 4 0 4 128 132 W1 2-4-0
   Non-divisional opponent 10 1 9 0 2 139 386 L2 1-5-0

Full 1981 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (0-6-0) 5 (2-3-0) 1 (0-1-0) 10 (1-9-0)
After 2nd 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (2-5-0) 2 (0-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 3 (1-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 13 (2-11-0)
After 3rd 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 12 (1-11-0)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 13 (0-13-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.385 2-1-0 (3) 0-3-0 (3)
Non-Divisional 0.631 1-4-0 (5) 0-5-0 (5)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2) 0.719
Ottawa RedBlacks (2) 0.313
Toronto Argonauts (2) 0.125
BC Lions (2) 0.625
Calgary Stampeders (2) 0.375
Edmonton Elks (2) 0.906
Saskatchewan Roughriders (2) 0.563
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2) 0.688
19811980 +/-
Average Combined Score 49.06 +3.38
Average Winning Score 28.00 -3.25
Average Losing Score 14.08 +0.83
Average Home Score 20.13 -6.00
Average Visitor Score 13.25 -5.12
Average Margin of Victory 10.33 -2.79
Average Margin of Loss 21.69 +6.19
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Montreal 491564 183149 322153 6239101 161 (20.1)106 (13.3)267 (16.7)
Opponent 474693 86111197 257499 5970129 301 (37.6)217 (27.1)518 (32.4)
Head Coaches
Montreal Alouettes 1981 Stars of the Week
Offensive Star
  • 1 – David Overstreet
Defensive Star
  • 1 – Jim Marshall
  • 1 – Tom Cousineau
Lineman Star
  • 1 – Keith Gary
1981 Player Awards and Nominations
1981 Most Outstanding
Montreal Alouettes 1981 All-Star Selections
1 All-Canadian Selections
WR James Scott
3 All-Division Selections
WR James Scott
G Bill Norton
T Doug Payton

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1981 Montreal Alouettes Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–4 (4)   Chris Walby (DT) Dickinson State
2–4 (13)   Stan Marshall (DB) Simon Fraser
2–6 (15) [CGY] Fred Prinzen (LB) Queen's
3–4 (22)   Joe Kuklo (DB) Simon Fraser
4–4 (31)   Dean Claridge (DE) British Columbia (UBC)
5–4 (40)   Murray Wenhardt (TE) Saskatchewan
6–4 (49)   Dom Vetro (WR) Wilfrid Laurier
7–4 (58)   Dave Ridgway (K) Toledo

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway