Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Sat Aug 15
OTT 11 @ WPG 18 L 15,600  
Ex
Mon Aug 17 11:45 PM
OTT 9 @ EDM 12 L 12,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Sat Aug 29
OTT 10 @ HAM 14 L 12,000  
2
Sat Sep 5
MTL 6 @ OTT 26 W 12,000  
3
Sat Sep 12 2:15 PM
OTT 20 @ TOR 16 W 17,459  
4
Wed Sep 16
MTL 13 @ OTT 22 W    
4
Sun Sep 20 2:00 PM
OTT 21 @ MTL 37 L 16,902  
5
Sat Sep 26 2:15 PM
TOR 18 @ OTT 17 L 16,000  
6
Sat Oct 3 2:15 PM
HAM 6 @ OTT 31 W 15,500  
7
Sat Oct 10
MTL 24 @ OTT 6 L 15,482  
7
Sun Oct 11 2:15 PM
OTT 18 @ MTL 26 L 15,462  
8
Sat Oct 17 2:15 PM
HAM 33 @ OTT 24 L 13,500  
9
Sun Oct 25 2:15 PM
OTT 30 @ MTL 15 W 16,115  
10
Sat Oct 31
OTT 20 @ TOR 8 W 20,187  
11
Sat Nov 7 2:00 PM
TOR 4 @ OTT 13 W 12,688  
12
Sat Nov 14
OTT 8 @ HAM 18 L 18,000  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 14 7 7 0 14 266 238 L1 3-3-0
    Home 7 4 3 0 8 139 104 W1 3-3-0
    Visitor 7 3 4 0 6 127 134 L1 3-3-0

Full 1953 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 3 (1-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (2-5-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 5 (2-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 8 (5-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.510 4-3-0 (7) 3-4-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (4) 0.571
Montreal Alouettes (6) 0.571
Toronto Argonauts (4) 0.357
19531952 +/-
Average Combined Score 36.00 -0.50
Average Winning Score 23.14 +0.54
Average Losing Score 14.86 +2.43
Average Home Score 19.86 +7.19
Average Visitor Score 18.14 -2.52
Average Margin of Victory 13.43 +5.63
Average Margin of Loss 9.43 -1.57
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Ottawa 191938 393877 303969 513182 139 (19.9)127 (18.1)266 (19.0)
Opponent 281846 382361 194564 194867 134 (19.1)104 (14.9)238 (17.0)
Head Coach
1953 Player Awards and Nominations
1953 Most Outstanding
1953 Ottawa Rough Riders Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–2 (2)   Joe Harris (MW) Toronto
2–2 (6)   Stu Kennedy (MW) Queen's
3–2 (10)   Tony Arnoldi (E) Queen's
4–2 (14)   Hank Tamowski (E) Toronto
5–2 (18)   Ken Atwood (HB) Queen's
6–2 (22)   Cameron Kenny (HB) McGill
7–2 (26)   Clive Bynoe (G) McMaster
8–2 (30)   Pete Johnson (G) Queen's
9–2 (34)   Bill Gatfield (HB) Queen's
10–2 (38)   Walter Waddell (G) Queen's

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway