The Ottawa Rough Riders’ 1948 Season

Season Summary

Ottawa Rough Riders 1948 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Ottawa Rough Riders 1948 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 12 10 2 0 20 264 130 W2 5-1-0
    Home 6 5 1 0 10 126 39 W4 5-1-0
    Visitor 6 5 1 0 10 138 91 W1 5-1-0

Full 1948 League Standings

Ottawa Rough Riders 1948 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.389 5-1-0 (6) 5-1-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Montreal Alouettes (4) 0.583
Toronto Argonauts (4) 0.458
Hamilton Wildcats (4) 0.125

Team Scoring

19481947 +/-
Average Combined Score 32.83 +10.08
Average Winning Score 24.30 +5.55
Average Losing Score 10.50 +5.50
Average Home Score 21.00 +2.83
Average Visitor Score 23.00 +12.83
Average Margin of Victory 15.90 +4.90
Average Margin of Loss 12.50 +7.25

1948 Ottawa Rough Riders Attendance

  • Capacity: 15,000
  • Total: 50,205
  • High: 11,853
  • Avg: 10,041 (5 out of 6 games)
  • Diff from 1947 Avg: +345
  • Low: 8,704
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 66.94
  • Diff from League Avg: +7,374

More 1948 Attendance Numbers

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Stadium

  • 1948 home stadium: Lansdowne Park
  • Capacity: 15,000
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1908 – Opened 1908

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

130 (10.8)
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Ottawa 141428 334578 383068 414990 126 (21.0)138 (23.0)264 (22.0)
Opponent 62329 152439 01919 182543 91 (15.2)39 (6.5)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (4-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 6 (6-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (3-2-0)
After 3rd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 9 (9-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance
1
Tue. Aug. 31 8:30 PM
OTT 36 @ MTL 18 W 11,000
1
Sat. Sept. 4 2:30 PM
HAMWC 5 @ OTT 30 W 9,212
2
Sat. Sept. 11 2:30 PM
MTL 11 @ OTT 8 L 10,436
3
Sat. Sept. 18 3:00 PM
OTT 32 @ TOR 12 W 19,000
4
Sat. Sept. 25
TOR 5 @ OTT 12 W  
5
Sat. Oct. 2 2:30 PM
OTT 26 @ HAMWC 6 W 7,000
6
Sat. Oct. 9 2:30 PM
MTL 7 @ OTT 17 W 10,000
8
Sat. Oct. 16 2:15 PM
TOR 6 @ OTT 41 W 11,853
9
Sat. Oct. 23 2:15 PM
OTT 17 @ HAMWC 8 W 4,000
10
Sun. Oct. 24 2:15 PM
OTT 13 @ MTL 35 L 16,000
11
Sat. Oct. 30 2:15 PM
HAMWC 5 @ OTT 18 W 8,704
12
Sat. Nov. 6 2:15 PM
OTT 14 @ TOR 12 W 18,000
P1
Thu. Nov. 11 2:15 PM
OTT 19 @ MTL 21 L 15,000
P1
Sat. Nov. 13 2:15 PM
MTL 7 @ OTT 15 W 13,777
P2
Sat. Nov. 20 1:45 PM
HAM 0 @ OTT 19 W 14,400
GC
Sat. Nov. 27 1:45 PM
CGY 12 vs OTT 7 L 20,013