The Ottawa Rough Riders’ 1958 Season

Season Summary

Ottawa Rough Riders 1958 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Ottawa Rough Riders 1958 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 3 0 0 6 88 61 W3 3-0-0
Regular Season 14 6 8 0 12 233 243 L1 2-4-0
    Home 7 5 2 0 10 145 82 W1 4-2-0
    Visitor 7 1 6 0 2 88 161 L3 1-5-0

Full 1958 League Standings

Ottawa Rough Riders 1958 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.523 5-2-0 (7) 1-6-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (5) 0.750
Montreal Alouettes (4) 0.536
Toronto Argonauts (5) 0.286

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1958 Ottawa Rough Riders Attendance

  • Capacity: 16,372
  • Total: 114,942
  • High: 18,500
  • Avg: 16,420 (7 out of 7 games)
  • Diff from 1957 Avg: +16,420
  • Low: 13,603
  • Sellouts: 4
  • % of Capacity: 100.29
  • Diff from League Avg: +12,170

More 1958 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19581957 +/-
Average Combined Score 34.00 6.21 -
Average Winning Score 26.83 0.04 -
Average Losing Score 9.00 9.50 -
Average Home Score 20.71 1.43 -
Average Visitor Score 12.57 11.86 -
Average Margin of Victory 20.00 6.00 +
Average Margin of Loss 16.25 12.42 +

Stadium

  • 1958 home stadium: Lansdowne Park
  • Capacity: 16,372
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1955 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Ottawa 164359 691180 311546 291948 145 (20.7)88 (12.6)233 (16.6)
Opponent 263157 52328 315889 204969 161 (23.0)82 (11.7)243 (17.4)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (2-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 4 (1-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (3-3-0) 2 (2-0-0) 6 (1-5-0)
After 2nd 5 (5-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (1-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 9 (6-3-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (0-4-0)
After 3rd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0) 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (1-7-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)

Ottawa Rough Riders 1958 Player Awards and Nominations

1958 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Bill Sowalski (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Hardiman Cureton (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Bill Sowalski (Team Nominee)

Ottawa Rough Riders 1958 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–6 (6) Russ Jackson (QB) McMaster
2–6 (15) John Bennett (E) McGill
3–6 (23) Brian Aston (QB) Toronto
4–6 (28) John Chisholm (C) Toronto
5–6 (32) Dan Nelson (E) Toronto

Ottawa Rough Riders 1958 All-Star Selections

3 All-Division Selections
G Hardiman Cureton
DT Milt Graham
S Bob Simpson

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
A 3
Fri. Aug. 1
SSK 28 @ OTT 29 W 8,576
B 6
Thu. Aug. 7
BC 27 @ OTT 33 W 7,687
C 9
Mon. Aug. 11
EDM 6 @ OTT 26 W 8,452
1 12
Tue. Aug. 19
9:45 PM
TOR 7 @ OTT 44 W 18,470
14
Sat. Aug. 23
OTT 7 @ HAM 13 L 21,297
2 15
Sat. Aug. 30
2:00 PM
OTT 9 @ MTL 11 L 22,943
3 18
Sat. Sept. 6
5:45 PM
MTL 1 @ OTT 17 W 17,056
4 20
Sun. Sept. 14
2:00 PM
OTT 18 vs HAM 24 L 15,110 CBCE
5 22
Sat. Sept. 20
OTT 17 @ TOR 14 W 20,166
6 24
Sat. Sept. 27
TOR 4 @ OTT 28 W 18,500
7 25
Sat. Oct. 4
HAM 14 @ OTT 1 L 18,000
8 28
Sat. Oct. 11
MTL 7 @ OTT 41 W 15,000
29
Mon. Oct. 13
OTT 13 @ MTL 34 L 24,133
9 32
Sat. Oct. 18
TOR 41 @ OTT 0 L 14,313
10 34
Sat. Oct. 25
OTT 24 @ TOR 42 L 23,334
11 35
Sat. Nov. 1
HAM 8 @ OTT 14 W 13,603
12 37
Sat. Nov. 8
1:00 PM
OTT 0 @ HAM 23 L 14,874
P1 39
Wed. Nov. 12
1:00 PM
OTT 26 @ MTL 12 W 18,048
P2 40
Sat. Nov. 15
1:00 PM
HAM 35 @ OTT 7 L 10,490
41
Sat. Nov. 22
1:00 PM
OTT 7 @ HAM 19 L 15,671