The Ottawa Rough Riders’ 1960 Season

Season Summary

Ottawa Rough Riders 1960 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Ottawa Rough Riders 1960 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 1 3 0 2 84 80 L3 1-3-0
Regular Season 14 9 5 0 18 400 283 L1 3-3-0
    Home 7 5 2 0 10 194 121 W2 5-1-0
    Visitor 7 4 3 0 8 206 162 L2 3-3-0

Full 1960 League Standings

Ottawa Rough Riders 1960 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.459 5-2-0 (7) 4-3-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (5) 0.286
Montreal Alouettes (4) 0.357
Toronto Argonauts (5) 0.714

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1960 Ottawa Rough Riders Attendance

  • Capacity: 22,000
  • Total: 133,669
  • High: 20,477
  • Avg: 19,095 (7 out of 7 games)
  • Diff from 1959 Avg: +2,208
  • Low: 16,721
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 86.80
  • Diff from League Avg: -539

More 1960 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19601959 +/-
Average Combined Score 48.79 13.64 +
Average Winning Score 35.11 8.86 +
Average Losing Score 16.80 5.97 +
Average Home Score 27.71 7.71 +
Average Visitor Score 29.43 10.14 +
Average Margin of Victory 20.33 3.46 +
Average Margin of Loss 13.20 0.37 +

Stadium

  • 1960 home stadium: Lansdowne Park
  • Capacity: 22,000
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1960 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Ottawa 345185 3566101 5651107 6938107 194 (27.7)206 (29.4)400 (28.6)
Opponent 434992 493584 82735 215172 162 (23.1)121 (17.3)283 (20.2)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (2-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 4 (4-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 7 (3-4-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 6 (6-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (2-5-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 9 (8-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 9 (9-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)

Ottawa Rough Riders 1960 Player Awards and Nominations

1960 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Ron Stewart (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Kaye Vaughan (Division Finalist)
  • Canadian Player — Ron Stewart (Winner)

Ottawa Rough Riders 1960 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–4 (4) Steve Chisholm (HB) Toronto
2–4 (9) Doug Jack (E) Toronto
3–4 (14) Brian Bradstock (T) Toronto
4–4 (18) Joe Irvine (HB) McGill
5–4 (21) Jim Edgar (E) Western Ontario
6–4 (24) Foss Arborg (G) Queen's

Ottawa Rough Riders 1960 All-Star Selections

8 All-Division Selections
HB Ron Stewart
HB Dave Thelen
G Kaye Vaughan
DT Angelo Mosca
DE Lou Bruce
CLB Gerry Nesbitt
CLB Gary Schreider
DHB Joe Poirier

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
Eastern Conference
A 2
Tue. July 26
SSK 6 @ OTT 20 W 6,858
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
C 5
Tue. Aug. 2
OTT 26 @ BC 27 L 18,156
6
Thu. Aug. 4
OTT 14 @ WPG 18 L 15,147
Eastern Conference
8
Wed. Aug. 10
8:00 PM
EDM 29 @ OTT 24 L 8,350
1 11
Tue. Aug. 16
TOR 21 @ OTT 7 L 20,321
13
Sat. Aug. 20
OTT 35 @ HAM 6 W 18,500
2 15
Mon. Aug. 29
HAM 21 @ OTT 29 W 18,344
3 16
Sat. Sept. 3
MTL 16 @ OTT 40 W 19,343
18
Mon. Sept. 5
OTT 22 @ MTL 39 L 23,876
5 21
Wed. Sept. 14
TOR 12 @ OTT 21 W 20,477
23
Sun. Sept. 18
OTT 26 @ TOR 12 W 30,949
6 24
Sat. Sept. 24
OTT 35 @ HAM 21 W 19,456
7 26
Sat. Oct. 1
HAM 27 @ OTT 18 L 19,264
8 29
Sat. Oct. 8
MTL 23 @ OTT 41 W 16,721
31
Mon. Oct. 10
OTT 51 @ MTL 21 W 22,199
9 33
Sun. Oct. 16
OTT 13 @ TOR 37 L 32,896
10 35
Sat. Oct. 22
TOR 1 @ OTT 38 W 19,199
11 36
Sat. Oct. 29
OTT 24 @ HAM 26 L 12,000
P1 38
Sat. Nov. 5
MTL 14 @ OTT 30 W 17,987
P2 39
Sat. Nov. 12
TOR 21 @ OTT 33 W 18,385
40
Sun. Nov. 20
OTT 21 @ TOR 20 W 30,529
Canadian Football League
GC 92
Sat. Nov. 26
4:30 PM
OTT 16 vs EDM 6 W 38,102 R/C, CBC