Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Thu Jun 4 8:00 PM
OTT 20 @ TOR 12 W 28,325  
B
Thu Jun 11 8:00 PM
MTL 17 @ OTT 18 W 16,139  
C
Sun Jun 21 1:30 PM
OTT 17 @ MTL 21 L 21,240  
D
Fri Jun 26 8:00 PM
TOR 25 @ OTT 35 W 14,092  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Fri Jul 3 8:00 PM
EDM 47 @ OTT 21 L 22,053 CTV
2
Sat Jul 11 7:00 PM
OTT 10 @ HAM 47 L 22,345 CBCE, R/C
3
Fri Jul 17 7:00 PM
MTL 31 @ OTT 33 W 24,872 R/C
4
Sat Jul 25 11:00 PM
OTT 17 @ BC 31 L 26,661 CBC
6
Fri Aug 7 8:00 PM
TOR 11 @ OTT 38 W 22,658 CTV
7
Sat Aug 15 8:00 PM
SSK 32 @ OTT 16 L 18,408 CBC
8
Fri Aug 21 9:00 PM
OTT 18 @ CGY 30 L 30,276 CTV
9
Fri Aug 28 9:00 PM
OTT 8 @ WPG 31 L 26,092 CTV
10
Fri Sep 4 8:00 PM
BC 7 @ OTT 17 W 18,393 CTV
11
Sun Sep 13 1:30 PM
OTT 23 @ TOR 6 W 30,340 CBCE, R/C
12
Sun Sep 20 4:00 PM
OTT 23 @ SSK 26 L 28,385  
13
Sat Sep 26 2:00 PM
HAM 30 @ OTT 16 L 20,541 CTVE
14
Sat Oct 3 2:00 PM
WPG 44 @ OTT 24 L 15,523 CTV
15
Mon Oct 12 1:30 PM
OTT 6 @ EDM 24 L 45,805 CBC
16
Sun Oct 18 1:30 PM
CGY 10 @ OTT 21 W 15,002 CBCE
18
Sun Nov 1 1:30 PM
OTT 15 @ MTL 39 L 20,867 CBCE
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 8 1:00 PM
MTL 16 @ OTT 20 W 17,554 CBC
P2
Sun Nov 15 1:00 PM
OTT 17 @ HAM 13 W 28,104 CTV
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sun Nov 22 1:30 PM
EDM 26 vs OTT 23 L 53,307 CBC, CTV
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 3 1 0 6 90 75 W1 3-1-0
Regular Season 16 5 11 0 10 306 446 L1 1-5-0
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 186 212 W1 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 1 7 0 2 120 234 L3 1-5-0
   Divisional opponent 6 3 3 0 6 135 164 L2 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 10 2 8 0 4 171 282 W1 2-4-0

Full 1981 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (1-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-6-0) 4 (1-3-0) 2 (1-1-0) 10 (3-7-0)
After 2nd 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 4 (1-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 6 (3-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 9 (1-8-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 9 (0-9-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 11 (0-11-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.344 2-1-0 (3) 1-2-0 (3)
Non-Divisional 0.631 2-3-0 (5) 0-5-0 (5)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2) 0.719
Montreal Alouettes (2) 0.188
Toronto Argonauts (2) 0.125
BC Lions (2) 0.625
Calgary Stampeders (2) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (2) 0.906
Saskatchewan Roughriders (2) 0.563
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2) 0.688
19811980 +/-
Average Combined Score 47.00 +0.38
Average Winning Score 26.40 -4.03
Average Losing Score 15.82 +0.26
Average Home Score 23.25 -1.50
Average Visitor Score 15.00 -4.38
Average Margin of Victory 13.40 +0.83
Average Margin of Loss 18.82 +4.60
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Ottawa 352459 5052102 381654 632891 186 (23.3)120 (15.0)306 (19.1)
Opponent 345892 7555130 4556101 5865123 234 (29.3)212 (26.5)446 (27.9)
Head Coach
Assistant Coaches
  • Jerry Keeling – Offensive backfield
  • Joe Moss – Offensive line
  • Bob O'Billovich – Defensive secondary
  • Don Sutherin – Defensive line
Ottawa Rough Riders 1981 Stars of the Week
Offensive Star
  • None
Defensive Star
  • None
Lineman Star
  • 1 – Rudy Phillips
Ottawa Rough Riders 1981 Player Awards and Nominations
1981 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Tony Gabriel (Team Nominee)
  • Defensive Player — Greg Marshall (Team Nominee)
  • Offensive Lineman — Val Belcher (Division Finalist)
  • Canadian Player — Tony Gabriel (Division Finalist)
  • Rookie — Eric Manns (Team Nominee)
Ottawa Rough Riders 1981 All-Star Selections
4 All-Canadian Selections
G Val Belcher
DT Mike Raines
DE Greg Marshall
S Randy Rhino
6 All-Division Selections
TE Tony Gabriel
G Val Belcher
DT Mike Raines
DE Greg Marshall
DHB Larry Brune
S Randy Rhino

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1981 Ottawa Rough Riders Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–3 (3)   Maurice Doyle (RB) Toronto
2–3 (12)   Don Burns (WR) Ottawa
4–3 (30)   Eric Boss (DT) Toronto
5–3 (39)   Larry Ring (DB) Bishop's
6–3 (48)   Tony Refossco (OT) Toronto
7–3 (57)   Rob Ball (DT) Queen's

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements