The Saskatchewan Roughriders’ 1951 Season

Season Summary

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1951 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1951 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
1951 Record for Saskatchewan Roughriders unavilable as season pending.
Regular Season 14 8 6 0 16 277 219 L2 4-2-0
    Home 7 4 3 0 8 141 112 L1 3-3-0
    Visitor 7 4 3 0 8 136 107 L1 3-3-0

Full 1951 League Standings

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1951 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.490 4-3-0 (7) 4-3-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.286
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.571
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (6) 0.571

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1951 Saskatchewan Roughriders Attendance

  • Capacity: 8,000
  • Total: 59,500
  • High: 10,000
  • Avg: 8,500 (7 out of 7 games)
  • Diff from 1950 Avg: +1,214
  • Low: 6,000
  • Sellouts: 4
  • % of Capacity: 106.25
  • Diff from League Avg: +6,771

More 1951 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19511950 +/-
Average Combined Score 35.43 8.00 +
Average Winning Score 24.25 5.39 +
Average Losing Score 13.83 3.12 +
Average Home Score 20.14 6.86 +
Average Visitor Score 19.43 3.14 +
Average Margin of Victory 13.63 0.20 +
Average Margin of Loss 8.50 0.64 -

Stadium

  • 1951 home stadium: Taylor Field
  • Capacity: 15,000
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1958 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 312556 354277 543892 213152 141 (20.1)136 (19.4)277 (19.8)
Opponent 251338 17724 94453 6143104 107 (15.3)112 (16.0)219 (15.6)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 3 (3-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (6-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 2nd 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 8 (8-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 3 (0-3-0)
After 3rd 6 (4-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 10 (8-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1951 All-Star Selections

8 All-Division Selections
First Team
Coach Harry Smith
QB Glenn Dobbs, Jr.
E Jack Russell
C Don “Red” Ettinger
G Bert Iannone
T Martin Ruby
Second Team
HB Ken Charlton
E Jack Nix

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
1 4
Sat. Aug. 25
CGY 1 @ SSK 8 W 9,000
6
Mon. Aug. 27
EDM 0 @ SSK 23 W 6,000
2 8
Thu. Aug. 30
SSK 33 @ WPG 1 W 9,000
11
Mon. Sept. 3
WPG 24 @ SSK 22 L 10,000
3 12
Sat. Sept. 8
SSK 7 @ CGY 9 L 8,000
15
Mon. Sept. 10
SSK 6 @ EDM 31 L 11,000
4 17
Sat. Sept. 15
WPG 21 @ SSK 12 L 10,000
5 19
Sat. Sept. 22
SSK 30 @ WPG 17 W 9,600
6 21
Sat. Sept. 29
SSK 25 @ EDM 18 W 10,500
22
Mon. Oct. 1
SSK 22 @ CGY 12 W 6,500
7 24
Sat. Oct. 6
EDM 18 @ SSK 25 W 7,000
26
Mon. Oct. 8
CGY 18 @ SSK 28 W 10,000
8 29
Sat. Oct. 13
WPG 30 @ SSK 23 L 7,500
9 31
Sat. Oct. 20
SSK 13 @ WPG 19 L 9,000
P2 33
Sat. Nov. 3
10:30 PM
SSK 11 @ EDM 15 L 13,000
34
Sat. Nov. 10
4:00 PM
EDM 5 @ SSK 12 W 12,000
35
Mon. Nov. 12
EDM 18 @ SSK 19 W 12,000
GC 71
Sat. Nov. 24
1:00 PM
SSK 14 vs OTT 21 L 27,341