The Saskatchewan Roughriders’ 1953 Season

Season Summary

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1953 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1953 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 16 8 7 1 17 243 239 T1 4-1-1
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 125 129 W1 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 4 3 1 9 118 110 T1 4-1-1

Full 1953 League Standings

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1953 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.490 4-4-0 (8) 4-3-1 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Calgary Stampeders (5) 0.219
Edmonton Eskimos (5) 0.750
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (6) 0.500

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1953 Saskatchewan Roughriders Attendance

  • Capacity: 8,000
  • Total: 104,731
  • High: 15,565
  • Avg: 13,091 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1952 Avg: +1,763
  • Low: 11,030
  • Sellouts: 8
  • % of Capacity: 163.64
  • Diff from League Avg: +11,171

More 1953 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19531952 +/-
Average Combined Score 30.13 6.06 -
Average Winning Score 21.63 3.04 -
Average Losing Score 8.14 2.78 -
Average Home Score 15.63 3.50 +
Average Visitor Score 14.75 0.13 -
Average Margin of Victory 7.63 3.38 -
Average Margin of Loss 8.14 5.70 -

Stadium

  • 1953 home stadium: Taylor Field
  • Capacity: 15,000
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1958 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 413071 194059 292857 362056 125 (15.6)118 (14.8)243 (15.2)
Opponent 414485 27936 332558 283260 110 (13.8)129 (16.1)239 (14.9)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (2-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (1-0-1) 4 (1-3-0) 5 (4-1-0) 5 (2-2-1) 6 (2-4-0)
After 2nd 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 5 (4-0-1) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 7 (6-0-1) 1 (1-0-0) 8 (1-7-0)
After 3rd 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 3 (2-0-1) 2 (2-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (5-0-1) 3 (3-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 3 (0-3-0) 8 (8-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 7 (0-7-0)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1953 All-Star Selections

6 All-Division Selections
E Mac Speedie
G Mike Cassidy
T Martin Ruby
DT Martin Ruby
LB John Wozniak
DHB Bobby Marlow

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
A 3
Fri. Aug. 14
8:30 PM
SSK 16 @ MTL 6 W 17,852
B 4
Mon. Aug. 17
SSK 12 @ HAM 21 L 10,000
1 5
Sat. Aug. 29
CGY 29 @ SSK 17 L 14,000
7
Mon. Aug. 31
EDM 19 @ SSK 17 L 11,030
2 9
Fri. Sept. 4
SSK 6 @ WPG 13 L 16,000
12
Mon. Sept. 7
WPG 19 @ SSK 23 W 14,904
3 14
Sat. Sept. 12
SSK 1 @ EDM 13 L 15,300
15
Mon. Sept. 14
SSK 34 @ CGY 2 W 13,000
4 17
Sat. Sept. 19
EDM 12 @ SSK 6 L 13,024
5 20
Sat. Sept. 26
WPG 15 @ SSK 21 W 12,446
22
Mon. Sept. 28
SSK 2 @ WPG 19 L 16,400
6 23
Sat. Oct. 3
EDM 13 @ SSK 19 W 12,646
25
Mon. Oct. 5
CGY 9 @ SSK 8 L 11,116
7 28
Sat. Oct. 10
SSK 18 @ WPG 13 W 16,000
30
Mon. Oct. 12
WPG 13 @ SSK 14 W 15,565
8 31
Sat. Oct. 17
SSK 24 @ CGY 18 W 12,000
34
Mon. Oct. 19
SSK 20 @ EDM 19 W 15,000
9 35
Sat. Oct. 24
SSK 13 @ CGY 13 T 10,000
P1 37
Wed. Oct. 28
SSK 5 @ WPG 43 L 16,827
38
Sat. Oct. 31
WPG 17 @ SSK 18 W 14,000