The Saskatchewan Roughriders 1953 Season

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1953 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 16 8 7 1 17 243 239 T1 4-1-1
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 125 129 W1 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 4 3 1 9 118 110 T1 4-1-1

Full 1953 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (2-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (1-0-1) 4 (1-3-0) 5 (4-1-0) 5 (2-2-1) 6 (2-4-0)
After 2nd 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 5 (4-0-1) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 7 (6-0-1) 1 (1-0-0) 8 (1-7-0)
After 3rd 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 3 (2-0-1) 2 (2-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (5-0-1) 3 (3-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 3 (0-3-0) 8 (8-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 7 (0-7-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Fri Aug 14 8:30 PM
SSK 16 @ MTL 6 W 17,852  
B
Mon Aug 17
SSK 12 @ HAM 21 L 10,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Sat Aug 29
CGY 29 @ SSK 17 L 14,000  
1
Mon Aug 31
EDM 19 @ SSK 17 L 11,030  
2
Fri Sep 4
SSK 6 @ WPG 13 L 16,000  
2
Mon Sep 7
WPG 19 @ SSK 23 W 14,904  
3
Sat Sep 12
SSK 1 @ EDM 13 L 15,300  
3
Mon Sep 14
SSK 34 @ CGY 2 W 13,000  
4
Sat Sep 19
EDM 12 @ SSK 6 L 13,024  
5
Sat Sep 26
WPG 15 @ SSK 21 W 12,446  
5
Mon Sep 28
SSK 2 @ WPG 19 L 16,400  
6
Sat Oct 3
EDM 13 @ SSK 19 W 12,646  
6
Mon Oct 5
CGY 9 @ SSK 8 L 11,116  
7
Sat Oct 10
SSK 18 @ WPG 13 W 16,000  
7
Mon Oct 12
WPG 13 @ SSK 14 W 15,565  
8
Sat Oct 17
SSK 24 @ CGY 18 W 12,000  
8
Mon Oct 19
SSK 20 @ EDM 19 W 15,000  
9
Sat Oct 24
SSK 13 @ CGY 13 T 10,000  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Wed Oct 28
SSK 5 @ WPG 43 L 16,827  
P1
Sat Oct 31
WPG 17 @ SSK 18 W 14,000  

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1953 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.490 4-4-0 (8) 4-3-1 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Calgary Stampeders (5) 0.219
Edmonton Eskimos (5) 0.750
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (6) 0.500

Team Scoring

19531952 +/-
Average Combined Score 30.13 -6.06
Average Winning Score 21.63 -3.04
Average Losing Score 8.14 -2.78
Average Home Score 15.63 +3.50
Average Visitor Score 14.75 -0.12
Average Margin of Victory 7.63 -3.38
Average Margin of Loss 8.14 -5.70

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 413071 194059 292857 362056 125 (15.6)118 (14.8)243 (15.2)
Opponent 414485 27936 332558 283260 110 (13.8)129 (16.1)239 (14.9)

Coaches

Head Coach

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1953 All-Star Selections

6 All-Division Selections
E Mac Speedie
G Francis “Mike” Cassidy
T Martin Ruby
DT Martin Ruby
LB John Wozniak
DHB Bobby Marlow

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway