Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Fri Aug 13 8:15 PM
HAM 25 @ SSK 5 L 10,366  
Ex
Mon Aug 16 8:15 PM
MTL 11 @ SSK 1 L 6,969  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Sat Aug 21 7:15 PM
EDM 13 @ SSK 21 W 12,000  
1
Mon Aug 23 7:15 PM
CGY 7 @ SSK 11 W 11,469  
2
Sat Aug 28
SSK @ CGY 34 L 14,000  
2
Mon Aug 30 11:30 PM
SSK 17 @ BC W 14,878  
3
Fri Sep 3
SSK 12 @ WPG 12 T 18,090  
3
Mon Sep 6 4:30 PM
WPG 14 @ SSK 18 W 14,000  
4
Sat Sep 11 7:00 PM
BC 7 @ SSK 17 W 13,000  
5
Sat Sep 18 6:30 PM
WPG 10 @ SSK 10 T 10,663  
5
Mon Sep 20
SSK 7 @ WPG 28 L 16,418  
6
Sat Sep 25
SSK 10 @ CGY 18 L 15,000  
6
Mon Sep 27 10:30 PM
SSK 8 @ EDM 6 W 15,161  
7
Sat Oct 2 3:30 PM
BC 12 @ SSK 43 W 12,000  
8
Mon Oct 11 3:30 PM
EDM 2 @ SSK 12 W 14,778  
9
Sat Oct 16 3:30 PM
CGY 8 @ SSK 19 W 14,000  
10
Sat Oct 23 10:30 PM
SSK 19 @ EDM 24 L 18,236  
10
Mon Oct 25 11:30 PM
SSK 15 @ BC 9 W 10,775  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sat Oct 30 9:30 PM
SSK 14 @ WPG 14 T 15,479  
P1
Mon Nov 1 8:30 PM
WPG 13 @ SSK 11 L 13,700  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1954.
Regular Season 16 10 4 2 22 239 204 W1 5-1-0
    Home 8 7 0 1 15 151 73 W3 5-0-1
    Visitor 8 3 4 1 7 88 131 W1 2-3-1

Full 1954 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (4-0-0) 3 (2-0-1) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-0-1) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (1-3-0) 6 (5-0-1) 5 (3-1-1) 5 (2-3-0)
After 2nd 7 (6-0-1) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (0-1-1) 4 (1-3-0) 9 (8-0-1) 2 (0-1-1) 5 (2-3-0)
After 3rd 8 (7-0-1) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-0-1) 5 (1-4-0) 9 (8-0-1) 2 (1-0-1) 5 (1-4-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 4 (0-4-0) 10 (10-0-0) 2 (0-0-2) 4 (0-4-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.453 7-0-1 (8) 3-4-1 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.063
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.500
Edmonton Elks (4) 0.688
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.563
19541953 +/-
Average Combined Score 27.69 -2.44
Average Winning Score 18.10 -3.52
Average Losing Score 9.00 +0.86
Average Home Score 18.88 +3.25
Average Visitor Score 11.00 -3.75
Average Margin of Victory 10.30 +2.68
Average Margin of Loss 17.00 +8.86
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 342256 392463 392362 391958 151 (18.9)88 (11.0)239 (14.9)
Opponent 33538 193958 143549 372259 131 (16.4)73 (9.1)204 (12.8)
Head Coach
1954 Player Awards and Nominations
1954 Most Outstanding
Saskatchewan Roughriders 1954 All-Star Selections
10 All-Division Selections
Coach Frank Filchock
QB Frank Tripucka
E Mac Speedie
G Mario DeMarco
T Martin Ruby
DT Martin Ruby
DG Francis “Mike” Cassidy
HBS John Wozniak
HBT Bobby Marlow
HBT Stan Williams

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway