The Saskatchewan Roughriders’ 1955 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1955 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 29 27 L1 1-1-0
Regular Season 16 10 6 0 20 270 245 W1 4-2-0
Home 8 6 2 0 12 140 113 W4 5-1-0
Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 130 132 W1 2-4-0

Full 1955 League Standings

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1955 Opponent Appearances

Opponent@ SSKSSK @
BC Lions (4)1-1-0 (2)2-0-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (4)2-0-0 (2)1-1-0 (2)
Edmonton Eskimos (4)1-1-0 (2)0-2-0 (2)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4)2-0-0 (2)1-1-0 (2)

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1955 Attendance

  • Capacity: 8,000
  • High: 16,052
  • Avg: 12,854 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Variance over 1954 Avg: +115
  • Low: 10,000
  • Sellouts: 8
  • % of Capacity: 160.68
  • Variance from League Avg: -3,464

More 1955 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19551954 +/-
Average Combined Score 15.19 5.13 +
Average Winning Score 21.10 3.00 +
Average Losing Score 9.83 0.83 +
Average Home Score 17.50 1.38 -
Average Visitor Score 16.25 5.25 +
Average Margin of Victory 21.10 3.00 +
Average Margin of Loss 19.50 6.50 -

Stadium

  • 1955 home stadium: Taylor Field
  • Capacity: 15,000
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1958 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 301040 6042102 354277 153651 140 (17.5)130 (16.3)270 (16.9)
Opponent 351550 254671 73744 463480 132 (16.5)113 (14.1)245 (15.3)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (3-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 8 (4-4-0)
After 2nd 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0) 7 (6-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 9 (4-5-0)
After 3rd 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 10 (9-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1955 Player Awards and Nominations

1955 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Ken Carpenter (Division Finalist)
  • Lineman — Martin Ruby (Division Finalist)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1955 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
No draft picks for 1955 in database.
Week Details (CDT
A 3
Wed. Aug. 10
4:45 PM
SSK 12 @ MTL 3 W 20,276
B 4
Fri. Aug. 12
SSK 17 @ OTT 24 L 11,000
1 6
Sat. Aug. 20
WPG 7 @ SSK 17 W 14,000
2 11
Sat. Aug. 27
SSK 29 @ CGY 12 W 17,500
12
Mon. Aug. 29
SSK 19 @ BC 13 W 27,008
3 14
Sat. Sept. 3
SSK 12 @ EDM 19 L 19,500
16
Mon. Sept. 5
BC 24 @ SSK 23 L 16,052
4 19
Sat. Sept. 10
CGY 23 @ SSK 24 W 12,000
21
Mon. Sept. 12
SSK 0 @ WPG 25 L 16,133
5 23
Sat. Sept. 17
EDM 26 @ SSK 9 L 14,500
6 26
Sat. Sept. 24
WPG 7 @ SSK 12 W 10,857
7 30
Sat. Oct. 1
SSK 24 @ BC 9 W 23,321
32
Mon. Oct. 3
SSK 9 @ EDM 17 L 15,000
8 37
Mon. Oct. 10
CGY 16 @ SSK 18 W 13,837
9 39
Sat. Oct. 15
EDM 3 @ SSK 4 W 11,590
10 41
Sat. Oct. 22
BC 7 @ SSK 33 W 10,000
43
Mon. Oct. 24
SSK 6 @ CGY 24 L 10,000
11 45
Sat. Oct. 29
SSK 31 @ WPG 13 W 14,464
P1 46
Sat. Nov. 5
WPG 16 @ SSK 7 L 9,000 RDS
47
Mon. Nov. 7
SSK 9 @ WPG 8 W 12,768