The Saskatchewan Roughriders 1956 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1956 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 1 2 0 2 41 67 L2 1-2-0
Regular Season 16 10 6 0 20 353 272 W1 4-2-0
    Home 8 7 1 0 14 223 110 W1 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 3 5 0 6 130 162 L1 3-3-0

Full 1956 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 6 (5-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 9 (4-5-0)
After 2nd 8 (7-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 11 (10-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)
After 3rd 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Tue Jul 31
SSK 27 @ HAM 12 W 12,000  
A
Thu Aug 2 5:45 PM
SSK 13 @ MTL 42 L 20,102  
A
Fri Aug 3
SSK 1 @ OTT 13 L 10,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Sat Aug 18
SSK 3 @ EDM 15 L 16,500  
1
Mon Aug 20
SSK 9 @ BC 20 L 28,825  
2
Sat Aug 25
WPG 16 @ SSK 28 W 13,000  
3
Sat Sep 1
SSK 17 @ CGY 27 L 12,000  
3
Mon Sep 3
BC 10 @ SSK 24 W 13,000  
4
Sat Sep 8
EDM 4 @ SSK 31 W 13,500  
4
Mon Sep 10
SSK 0 @ WPG 35 L 17,546  
5
Mon Sep 17 10:00 PM
CGY 1 @ SSK 18 W 14,000  
6
Sat Sep 22
SSK 24 @ WPG 7 W 19,035  
7
Sat Sep 29 4:30 PM
BC 28 @ SSK 46 W 11,327  
7
Mon Oct 1
SSK 33 @ EDM 7 W 20,000  
8
Mon Oct 8
WPG 14 @ SSK 26 W 15,517  
9
Sat Oct 13
EDM 37 @ SSK 17 L 14,500  
10
Sat Oct 20
SSK 25 @ BC 22 W 18,239  
10
Mon Oct 22
SSK 19 @ CGY 29 L 9,000  
11
Sat Oct 27
CGY 0 @ SSK 33 W 8,000  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sat Nov 3
WPG 7 @ SSK 42 W 13,000  
P1
Mon Nov 5
SSK 8 @ WPG 19 L 13,348  
P2
Sat Nov 10
EDM 22 @ SSK 23 W 13,500  
P2
Mon Nov 12
SSK 12 @ EDM 20 L 19,000  
P2
Sat Nov 17
SSK 7 @ EDM 51 L 22,461  

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1956 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.469 7-1-0 (8) 3-5-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.375
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.250
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.688
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.563

Team Scoring

19561955 +/-
Average Combined Score 39.06 +6.88
Average Winning Score 28.80 +7.70
Average Losing Score 10.83 +1.00
Average Home Score 27.88 +10.38
Average Visitor Score 16.25 +0.00
Average Margin of Victory 17.90 +7.80
Average Margin of Loss 16.33 +3.67

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 261440 9847145 424385 572683 223 (27.9)130 (16.3)353 (22.1)
Opponent 314374 264672 323264 214162 162 (20.3)110 (13.8)272 (17.0)

Coaches

Head Coach

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1956 Player Awards and Nominations

1956 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Ken Carpenter (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Martin Ruby (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Bill Clarke (Team Nominee)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1956 All-Star Selections

No Saskatchewan Roughriders Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1956.

See an error? Please send corrections.

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1956 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–6 (6)   Doug Drew (C) Western Ontario
2–6 (15)   Dave Cresswell (HB) Toronto
3–6 (24)   Jim Steward (E) McMaster
4–6 (32)   Jim Cruikshank (HB) Queen's

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2019. All rights reserved

Server: Clements