The Saskatchewan Roughriders’ 1956 Season

Season Summary

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1956 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1956 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 1 2 0 2 41 67 L2 1-2-0
Regular Season 16 10 6 0 20 353 272 W1 4-2-0
Home 8 7 1 0 14 223 110 W1 5-1-0
Visitor 8 3 5 0 6 130 162 L1 3-3-0

Full 1956 League Standings

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1956 Opponent Appearances

Opponent@ SSKSSK @
BC Lions (4)2-0-0 (2)1-1-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (4)2-0-0 (2)0-2-0 (2)
Edmonton Eskimos (4)1-1-0 (2)1-1-0 (2)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4)2-0-0 (2)1-1-0 (2)

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1956 Attendance

  • Capacity: 8,000
  • High: 15,517
  • Avg: 13,189 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Variance over 1955 Avg: +13,189
  • Low: 8,000
  • Sellouts: 8
  • % of Capacity: 164.87
  • Variance from League Avg: +0

More 1956 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19561955 +/-
Average Combined Score 15.00 0.19 -
Average Winning Score 28.80 7.70 +
Average Losing Score 10.83 1.00 +
Average Home Score 27.88 10.38 +
Average Visitor Score 16.25 0.00
Average Margin of Victory 28.80 7.70 +
Average Margin of Loss 23.83 4.33 +

Stadium

  • 1956 home stadium: Taylor Field
  • Capacity: 15,000
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1958 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 261440 9847145 424385 572683 223 (27.9)130 (16.3)353 (22.1)
Opponent 314374 264672 323264 214162 162 (20.3)110 (13.8)272 (17.0)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 6 (5-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 9 (4-5-0)
After 2nd 8 (7-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 11 (10-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)
After 3rd 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1956 Player Awards and Nominations

1956 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Ken Carpenter (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Martin Ruby (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Bill Clarke (Team Nominee)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1956 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–6 (6) Doug Drew (C) Western Ontario
2–6 (15) Dave Cresswell (HB) Toronto
3–6 (24) Jim Steward (E) McMaster
4–6 (32) Jim Cruikshank (HB) Queen's
Week Game Details (MST
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
A 1
Tue. July 31
SSK 27 @ HAM 12 W 12,000
2
Thu. Aug. 2
2:45 PM
SSK 13 @ MTL 42 L 20,102
4
Fri. Aug. 3
SSK 1 @ OTT 13 L 10,000
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
1 6
Sat. Aug. 18
SSK 3 @ EDM 15 L 16,500
7
Mon. Aug. 20
SSK 9 @ BC 20 L 28,825
2 9
Sat. Aug. 25
WPG 16 @ SSK 28 W 13,000
3 13
Sat. Sept. 1
SSK 17 @ CGY 27 L 12,000
15
Mon. Sept. 3
BC 10 @ SSK 24 W 13,000
4 17
Sat. Sept. 8
EDM 4 @ SSK 31 W 13,500
19
Mon. Sept. 10
SSK 0 @ WPG 35 L 17,546
5 23
Mon. Sept. 17
7:00 PM
CGY 1 @ SSK 18 W 14,000
6 25
Sat. Sept. 22
SSK 24 @ WPG 7 W 19,035
7 28
Sat. Sept. 29
1:30 PM
BC 28 @ SSK 46 W 11,327
29
Mon. Oct. 1
SSK 33 @ EDM 7 W 20,000
8 34
Mon. Oct. 8
WPG 14 @ SSK 26 W 15,517
9 36
Sat. Oct. 13
EDM 37 @ SSK 17 L 14,500
10 39
Sat. Oct. 20
SSK 25 @ BC 22 W 18,239
41
Mon. Oct. 22
SSK 19 @ CGY 29 L 9,000
11 43
Sat. Oct. 27
CGY 0 @ SSK 33 W 8,000
P1 45
Sat. Nov. 3
WPG 7 @ SSK 42 W 13,000
46
Mon. Nov. 5
SSK 8 @ WPG 19 L 13,348
P2 47
Sat. Nov. 10
EDM 22 @ SSK 23 W 13,500
48
Mon. Nov. 12
SSK 12 @ EDM 20 L 19,000
49
Sat. Nov. 17
SSK 7 @ EDM 51 L 22,461