The Saskatchewan Roughriders 1957 Season

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1957 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 1 2 0 2 57 55 L2 1-2-0
Regular Season 16 3 12 1 7 276 438 L1 1-5-0
    Home 8 3 5 0 6 137 175 L1 2-4-0
    Visitor 8 0 7 1 1 139 263 L2 0-5-1

Full 1957 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (1-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 2 (0-1-1) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (0-5-0) 4 (1-2-1) 3 (2-1-0) 9 (0-9-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 2 (0-1-1) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 5 (3-1-1) 0 (0-0-0) 11 (0-11-0)
After 3rd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 2 (0-1-1) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 5 (3-1-1) 0 (0-0-0) 11 (0-11-0)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 7 (0-7-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 12 (0-12-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
A
Wed. July 31
SSK 30 @ TOR 9 W 16,073  
B
Tue. Aug. 6 5:45 PM
SSK 20 @ MTL 32 L 20,317  
B
Thu. Aug. 8 8:15 PM
SSK 7 @ OTT 14 L 9,000  
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
1
Sat. Aug. 17
SSK 20 @ BC 44 L 26,807  
1
Mon. Aug. 19
SSK 7 @ EDM 37 L 20,000  
2
Sat. Aug. 24
WPG 7 @ SSK 3 L 12,500  
3
Sat. Aug. 31
SSK 22 @ CGY 26 L 16,000  
3
Mon. Sept. 2
BC 13 @ SSK 28 W 14,497  
4
Sat. Sept. 7
SSK 29 @ WPG 35 L 15,975  
5
Mon. Sept. 16
CGY 27 @ SSK 44 W 11,500  
6
Sat. Sept. 21
EDM 24 @ SSK 17 L 13,754  
7
Sat. Sept. 28
SSK 12 @ EDM 37 L 18,000  
7
Mon. Sept. 30
SSK 21 @ BC 21 T 19,398  
8
Sat. Oct. 5
SSK 9 @ CGY 36 L 9,500  
8
Mon. Oct. 7
WPG 37 @ SSK 3 L 8,500  
9
Mon. Oct. 14
BC 30 @ SSK 10 L 10,061  
10
Mon. Oct. 21
SSK 19 @ WPG 27 L 14,186  
11
Sat. Oct. 26
CGY 14 @ SSK 32 W 8,500  
12
Sat. Nov. 2
EDM 23 @ SSK 0 L 8,000  

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1957 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.570 3-5-0 (8) 0-7-1 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.281
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.875
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.750

Team Scoring

19571956 +/-
Average Combined Score 44.63 +5.56
Average Winning Score 34.67 +5.87
Average Losing Score 12.58 +1.75
Average Home Score 17.13 -10.75
Average Visitor Score 17.38 +1.12
Average Margin of Victory 16.67 -1.23
Average Margin of Loss 17.67 +1.33

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 152035 6349112 312758 284371 137 (17.1)139 (17.4)276 (17.3)
Opponent 295180 5760117 3377110 5675131 263 (32.9)175 (21.9)438 (27.4)

Coaches

Head Coach

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1957 Player Awards and Nominations

1957 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Frank Tripucka (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Galen Wahlmeier (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Harry Lunn (Team Nominee)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1957 All-Star Selections

3 All-Division Selections
C Galen Wahlmeier
SEC Bobby Marlow
DHB Larry Isbell

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1957 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–8 (17)   Allen Watt (T) Toronto
3–8   Pass
4–8   Pass
5–8   Pass
6–8   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020 All rights reserved

Server: Clements