Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Fri Aug 1 8:30 PM
SSK 28 @ OTT 29 L 8,576  
Ex
Wed Aug 6
SSK 23 @ LNDL 1 W 4,800  
Ex
Mon Aug 11 5:30 PM
SSK 49 @ MTL 34 W 20,273  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Sat Aug 16 11:30 PM
SSK 49 @ BC 33 W 30,408  
1
Mon Aug 18
SSK 6 @ EDM 40 L 18,000  
2
Thu Aug 21 10:00 PM
WPG 13 @ SSK 21 W 13,233  
3
Mon Sep 1 4:00 PM
BC 14 @ SSK 22 W 15,595  
4
Sat Sep 6
SSK 6 @ WPG 27 L 18,336  
5
Mon Sep 15 10:00 PM
CGY 7 @ SSK 30 W 13,012  
6
Sat Sep 20 4:00 PM
EDM 26 @ SSK 13 L 12,789  
7
Sat Sep 27
SSK 11 @ EDM 11 T 15,000  
7
Mon Sep 29 11:30 PM
SSK 22 @ BC 6 W 20,226  
8
Sat Oct 4 11:30 PM
SSK 22 @ CGY 14 W 18,000  
8
Mon Oct 6 10:00 PM
WPG 14 @ SSK 13 L 11,581  
9
Mon Oct 13 4:00 PM
BC 34 @ SSK 16 L 11,909  
10
Sat Oct 18 4:00 PM
CGY 21 @ SSK 17 L 10,148  
10
Mon Oct 20
SSK 15 @ WPG 21 L 16,319  
11
Sat Oct 25 11:30 PM
SSK 29 @ CGY 29 T 13,500  
12
Sat Nov 1 3:00 PM
EDM 14 @ SSK 28 W 9,000  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sat Nov 8 3:00 PM
EDM 27 @ SSK 11 L 12,000  
P1
Tue Nov 11
SSK 1 @ EDM 31 L 18,000  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 16 7 7 2 16 320 324 W1 1-4-1
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 160 143 W1 2-4-0
    Visitor 8 3 3 2 8 160 181 T1 2-2-2

Full 1958 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (1-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (2-3-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (0-2-2) 5 (3-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 9 (2-5-2)
After 2nd 5 (3-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (3-1-1) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-2-1) 10 (6-3-1) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (0-3-1)
After 3rd 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (3-1-1) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-2-1) 10 (7-2-1) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-5-1)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 3 (3-0-0) 2 (0-0-2) 3 (0-3-0) 7 (7-0-0) 2 (0-0-2) 7 (0-7-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.500 4-4-0 (8) 3-3-2 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.188
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.406
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.594
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.813
19581957 +/-
Average Combined Score 40.25 -4.38
Average Winning Score 27.71 -6.95
Average Losing Score 12.29 -0.30
Average Home Score 20.00 +2.88
Average Visitor Score 20.00 +2.62
Average Margin of Victory 13.29 -3.38
Average Margin of Loss 13.86 -3.81
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 131629 6360123 153651 6948117 160 (20.0)160 (20.0)320 (20.0)
Opponent 274471 304878 293564 5754111 181 (22.6)143 (17.9)324 (20.3)
Head Coach
Saskatchewan Roughriders 1958 Player Awards and Nominations
1958 Most Outstanding
Saskatchewan Roughriders 1958 All-Star Selections
4 All-Division Selections
HB Carlton “Cookie” Gilchrist
HB Jack Hill
E Ken Carpenter
DHB Larry Isbell

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1958 Saskatchewan Roughriders Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–1 (1)   Les Sigurdson (T) McGill
2–1 (10)   Leo Konyk (G) McGill
3–1 (19)   Merv Shaw (G) McGill
4–1 (25)   Garnett Bertrand (C) McGill
5–1 (30)   Peter Zarry (E) Western Ontario

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway