The Saskatchewan Roughriders’ 1959 Season

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1959 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 0 3 0 0 46 136 L3 0-3-0
Regular Season 16 1 15 0 2 175 537 W1 2-4-0
    Home 8 0 8 0 0 87 266 L8 0-6-0
    Visitor 8 1 7 0 2 88 271 W1 2-4-0

Full 1959 League Standings

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1959 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.609 0-8-0 (8) 1-7-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.563
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.500
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.625
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.750

Team Scoring

19591958 +/-
Average Combined Score 48.69 +8.44
Average Winning Score 26.00 -1.71
Average Losing Score 11.43 -0.86
Average Home Score 10.88 -9.12
Average Visitor Score 15.63 -4.38
Average Margin of Victory 4.00 -9.29
Average Margin of Loss 25.93 +12.07

1959 Saskatchewan Roughriders Attendance

  • Capacity: 15,000
  • Total: 77,778
  • High: 13,212
  • Avg: 9,722 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1958 Avg: -3,935
  • Low: 6,500
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 64.82
  • Diff from League Avg: -9,324

More 1959 Attendance Numbers

Coaches

Head Coaches

More Head Coaches

Stadium

  • 1959 home stadium: Taylor Field
  • Capacity: 15,000
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1958 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 322860 85058 81826 392968 87 (10.9)125 (15.6)212 (13.3)
Opponent 3582117 116117233 373471 7868146 301 (37.6)266 (33.3)567 (35.4)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (0-2-0) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (0-4-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (2-4-0) 3 (0-3-0) 3 (0-3-0) 10 (2-8-0)
After 2nd 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-6-0) 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 14 (1-13-0)
After 3rd 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (1-6-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 14 (1-13-0)
After 4th 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 14 (0-14-0)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1959 Player Awards and Nominations

1959 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Don Allard (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Neil Habig (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Ron Atchison (Team Nominee)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1959 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–6 (6)   Doug McKenzie (FB) Western Ontario
2–6 (15)   Don Stuart (E) Western Ontario
3–6   Pass
4–6   Pass

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1959 All-Star Selections

1 All-Division Selections
C Neil Habig

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
A
Thu. July 23
SSK 14 @ BC 30 L 18,915  
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
C
Mon. Aug. 10 8:00 PM
SSK 19 @ MTL 53 L 19,754  
C
Wed. Aug. 12
SSK 13 @ TOR 53 L 10,000  
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
1
Fri. Aug. 14
CGY 28 @ SSK 8 L 13,212  
2
Thu. Aug. 20
SSK 21 @ BC 36 L 29,131  
3
Mon. Aug. 24
SSK 0 @ EDM 55 L 14,000  
3
Sat. Aug. 29
WPG 61 @ SSK 8 L 12,000  
4
Mon. Aug. 31
SSK 10 @ CGY 28 L 10,500  
5
Mon. Sept. 7
BC 35 @ SSK 17 L 12,566  
6
Sat. Sept. 12
SSK 14 @ WPG 41 L 15,962  
7
Sat. Sept. 19
EDM 32 @ SSK 0 L 10,000  
8
Mon. Sept. 28
CGY 18 @ SSK 15 L 6,500  
9
Sat. Oct. 3
SSK 15 @ EDM 44 L 17,500  
9
Mon. Oct. 5
SSK 15 @ BC 14 W 25,778  
10
Sat. Oct. 10
SSK 13 @ CGY 53 L 8,500  
10
Mon. Oct. 12
WPG 27 @ SSK 14 L 8,000  
11
Mon. Oct. 19
BC 45 @ SSK 6 L 7,500  
12
Sat. Oct. 24
EDM 20 @ SSK 19 L 8,000  
12
Mon. Oct. 26
SSK 37 @ WPG 30 FL 14,279