The Saskatchewan Roughriders 1962 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1962 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 1 0 1 0 0 9 29 L1 0-1-0
Regular Season 16 8 7 1 17 268 336 L1 3-3-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 148 123 L1 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 2 5 1 5 120 213 L1 2-3-1
   Divisional opponent 12 5 6 1 11 173 221 L1 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 3 1 0 6 95 115 L1 3-1-0

Full 1962 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 3 (1-1-1) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (1-3-0) 7 (5-1-1) 1 (0-1-0) 8 (3-5-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 1 (0-0-1) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (2-5-0) 4 (3-0-1) 2 (2-0-0) 10 (3-7-0)
After 3rd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (1-0-1) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0) 7 (6-0-1) 0 (0-0-0) 9 (2-7-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 5 (0-5-0) 8 (8-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 7 (0-7-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
D
Tue. July 31
SSK 9 @ MTL 29 L 17,705  
1
Mon. Aug. 6
CGY 6 @ SSK 17 W 12,362  
1
Thu. Aug. 9
SSK 7 @ BC 33 L 27,684  
2
Tue. Aug. 14
SSK 7 @ EDM 22 L 13,288  
3
Mon. Aug. 20
EDM 9 @ SSK 17 W 12,682  
4
Mon. Aug. 27
SSK 7 @ CGY 7 T 11,000  
5
Mon. Sept. 3
WPG 30 @ SSK 7 L 16,663  
7
Wed. Sept. 12
MTL 10 @ SSK 24 W 11,006  
8
Mon. Sept. 17
SSK 18 @ WPG 20 L 16,213  
8
Sat. Sept. 22
BC 14 @ SSK 26 W 12,283  
9
Sat. Sept. 29
TOR 17 @ SSK 21 W 11,758  
11
Mon. Oct. 8
EDM 20 @ SSK 28 W 12,783  
11
Sat. Oct. 13
SSK 29 @ OTT 21 W 17,246  
12
Mon. Oct. 15
SSK 21 @ HAM 67 L 19,000  
13
Mon. Oct. 22
WPG 17 @ SSK 8 L 10,339  
13
Sat. Oct. 27
SSK 23 @ CGY 15 W 17,780  
14
Sun. Nov. 4
SSK 8 @ BC 28 L 20,498  
P1
Sat. Nov. 10
SSK 0 @ CGY 25 L 17,780  
P1
Mon. Nov. 12
CGY 18 @ SSK 7 L 9,000  

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1962 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.531 4-2-0 (6) 1-4-1 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.455 2-0-0 (2) 1-1-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.438
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.594
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.406
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.688
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.679
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.393
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.464
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.286

Team Scoring

19621961 +/-
Average Combined Score 37.75 +4.94
Average Winning Score 23.13 +3.33
Average Losing Score 10.86 +1.36
Average Home Score 18.50 +5.25
Average Visitor Score 15.00 +1.88
Average Margin of Victory 9.13 +0.53
Average Margin of Loss 20.14 +5.54

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 362662 332962 383068 413576 148 (18.5)120 (15.0)268 (16.8)
Opponent 274875 45104149 81826 434386 213 (26.6)123 (15.4)336 (21.0)

Coaches

Head Coach

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1962 Player Awards and Nominations

1962 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Ray “Dutch” Purdin (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Len LeGault (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Len LeGault (Team Nominee)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1962 All-Star Selections

3 All-Canadian Selections
HB Ray “Dutch” Purdin
C Neil Habig
DE Garner Ekstran
5 All-Division Selections
HB Ray “Dutch” Purdin
C Neil Habig
DE Garner Ekstran
MG Ron Atchison
CLB Bill Burrell

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1962 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
No draft picks for 1962 in database.

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020 All rights reserved

Server: Clements