The Saskatchewan Roughriders’ 1967 Season

Season Summary

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1967 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1967 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 2 1 0 4 64 52 W2 2-1-0
Regular Season 16 12 4 0 24 346 282 W2 4-2-0
    Home 8 7 1 0 14 195 141 W1 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 5 3 0 10 151 141 W1 4-2-0
   Divisional opponent 12 8 4 0 16 253 211 W2 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 4 0 0 8 93 71 W4 4-0-0

Full 1967 League Standings

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1967 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.453 5-1-0 (6) 3-3-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.482 2-0-0 (2) 2-0-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.219
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.750
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.594
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.250
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.714
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.143
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.679
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.393

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1967 Saskatchewan Roughriders Attendance

  • Capacity: 19,600
  • Total: 160,944
  • High: 22,028
  • Avg: 20,118 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1966 Avg: +1,284
  • Low: 13,969
  • Sellouts: 5
  • % of Capacity: 102.64
  • Diff from League Avg: -465

More 1967 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19671966 +/-
Average Combined Score 39.25 2.56 -
Average Winning Score 24.33 5.44 -
Average Losing Score 13.50 1.50 +
Average Home Score 24.38 0.88 +
Average Visitor Score 18.88 1.50 -
Average Margin of Victory 8.58 4.75 -
Average Margin of Loss 9.75 4.75 -

Stadium

  • 1967 home stadium: Taylor Field
  • Capacity: 19,600
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1966 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 455196 7138109 413576 382765 195 (24.4)151 (18.9)346 (21.6)
Opponent 232245 352661 534093 305383 141 (17.6)141 (17.6)282 (17.6)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 5 (3-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 8 (6-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (5-2-0)
After 2nd 7 (6-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 13 (10-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0)
After 3rd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 11 (10-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (2-3-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 12 (12-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1967 Player Awards and Nominations

1967 Most Outstanding
  • Player — George Reed (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Eddie McQuarters, Jr. (Winner)
  • Canadian Player — Wayne Shaw (Team Nominee)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1967 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–9 (9) Wayne Parsons (E) Toronto
2–9 (18) Dave Knechtel (E) Waterloo
3–9 (26) Lance Fletcher (HB) British Columbia (UBC)
4–9 (33) Bob Wilton (HB) Bishop's
5–9 (38) Gerry Zybtniuk (HB) Saskatchewan
6–9 Pass
7–9 Pass
8–9 Pass

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1967 All-Star Selections

7 All-Canadian Selections
FB George Reed*
C Ted Urness
G Jack Abendschan, Jr.
T Clyde Brock
DT Ed McQuarters
OLB Garner Ekstran
OLB Wayne Shaw
8 All-Division Selections
FB George Reed*
C Ted Urness
G Jack Abendschan, Jr.*
T Clyde Brock
DT Ed McQuarters*
OLB Wayne Shaw
OLB Garner Ekstran
DHB Bruce Bennett

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Sun. July 9
SSK 20 @ CGY 27 L 12,271  
B
Fri. July 21
WPG 1 @ SSK 18 W 12,000  
C
Fri. July 28
SSK 26 @ TOR 24 W 24,156  
1
Mon. Aug. 7
SSK 24 @ BC 16 W 28,411  
2
Fri. Aug. 11
BC 13 @ SSK 36 W 19,016  
3
Tue. Aug. 15
SSK 10 @ CGY 36 L 22,846  
4
Fri. Aug. 25
WPG 18 @ SSK 24 W 19,292  
5
Wed. Aug. 30
SSK 21 @ EDM 10 W 22,197  
5
Mon. Sept. 4
EDM 6 @ SSK 18 W 21,673  
6
Sun. Sept. 10
OTT 23 @ SSK 32 W 21,696  
7
Sun. Sept. 17
SSK 16 @ WPG 17 L 21,681  
8
Sun. Sept. 24
CGY 27 @ SSK 28 W 22,028  
9
Sat. Sept. 30
SSK 17 @ TOR 15 W 21,271  
10
Wed. Oct. 4
SSK 22 @ MTL 12 W 13,000  
10
Mon. Oct. 9
HAM 21 @ SSK 22 W 21,405  
11
Sun. Oct. 15
SSK 17 @ EDM 21 L 21,000  
12
Sun. Oct. 22
CGY 19 @ SSK 11 L 21,865  
13
Sun. Oct. 29
BC 14 @ SSK 24 W 13,969  
14
Sun. Nov. 5
SSK 24 @ WPG 14 W 11,974  
P1
Sat. Nov. 11
EDM 5 @ SSK 21 W 15,999  
P2
Sat. Nov. 18
SSK 11 @ CGY 15 L 21,031  
P2
Wed. Nov. 22
CGY 9 @ SSK 11 W 12,456  
P2
Sun. Nov. 26
SSK 17 @ CGY 13 W 21,036  
GC
Sat. Dec. 2 12:30 PM
SSK 1 vs HAM 24 L 31,358 CTV, CBC