Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Wed Jul 10
SSK 9 @ BC 8 W 26,095  
Ex
Fri Jul 12
SSK 12 @ EDM 16 L 8,500  
Ex
Thu Jul 18 10:00 PM
MTL 14 @ SSK 16 W 12,728  
Ex
Wed Jul 24
OTT 13 @ SSK 29 W 13,422  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Jul 30 11:00 PM
SSK 25 @ CGY 24 W 21,652  
1
Sun Aug 4 4:00 PM
WPG 8 @ SSK 27 W 16,465  
2
Wed Aug 7 11:00 PM
SSK 10 @ EDM 10 T 16,960  
3
Wed Aug 14 8:00 PM
SSK 23 @ OTT 37 L 25,254  
3
Sat Aug 17
SSK 3 @ HAM 9 L 24,393  
4
Sun Aug 25 4:00 PM
TOR 17 @ SSK 32 W 20,390  
5
Mon Sep 2 4:00 PM
EDM 2 @ SSK 29 W 19,763  
6
Sat Sep 7 11:00 PM
SSK 14 @ BC 8 W 30,342 CBC
7
Sun Sep 15 4:00 PM
WPG 3 @ SSK 31 W 16,136  
8
Sun Sep 22 4:00 PM
BC 12 @ SSK 16 W 16,151  
9
Sun Sep 29
SSK 35 @ CGY 38 L 23,380  
10
Sun Oct 6 4:00 PM
MTL 7 @ SSK 11 W 14,830  
11
Mon Oct 14 4:00 PM
CGY 15 @ SSK 19 W 22,157  
13
Wed Oct 23
SSK 24 @ WPG 7 W 10,000  
14
Wed Oct 30 9:00 PM
EDM 20 @ SSK 34 W 17,048  
14
Sat Nov 2 11:00 PM
SSK 12 @ BC 6 W 22,645 CBCW
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P2
Sat Nov 16 3:00 PM
CGY 32 @ SSK L 18,833  
P2
Wed Nov 20 10:00 PM
SSK 12 @ CGY 25 L 23,380 CTV
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 16 12 3 1 25 345 223 W5 5-1-0
    Home 8 8 0 0 16 199 84 W8 6-0-0
    Visitor 8 4 3 1 9 146 139 W2 3-3-0
   Divisional opponent 12 10 1 1 21 276 153 W4 5-1-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 2 2 0 4 69 70 W2 2-2-0

Full 1968 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 3 (1-1-1) 1 (0-1-0) 9 (8-1-0) 3 (1-1-1) 4 (3-1-0)
After 2nd 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-2-1) 11 (10-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (2-2-1)
After 3rd 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (0-0-1) 1 (0-1-0) 13 (11-2-0) 1 (0-0-1) 2 (1-1-0)
After 4th 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 3 (0-3-0) 12 (12-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 3 (0-3-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.406 6-0-0 (6) 4-1-1 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.527 2-0-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.281
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.625
Edmonton Elks (3) 0.531
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.188
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.464
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.286
Ottawa RedBlacks (1) 0.714
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.643
19681967 +/-
Average Combined Score 35.50 -3.75
Average Winning Score 22.83 -1.50
Average Losing Score 20.33 +6.83
Average Home Score 24.88 +0.50
Average Visitor Score 18.25 -0.62
Average Margin of Victory 12.08 +3.50
Average Margin of Loss 7.67 -2.08
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 322759 8442126 354984 482876 199 (24.9)146 (18.3)345 (21.6)
Opponent 201636 294877 93443 264167 139 (17.4)84 (10.5)223 (13.9)
Head Coach
1968 Player Awards and Nominations
1968 Most Outstanding
Saskatchewan Roughriders 1968 All-Star Selections
6 All-Canadian Selections
RB George Reed
C Ted Urness
T Clyde Brock
DT Ed McQuarters
LB Wally Dempsey
DB Bob Kosid
9 All-Division Selections
QB Ron Lancaster
RB George Reed
C Ted Urness
G John Atamian
T Clyde Brock
DT Ed McQuarters
LB Wally Dempsey
DB Bruce Bennett
DB Bob Kosid

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1968 Saskatchewan Roughriders Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–8 (8)   Pete Gilbert (C) Alberta
2–8 (17)   Larry Derocher (E) Toronto
3–8 (26)   Doug Quackenbush Dalhousie
4–8 (35)   Winston Ingalls Macdonald
5–8 (43)   Bob Moyle Laurentian
6–8 (51)   Terry Lampert Alberta
7–8 (58)   Gord Garvie Saskatchewan
8–8 (65)   Norm Lowes Saskatchewan
9–8   Pass
10–8   Pass
11–8   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway