The Saskatchewan Roughriders 1969 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1969 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 1 3 0 2 66 103 L2 1-3-0
Regular Season 16 13 3 0 26 392 261 W7 6-0-0
    Home 8 7 1 0 14 217 129 W3 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 6 2 0 12 175 132 W5 5-1-0
   Divisional opponent 12 11 1 0 22 283 167 W7 6-0-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 2 2 0 4 109 94 W1 2-2-0

Full 1969 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (4-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 9 (8-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 5 (3-2-0)
After 2nd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 9 (8-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (5-2-0)
After 3rd 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 10 (10-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (2-3-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 13 (13-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
B
Fri Jul 11
HAM 32 @ SSK 31 L 11,500  
C
Fri Jul 18 10:00 PM
OTT 5 @ SSK 6 W 12,890  
D
Tue Jul 22
SSK 8 @ OTT 39 L    
D
Thu Jul 24
SSK 21 @ MTL 27 L 6,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
2
Sun Aug 3
BC 20 @ SSK 22 W 13,000  
3
Mon Aug 11
SSK 21 @ EDM 20 W 20,370  
3
Fri Aug 15
CGY 8 @ SSK 24 W 18,416  
4
Fri Aug 22
EDM 9 @ SSK 24 W 17,055  
5
Wed Aug 27
SSK 14 @ WPG 16 L 21,100  
6
Mon Sep 1
BC 14 @ SSK 32 W 16,470  
7
Sun Sep 7
SSK 15 @ TOR 34 L 33,135  
8
Wed Sep 10
SSK 27 @ MTL 8 W 9,030  
8
Sun Sep 14
HAM 31 @ SSK 29 L 19,556  
9
Sat Sep 20
SSK 31 @ CGY 12 W 23,616  
10
Sun Sep 28
WPG 8 @ SSK 24 W 16,828  
11
Sun Oct 5
SSK 22 @ WPG 10 W 19,334  
12
Sun Oct 12
OTT 21 @ SSK 38 W 21,957  
13
Sun Oct 19
CGY 18 @ SSK 24 W 20,120  
15
Thu Oct 30
SSK 18 @ BC 7 W 32,340  
15
Sun Nov 2
SSK 27 @ EDM 25 W 20,500  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P2
Sat Nov 15
CGY 11 @ SSK 17 W 15,955  
P2
Wed Nov 19
SSK 36 @ CGY 13 W 23,625  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sun Nov 30 1:00 PM
SSK 11 vs OTT 29 L 33,172 R/C, CTV, CBC

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1969 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.352 6-0-0 (6) 5-1-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.580 1-1-0 (2) 1-1-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.313
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.563
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.313
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.219
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.607
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.214
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.786
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.714

Team Scoring

19691968 +/-
Average Combined Score 40.81 +5.31
Average Winning Score 25.69 +2.86
Average Losing Score 19.33 -1.00
Average Home Score 27.13 +2.25
Average Visitor Score 21.88 +3.62
Average Margin of Victory 11.85 -0.24
Average Margin of Loss 7.67 +0.00

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 405494 363167 8631117 5559114 217 (27.1)175 (21.9)392 (24.5)
Opponent 103242 572784 192847 434588 132 (16.5)129 (16.1)261 (16.3)

Coaches

Head Coach

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1969 Player Awards and Nominations

1969 Most Outstanding
  • Player — George Reed (Division Finalist)
  • Lineman — Eddie McQuarters, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Bill Baker (Team Nominee)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1969 All-Star Selections

No Saskatchewan Roughriders Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1969.

See an error? Please send corrections.

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1969 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–3 (3) [BC] Keith “Skip” Eamon (HB) Toronto
1–6 (6)   Alex Squires (DE) Toronto
2–6 (15)   Bruce Haugh (DB) Western Ontario
3–6 (23)   Jim McKeen (DB) Queen's
4–6 (32)   Bruce Gainer (OG) Alberta
5–6 (40)   Bill Orange (T) Laurentian
6–6 (47)   John Ricker (T) Laurentian
7–6 (54)   Darryl Burgess (HB) Saint Mary's
8–6 (59)   Dave Fleiszer (HB) McGill
9–5 (65)   Dan McCarthy (HB) Queen's
9–6 (66)   John Keabeney (T) St. Francis Xavier

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2019. All rights reserved

Server: Clements