The Saskatchewan Roughriders 1972 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1972 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 70 68 W2 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 8 8 0 16 330 283 L1 2-4-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 194 108 W2 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 2 6 0 4 136 175 L4 2-4-0
   Divisional opponent 12 6 6 0 12 262 232 L3 1-5-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 2 2 0 4 68 51 W2 2-2-0

Full 1972 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (4-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 8 (6-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (2-5-0)
After 2nd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (0-5-0) 7 (7-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 8 (1-7-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 5 (5-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 10 (2-8-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Wed Jul 5
BC 31 @ SSK 23 L 12,264  
B
Wed Jul 12
SSK 16 @ OTT 19 L 16,444  
C
Tue Jul 18
SSK 16 @ EDM 11 W 16,741  
D
Fri Jul 21
CGY 7 @ SSK 15 W 10,958  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Mon Jul 31
SSK 17 @ HAM 20 L 26,497  
1
Wed Aug 2
SSK 7 @ OTT 22 L 21,662  
2
Wed Aug 9
TOR 6 @ SSK 15 W 15,771  
3
Wed Aug 16
EDM 31 @ SSK 29 L 17,516  
4
Tue Aug 22
SSK 12 @ CGY 10 W 23,616  
4
Sun Aug 27
CGY 3 @ SSK 35 W 18,858  
6
Mon Sep 4
WPG 21 @ SSK 32 W 21,531  
8
Tue Sep 12
SSK 24 @ BC 13 W 21,937  
8
Sun Sep 17
EDM 12 @ SSK 14 W 21,230  
9
Sun Sep 24
WPG 18 @ SSK 16 L 19,568  
10
Sun Oct 1
SSK 14 @ CGY 31 L 23,616  
12
Sun Oct 8
BC 14 @ SSK 24 W 16,500  
13
Sun Oct 15
SSK 25 @ WPG 28 L 25,210  
14
Sun Oct 22
SSK 23 @ EDM 25 L 21,426  
15
Sun Oct 29
MTL 3 @ SSK 29 W 11,958  
16
Sat Nov 4
SSK 14 @ BC 26 L 22,597  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 12
SSK 8 @ EDM 6 W 15,773  
P2
Sun Nov 19
SSK 27 @ WPG 24 W 19,534  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sun Dec 3 1:00 PM
SSK 10 @ HAM 13 L 33,993 CTV, CBC

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1972 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.484 4-2-0 (6) 2-4-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.518 2-0-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.313
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.625
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.625
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.786
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.286
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.786
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.214

Team Scoring

19721971 +/-
Average Combined Score 38.31 -3.12
Average Winning Score 23.13 -6.99
Average Losing Score 18.13 +6.62
Average Home Score 24.25 -2.25
Average Visitor Score 17.00 +0.12
Average Margin of Victory 12.88 -1.46
Average Margin of Loss 7.00 -9.33

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 581674 5943102 181937 5958117 194 (24.3)136 (17.0)330 (20.6)
Opponent 114455 5546101 174158 254469 175 (21.9)108 (13.5)283 (17.7)

Coaches

Head Coaches

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1972 Player Awards and Nominations

1972 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Ron Lancaster (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Bill Baker (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Bill Baker (Team Nominee)
  • Rookie — Tom Campana (Division Finalist)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1972 All-Star Selections

No Saskatchewan Roughriders Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1972.

See an error? Please send corrections.

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1972 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–7 (16)   Bob Toogood (DE) Manitoba
3–7 (25)   Joe Watt (T) McMaster
4–7 (34)   Jim Cooper (DB) Waterloo Lutheran
5–7   Pass
6–7 (51)   Mark Baldasero (HB) McMaster
7–7   Pass
8–7   Pass
9–7   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2019. All rights reserved

Server: Clements