Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Wed Jul 5 10:00 PM
BC 31 @ SSK 23 L 12,264  
B
Wed Jul 12 8:00 PM
SSK 16 @ OTT 19 L 16,444  
C
Tue Jul 18 10:00 PM
SSK 16 @ EDM 11 W 16,741  
D
Fri Jul 21 10:00 PM
CGY 7 @ SSK 15 W 10,958  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Mon Jul 31 8:00 PM
SSK 17 @ HAM 20 L 26,497 CTV
1
Wed Aug 2 8:00 PM
SSK 7 @ OTT 22 L 21,662 CTV
2
Wed Aug 9 10:00 PM
TOR 6 @ SSK 15 W 15,771 CTV
3
Wed Aug 16 10:00 PM
EDM 31 @ SSK 29 L 17,516 CTVW
4
Tue Aug 22 10:00 PM
SSK 12 @ CGY 10 W 23,616  
4
Sun Aug 27 5:00 PM
CGY 3 @ SSK 35 W 18,858 CTVW
6
Mon Sep 4 4:00 PM
WPG 21 @ SSK 32 W 21,531 CTVW
8
Tue Sep 12 11:00 PM
SSK 24 @ BC 13 W 21,937  
8
Sun Sep 17 4:00 PM
EDM 12 @ SSK 14 W 21,230  
9
Sun Sep 24 4:00 PM
WPG 18 @ SSK 16 L 19,568  
10
Sun Oct 1 4:00 PM
SSK 14 @ CGY 31 L 23,616 CTVW
12
Sun Oct 8 4:00 PM
BC 14 @ SSK 24 W 16,500 CTVW
13
Sun Oct 15 3:30 PM
SSK 25 @ WPG 28 L 25,210  
14
Sun Oct 22 4:00 PM
SSK 23 @ EDM 25 L 21,426 CTVW
15
Sun Oct 29 4:00 PM
MTL 3 @ SSK 29 W 11,958 CTV
16
Sat Nov 4 11:00 PM
SSK 14 @ BC 26 L 22,597  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 12 4:00 PM
SSK 8 @ EDM 6 W 15,773 CTV
P2
Sun Nov 19 3:30 PM
SSK 27 @ WPG 24 W 19,534 CBC
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sun Dec 3 1:00 PM
SSK 10 @ HAM 13 L 33,993 CTV, CBC
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 70 68 W2 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 8 8 0 16 330 283 L1 2-4-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 194 108 W2 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 2 6 0 4 136 175 L4 2-4-0
   Divisional opponent 12 6 6 0 12 262 232 L3 1-5-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 2 2 0 4 68 51 W2 2-2-0

Full 1972 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (4-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 8 (6-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (2-5-0)
After 2nd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (0-5-0) 7 (7-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 8 (1-7-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 5 (5-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 10 (2-8-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.484 4-2-0 (6) 2-4-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.518 2-0-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.313
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.625
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.625
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.786
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.286
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.786
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.214
19721971 +/-
Average Combined Score 38.31 -3.12
Average Winning Score 23.13 -6.99
Average Losing Score 18.13 +6.62
Average Home Score 24.25 -2.25
Average Visitor Score 17.00 +0.12
Average Margin of Victory 12.88 -1.46
Average Margin of Loss 7.00 -9.33
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 581674 5943102 181937 5958117 194 (24.3)136 (17.0)330 (20.6)
Opponent 114455 5546101 174158 254469 175 (21.9)108 (13.5)283 (17.7)
Head Coaches
Saskatchewan Roughriders 1972 Player Awards and Nominations
1972 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Ron Lancaster (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Bill Baker (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Bill Baker (Team Nominee)
  • Rookie — Tom Campana (Division Finalist)
Saskatchewan Roughriders 1972 All-Star Selections
3 All-Canadian Selections
RB George Reed
G Jack Abendschan, Jr.
DE Bill Baker
4 All-Division Selections
RB Tom Campana
RB George Reed
DE Bill Baker
DB Bruce Bennett

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1972 Saskatchewan Roughriders Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–7 (16)   Bob Toogood (DE) Manitoba
3–7 (25)   Joe Watt (T) McMaster
4–7 (34)   Jim Cooper (DB) Waterloo Lutheran
5–7   Pass
6–7 (51)   Mark Baldasero (HB) McMaster
7–7   Pass
8–7   Pass
9–7   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway