The Saskatchewan Roughriders 1973 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1973 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 70 78 W1 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 10 6 0 20 360 287 L1 3-3-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 207 149 W3 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 153 138 L3 3-3-0
   Divisional opponent 12 6 6 0 12 250 215 L1 2-4-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 4 0 0 8 110 72 W4 4-0-0

Full 1973 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (3-2-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 9 (5-4-0)
After 2nd 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 4 (2-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 8 (5-3-0) 3 (3-0-0) 5 (2-3-0)
After 3rd 5 (4-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 7 (6-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 7 (2-5-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Tue Jul 3
MTL 24 @ SSK 10 L 13,829  
B
Tue Jul 10
SSK 25 @ WPG 16 W 21,014  
B
Fri Jul 13
SSK 13 @ TOR 25 L 33,135  
D
Mon Jul 23
WPG 13 @ SSK 22 W 9,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Jul 31
SSK 21 @ BC 5 W 27,447  
1
Thu Aug 2
SSK 15 @ CGY 23 L 25,328  
2
Wed Aug 8
BC 19 @ SSK 38 W 17,210  
4
Mon Aug 20
OTT 12 @ SSK 18 W 21,032  
5
Wed Aug 29
SSK 13 @ WPG 12 W 25,210  
6
Mon Sep 3
EDM 27 @ SSK 28 W 22,265  
7
Sun Sep 9
CGY 25 @ SSK 8 L 21,490  
8
Sun Sep 16
SSK 37 @ MTL 20 W 17,142  
8
Wed Sep 19
SSK 21 @ TOR 15 W 33,135  
9
Tue Sep 25
WPG 25 @ SSK 23 L 16,310  
10
Sun Sep 30
SSK 13 @ EDM 17 L 21,429  
11
Sun Oct 7
BC 9 @ SSK 24 W 22,000  
12
Sun Oct 14
SSK 17 @ WPG 18 L 24,372  
13
Sun Oct 21
CGY 7 @ SSK 34 W 20,379  
14
Sun Oct 28
HAM 25 @ SSK 34 W 20,782  
15
Sun Nov 4
SSK 16 @ EDM 28 L 21,234  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 11 4:00 PM
BC 13 @ SSK 33 W 9,373 CTV
P2
Sun Nov 18 4:30 PM
SSK 23 @ EDM 25 L 20,021 CBC

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1973 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.414 4-2-0 (6) 2-4-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.563 2-0-0 (2) 2-0-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.375
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.625
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.281
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.500
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.536
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.643
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.571

Team Scoring

19731972 +/-
Average Combined Score 40.44 +2.12
Average Winning Score 26.80 +3.67
Average Losing Score 15.33 -2.79
Average Home Score 25.88 +1.62
Average Visitor Score 19.13 +2.12
Average Margin of Victory 11.70 -1.18
Average Margin of Loss 7.33 +0.33

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 232043 5864122 462167 8048128 207 (25.9)153 (19.1)360 (22.5)
Opponent 293362 311748 225072 6738105 138 (17.3)149 (18.6)287 (17.9)

Coaches

Head Coach

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1973 Player Awards and Nominations

1973 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Ron Lancaster (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Bill Baker (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Bill Baker (Team Nominee)
  • Rookie — Lorne Richardson (Division Finalist)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1973 All-Star Selections

5 All-Canadian Selections
QB Ron Lancaster
RB George Reed
G Jack Abendschan, Jr.
DE Bill Baker
DB Lorne Richardson
7 All-Division Selections
QB Ron Lancaster*
RB George Reed
G Jack Abendschan, Jr.
G Ralph Galloway
DE Bill Baker
DB Ted Provost
DB Lorne Richardson

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1973 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–8 (8)   Art Edgson (DB) Idaho State
2–8 (17)   Ted Passmore (RB) Eastern Michigan
3–8 (26)   Gerry Harris (TE) Saskatchewan
4–8 (35)   Mike Ewachniuk (DT) Alberta
5–8 (43)   Lee Benard (DB) Manitoba
6–8 (51)   Don Savich (TE) Alberta
7–8 (59)   Nick Drakich (T) Windsor
8–8 (67)   Marv Janzen (DB) Saskatchewan

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway