The Saskatchewan Roughriders 1974 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1974 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 1 1 5 95 86 W1 2-1-1
Regular Season 16 9 7 0 18 305 289 W3 4-2-0
    Home 8 5 3 0 10 165 124 W3 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 140 165 W1 3-3-0
   Divisional opponent 12 8 4 0 16 259 223 W2 4-2-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 1 3 0 2 46 66 W1 1-3-0

Full 1974 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (3-3-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 9 (4-5-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (2-3-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (2-3-0) 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (4-6-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0) 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (4-6-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 9 (9-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Wed Jul 3
SSK 25 @ TOR 25 T 30,650  
B
Tue Jul 9
CGY 16 @ SSK 19 W    
C
Mon Jul 15
SSK 15 @ WPG 30 L 17,600  
D
Fri Jul 19
TOR 15 @ SSK 36 W    
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Fri Jul 26
SSK 7 @ EDM 31 L 21,456  
2
Wed Jul 31 10:00 PM
SSK 24 @ CGY 18 W 22,000  
3
Fri Aug 9 10:00 PM
EDM 23 @ SSK 24 W 19,461  
4
Fri Aug 16
WPG 13 @ SSK 24 W 16,552  
5
Wed Aug 21 10:00 PM
SSK 10 @ CGY 8 W 26,200  
6
Sun Aug 25 4:00 PM
TOR 17 @ SSK 13 L 15,688  
7
Mon Sep 2
WPG 20 @ SSK 18 L 19,232  
8
Sat Sep 7 11:00 PM
SSK 38 @ BC 16 W 30,187 CBCW
9
Fri Sep 13
EDM 24 @ SSK 18 L 21,826  
10
Wed Sep 18
SSK 10 @ HAM 23 L 30,026  
10
Sun Sep 22
SSK 6 @ OTT 24 L 16,048  
11
Sun Sep 29
CGY 10 @ SSK 34 W 17,168  
12
Sun Oct 6
SSK 21 @ WPG 24 L 24,535  
13
Sun Oct 13 4:00 PM
BC 15 @ SSK 17 W 16,792  
14
Sat Oct 19 11:00 PM
SSK 24 @ BC 21 W 30,348  
15
Sun Oct 27 4:00 PM
MTL 2 @ SSK 17 W 22,394 CTV
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 10 4:00 PM
BC 14 @ SSK 24 W 20,485 CTV
P2
Sun Nov 17 4:00 PM
SSK 27 @ EDM 31 L 25,026 CBC

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1974 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.508 4-2-0 (6) 4-2-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.477 1-1-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.500
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.656
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.500
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.438
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.625
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.438
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.406

Team Scoring

19741973 +/-
Average Combined Score 37.13 -3.31
Average Winning Score 23.56 -3.24
Average Losing Score 13.29 -2.05
Average Home Score 20.63 -5.25
Average Visitor Score 17.50 -1.62
Average Margin of Victory 9.56 -2.14
Average Margin of Loss 10.00 +2.67

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 212142 6938107 482068 276188 165 (20.6)140 (17.5)305 (19.1)
Opponent 314576 5456110 234669 161834 165 (20.6)124 (15.5)289 (18.1)

Coaches

Head Coach

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1974 Player Awards and Nominations

1974 Most Outstanding
  • Player — George Reed (Team Nominee)
  • Defensive Player — George Wells (Team Nominee)
  • Offensive Lineman — Ralph Galloway (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Lorne Richardson (Team Nominee)
  • Rookie — Ken McEachern (Team Nominee)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1974 All-Star Selections

No Saskatchewan Roughriders Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1974.

See an error? Please send corrections.

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1974 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–6 (6)   Vic McLeod (TE) Western Ontario
2–6 (15)   Leif Pettersen (WR) Otterbein
3–6 (24)   Duncan Findlay (RB) Whitworth
4–6 (33)   Brian Berg (G) Augsburg
5–6 (42)   Bruce Pazarena (DB) Puget Sound
6–6 (51)   Vance Curtis (TE) Alberta

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements