The Saskatchewan Roughriders 1976 Season

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1976 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 3 1 0 6 99 55 L1 3-1-0
Regular Season 16 11 5 0 22 427 238 W1 4-2-0
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 196 112 L1 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 7 1 0 14 231 126 W2 5-1-0
   Divisional opponent 12 8 4 0 16 323 185 W1 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 3 1 0 6 104 53 W3 3-1-0

Full 1976 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (3-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 5 (5-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 9 (8-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 5 (2-3-0)
After 2nd 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 10 (9-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 3rd 5 (3-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 11 (9-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (2-3-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 11 (11-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Fri Jun 25
BC 6 @ SSK 18 W 16,057  
B
Fri Jul 2
SSK 25 @ EDM 20 W 24,881  
C
Thu Jul 8
SSK 35 @ MTL 7 W 22,000  
D
Tue Jul 13
CGY 22 @ SSK 21 L 16,546  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Thu Jul 22
SSK 35 @ BC 8 W 21,983  
2
Mon Jul 26 10:00 PM
MTL 26 @ SSK 17 L 20,136  
3
Tue Aug 3
SSK 29 @ OTT 16 W 24,078  
3
Sat Aug 7 8:00 PM
SSK 24 @ HAM 8 W 18,126 CTV
4
Sun Aug 15 4:30 PM
EDM 0 @ SSK 40 W 22,235  
5
Fri Aug 20 10:00 PM
SSK 38 @ CGY 13 W 26,972  
6
Fri Aug 27 10:00 PM
WPG 13 @ SSK 12 L 21,362  
8
Mon Sep 6 4:30 PM
BC 14 @ SSK 17 W 21,726  
9
Sun Sep 12 4:30 PM
SSK 34 @ EDM 7 W 25,978 CBCW
10
Sun Sep 19 4:30 PM
EDM 25 @ SSK 22 L 22,622  
11
Sun Sep 26 4:30 PM
CGY 10 @ SSK 35 W 20,534 CBC
12
Sat Oct 2 9:00 PM
SSK 10 @ WPG 28 L 25,210 CTVW
13
Sun Oct 10 4:30 PM
TOR 3 @ SSK 34 W 22,140 CBC
14
Sun Oct 17 5:00 PM
SSK 28 @ BC 15 W 21,534  
15
Sun Oct 24 4:30 PM
WPG 21 @ SSK 19 L 22,508 CBC
17
Sun Nov 7 4:30 PM
SSK 33 @ CGY 31 W 26,925 CBCW
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P2
Sat Nov 20 3:00 PM
EDM 13 @ SSK 23 W 21,896 CTV
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sun Nov 28 1:00 PM
SSK 20 vs OTT 23 L 53,467 CTV, CBC

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1976 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.445 3-3-0 (6) 5-1-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.508 1-1-0 (2) 2-0-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.375
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.188
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.594
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.625
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.500
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.469
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.594
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.469

Team Scoring

19761975 +/-
Average Combined Score 41.56 -1.06
Average Winning Score 31.55 +6.25
Average Losing Score 16.00 -2.40
Average Home Score 24.50 -2.75
Average Visitor Score 28.88 +9.50
Average Margin of Victory 20.18 +10.08
Average Margin of Loss 6.60 -0.80

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 253055 7180151 443478 5687143 196 (24.5)231 (28.9)427 (26.7)
Opponent 192544 383573 232245 324476 126 (15.8)112 (14.0)238 (14.9)

Coaches

Head Coach

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1976 Player Awards and Nominations

1976 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Ron Lancaster (Winner)
  • Defensive Player — Cleveland Vann (Team Nominee)
  • Offensive Lineman — Mike Dirks, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Steve Molnar (Team Nominee)
  • Rookie — Randy Graham (Team Nominee)
1976 Other Awards
  • Tom Pate Memorial Award — George Reed (Winner)

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1976 All-Star Selections

No Saskatchewan Roughriders Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1976.

See an error? Please send corrections.

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1976 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–7 (7)   Tim Pickett (DB) Waterloo
2–7 (16)   Bob Gibbons (OT) Saskatchewan
3–7 (25)   John Glassford (LB) Wilfrid Laurier
4–7 (34)   Terry West (DB) Ottawa
5–7 (43)   Greg Wood (DB) Windsor
6–7 (52)   Hugh Gallagher (WR) Carleton
7–7 (61)   Dalton Smarsh (RB) Alberta
8–7 (70)   Ken Platz (RB) Saskatchewan
9–7   Pass
10–7   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2019. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway