The Toronto Argonauts’ 1952 Season

Season Summary

Toronto Argonauts 1952 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Toronto Argonauts 1952 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 12 7 4 1 15 265 191 L1 3-3-0
    Home 6 3 2 1 7 129 98 L1 3-2-1
    Visitor 6 4 2 0 8 136 93 W2 4-2-0

Full 1952 League Standings

Toronto Argonauts 1952 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.458 3-2-1 (6) 4-2-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (4) 0.792
Montreal Alouettes (4) 0.167
Ottawa Rough Riders (4) 0.417

Team Scoring

19521951 +/-
Average Combined Score 38.00 +2.08
Average Winning Score 26.57 +0.29
Average Losing Score 16.50 +8.10
Average Home Score 21.50 +6.67
Average Visitor Score 22.67 -0.17
Average Margin of Victory 15.71 +2.71
Average Margin of Loss 9.00 -5.00

1952 Toronto Argonauts Attendance

  • Capacity: 24,369
  • Total: 129,703
  • High: 26,663
  • Avg: 21,617 (6 out of 6 games)
  • Diff from 1951 Avg: +1,235
  • Low: 14,664
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 88.71
  • Diff from League Avg: +19,832

More 1952 Attendance Numbers

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Stadium

  • 1952 home stadium: Varsity Stadium
  • Capacity: 21,739
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1950 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Toronto 194160 263056 412768 433881 129 (21.5)136 (22.7)265 (22.1)
Opponent 71219 132538 342660 443074 93 (15.5)98 (16.3)191 (15.9)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (1-1-1) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 7 (3-3-1) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (4-0-0)
After 2nd 4 (1-2-1) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 8 (3-4-1) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (3-0-0)
After 3rd 4 (2-1-1) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 7 (4-2-1) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 7 (7-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 4 (0-4-0)

Toronto Argonauts 1952 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–4 (4)   Marsh Hames (MW) Toronto
2–4 (8)   Al Dancy (C) Toronto
3–4 (12)   Ross McKelvey (HB) Queen's
4–4 (16)   Jack Roberts (OL) Toronto
5–4   Pass
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance
1
Mon. Sept. 1
TOR 33 @ HAM 13 W 16,000
2
Sat. Sept. 6
MTL 0 @ TOR 43 W 18,700
3
Sat. Sept. 13
OTT 19 @ TOR 24 W 19,300
4
Sat. Sept. 20
HAM 13 @ TOR 13 T 26,663
5
Sun. Sept. 28
TOR 12 @ MTL 6 W 17,472
6
Sat. Oct. 4
TOR 21 @ OTT 25 L 16,500
7
Sat. Oct. 11
HAM 27 @ TOR 18 L 25,974
7
Mon. Oct. 13
TOR 16 @ HAM 25 L 17,200
8
Sat. Oct. 18
TOR 25 @ OTT 6 W 17,000
9
Sat. Oct. 25
OTT 14 @ TOR 20 W 24,402
10
Sun. Nov. 2
TOR 29 @ MTL 18 W 13,548
11
Sat. Nov. 8
MTL 25 @ TOR 11 L 14,664
P2
Sat. Nov. 15
TOR 22 @ HAM 6 W 17,312
P2
Wed. Nov. 19
HAM 27 @ TOR 11 L 25,099
P2
Sat. Nov. 22
HAM 7 @ TOR 12 W 27,242
P3
Wed. Nov. 26
SAR 15 @ TOR 34 W 8,900
GC
Sat. Nov. 29 1:00 PM
EDM 11 @ TOR 21 W 27,391