The Toronto Argonauts 1953 Season

Toronto Argonauts 1953 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 14 5 9 0 10 172 249 L3 2-4-0
    Home 7 2 5 0 4 69 119 L2 1-5-0
    Visitor 7 3 4 0 6 103 130 L2 3-3-0

Full 1953 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 1 (0-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (3-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 7 (0-7-0)
After 2nd 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 3 (3-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 9 (0-9-0)
After 3rd 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (1-9-0)
After 4th 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 9 (0-9-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Fri. Aug. 14
TOR 16 @ EDM 28 L 14,000  
B
Mon. Aug. 17
TOR 0 @ WPG 24 L 15,808  
1
Wed. Aug. 26
MTL 9 @ TOR 11 W 18,000  
2
Wed. Sept. 2
TOR 7 @ MTL 15 L 13,267  
2
Mon. Sept. 7
TOR 12 @ HAM 14 L 17,000  
3
Sat. Sept. 12 2:15 PM
OTT 20 @ TOR 16 L 17,459  
4
Wed. Sept. 16
TOR 21 @ HAM 20 W    
4
Sat. Sept. 19
HAM 12 @ TOR 9 L 20,382  
5
Sat. Sept. 26
TOR 18 @ OTT 17 W 16,000  
7
Sat. Oct. 10
HAM 26 @ TOR 0 L    
7
Mon. Oct. 12
TOR 30 @ HAM 12 W 19,069  
8
Sun. Oct. 18
TOR 11 @ MTL 39 L 19,603  
9
Sat. Oct. 24
HAM 5 @ TOR 17 W 19,437  
10
Sat. Oct. 31
OTT 20 @ TOR 8 L 20,187  
11
Sat. Nov. 7
TOR 4 @ OTT 13 L 12,688  
12
Sat. Nov. 14
MTL 27 @ TOR 8 L 16,153  

Toronto Argonauts 1953 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.551 2-5-0 (7) 3-4-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (6) 0.571
Montreal Alouettes (4) 0.571
Ottawa Rough Riders (4) 0.500

Team Scoring

19531952 +/-
Average Combined Score 30.07 -7.93
Average Winning Score 19.40 -7.17
Average Losing Score 8.33 -8.17
Average Home Score 9.86 -11.64
Average Visitor Score 14.71 -7.95
Average Margin of Victory 6.80 -8.91
Average Margin of Loss 12.33 +3.33

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Toronto 72330 202444 62733 362965 69 (9.9)103 (14.7)172 (12.3)
Opponent 192039 383472 274774 352964 130 (18.6)119 (17.0)249 (17.8)

Coaches

Head Coach

Toronto Argonauts 1953 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–3 (3)   Geoff Crain (QB) McGill
2–3 (7)   Lee Munn (M) McMaster
3–3 (11)   Don Griffin (HB) Queen's
4–3 (15)   Gerry Fewster (G) Western Ontario
5–3 (19)   Al Haigh (HB) Toronto
6–3 (23)   Paul Shannon (E) McMaster
7–3 (27)   Don Williams (QB) McGill
8–3 (31)   Roddy “Bud” Foster (G) McGill
9–3 (35)   Ian Fraser (MW) Queen's
10–3 (39)   Harry Hyde (MW) Toronto

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway