Week Date/Time (EDT ) Result Attendance TV
Ex
Sat Aug 8 2:30 PM
BB 12 @ TOR 36 W 7,000  
Ex
Fri Aug 14 11:45 PM
TOR 16 @ EDM 28 L 14,000  
Ex
Mon Aug 17 9:00 PM
TOR 0 @ WPG 24 L 15,808  
Week Date/Time (EDT ) Result Attendance TV
1
Wed Aug 26 5:30 PM
MTL 9 @ TOR 11 W 18,000  
2
Wed Sep 2 8:30 PM
TOR 7 @ MTL 15 L 13,267  
2
Mon Sep 7 2:15 PM
TOR 12 @ HAM 14 L 17,000  
3
Sat Sep 12 2:15 PM
OTT 20 @ TOR 16 L 17,459  
4
Wed Sep 16 8:30 PM
TOR 21 @ HAM 20 W    
4
Sat Sep 19 2:15 PM
HAM 12 @ TOR 9 L 20,382  
5
Sat Sep 26 2:15 PM
TOR 18 @ OTT 17 W 16,000  
7
Sat Oct 10 2:00 PM
HAM 26 @ TOR 0 L    
7
Mon Oct 12 2:30 PM
TOR 30 @ HAM 12 W 19,069  
8
Sun Oct 18 2:15 PM
TOR 11 @ MTL 39 L 19,603  
9
Sat Oct 24 2:00 PM
HAM 5 @ TOR 17 W 19,437  
10
Sat Oct 31 2:00 PM
OTT 20 @ TOR 8 L 20,187  
11
Sat Nov 7 2:00 PM
TOR 4 @ OTT 13 L 12,688  
12
Sat Nov 14 2:00 PM
MTL 27 @ TOR 8 L 16,153  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 14 5 9 0 10 172 249 L3 2-4-0
    Home 7 2 5 0 4 69 119 L2 1-5-0
    Visitor 7 3 4 0 6 103 130 L2 3-3-0

Full 1953 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 1 (0-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (3-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 7 (0-7-0)
After 2nd 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 3 (3-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 9 (0-9-0)
After 3rd 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (1-9-0)
After 4th 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 9 (0-9-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.551 2-5-0 (7) 3-4-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (6) 0.571
Montreal Alouettes (4) 0.571
Ottawa RedBlacks (4) 0.500
19531952 +/-
Average Combined Score 30.07 -7.93
Average Winning Score 19.40 -7.17
Average Losing Score 8.33 -8.17
Average Home Score 9.86 -11.64
Average Visitor Score 14.71 -7.95
Average Margin of Victory 6.80 -8.91
Average Margin of Loss 12.33 +3.33
Quarter Team Home (PPG) Visitor (PPG) Total (PPG)
Total Toronto 69 (9.9) 103 (14.7) 172 (12.3)
Opponent 130 (18.6) 119 (17.0) 249 (17.8)
1st Toronto 7 (1.0) 23 (3.3) 30 (2.1)
Opponent 20 (2.9) 19 (2.7) 39 (2.8)
2nd Toronto 20 (2.9) 24 (3.4) 44 (3.1)
Opponent 34 (4.9) 38 (5.4) 72 (5.1)
3rd Toronto 6 (0.9) 27 (3.9) 33 (2.4)
Opponent 47 (6.7) 27 (3.9) 74 (5.3)
4th Toronto 36 (5.1) 29 (4.1) 65 (4.6)
Opponent 29 (4.1) 35 (5.0) 64 (4.6)
Head Coach
1953 Toronto Argonauts Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–3 (3)   Geoff Crain (QB) McGill
2–3 (7)   Lee Munn (M) McMaster
3–3 (11)   Don Griffin (HB) Queen's
4–3 (15)   Gerry Fewster (G) Western Ontario
5–3 (19)   Al Haigh (HB) Toronto
6–3 (23)   Paul Shannon (E) McMaster
7–3 (27)   Don Williams (QB) McGill
8–3 (31)   Roddy “Bud” Foster (G) McGill
9–3 (35)   Ian Fraser (MW) Queen's
10–3 (39)   Harry Hyde (MW) Toronto

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2022. All rights reserved.

Server: Holloway