Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Wed Aug 10 11:30 PM
TOR 24 @ BC 30 L 22,448  
Ex
Sat Aug 13
TOR 18 @ EDM 29 L 10,000  
Ex
Mon Aug 15
TOR 29 @ WPG 6 W 15,726  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Sat Sep 3
HAM 6 @ TOR 31 W 18,621  
1
Mon Sep 5
TOR 12 @ HAM 37 L 18,628  
2
Sat Sep 10
TOR 11 @ MTL 43 L 22,227  
3
Sat Sep 17
OTT 27 @ TOR 12 L 16,078  
4
Sat Sep 24 2:00 PM
TOR 30 @ OTT 19 W 14,000  
5
Sat Oct 1
MTL 30 @ TOR 28 L 19,200  
6
Sat Oct 8
TOR 11 @ HAM 15 L 15,000  
6
Mon Oct 10
HAM 15 @ TOR 16 W 19,060  
7
Sat Oct 15
TOR 23 @ MTL 44 L 21,000  
8
Sat Oct 22
MTL 43 @ TOR 12 L 18,329  
9
Sat Oct 29
OTT 13 @ TOR 29 W 12,213  
10
Sat Nov 5
TOR 24 @ OTT 36 L 8,220  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sat Nov 12
TOR 32 @ HAM 28 W 17,600  
P2
Sat Nov 19
TOR 36 @ MTL 38 L 21,103  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 12 4 8 0 8 239 328 L1 2-4-0
    Home 6 3 3 0 6 128 134 W1 3-3-0
    Visitor 6 1 5 0 2 111 194 L3 1-5-0

Full 1955 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (2-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (3-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 5 (0-5-0)
After 2nd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 6 (4-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 5 (3-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-6-0)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.556 3-3-0 (6) 1-5-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (4) 0.667
Montreal Alouettes (4) 0.750
Ottawa Rough Riders (4) 0.250
19551954 +/-
Average Combined Score 47.25 +13.18
Average Winning Score 26.50 +2.67
Average Losing Score 16.63 +8.00
Average Home Score 21.33 +7.48
Average Visitor Score 18.50 +2.07
Average Margin of Victory 13.25 +0.42
Average Margin of Loss 17.75 +1.50
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Toronto 222951 572380 182341 313667 128 (21.3)111 (18.5)239 (19.9)
Opponent 315384 454893 315081 274370 194 (32.3)134 (22.3)328 (27.3)
Head Coaches
Assistant Coaches
  • Bill Earley – Offensive backfield
  • Terry Brennan – Assistant
Toronto Argonauts 1955 Player Awards and Nominations
1955 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Dick Shatto (Division Finalist)
1955 Toronto Argonauts Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–2 (2)   Alex Macklin (T) Toronto
2–2 (6)   Bob Kimoff (HB) Toronto
3–2 (10)   Baz Mackie (T) Toronto
4–2 (14)   Bill Horton (FW) Toronto
5–2 (18)   John Prendergast (C) Toronto
6–2 (22)   Johnny Sopinka (HB) Toronto
7–2 (26)   Jackson Strapp (T) Toronto
8–2 (30)   Mike Yednoroz McMaster
9–2 (34)   Doug Johnson (T) McMaster
10–2 (38)   Hal Biewald (FW) McGill
11–2 (42)   Roger Baikie (FW) McGill

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway