Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Wed Aug 5
CHIC 55 @ TOR 26 L 27,770  
Ex
Wed Aug 12
SSK 13 @ TOR 53 W 10,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Aug 18 8:00 PM
TOR 21 @ OTT 20 W 20,675  
1
Fri Aug 21
HAM 16 @ TOR 7 L 22,813  
2
Fri Aug 28 8:00 PM
TOR 6 @ MTL 24 L 23,927  
3
Mon Sep 7 2:00 PM
TOR 3 @ HAM 37 L 24,425 CBCE
4
Sun Sep 13
OTT 6 @ TOR 19 W 25,849  
5
Wed Sep 16 8:00 PM
TOR 1 @ OTT 28 L 13,097 CBCE
5
Sun Sep 20
HAM 34 @ TOR 17 L 27,883  
6
Sat Sep 26 2:00 PM
MTL 9 @ TOR 39 W 20,035 R/C, CBCE
7
Sat Oct 3 2:00 PM
TOR 37 @ MTL 14 W 22,152  
8
Sat Oct 10
HAM 13 @ TOR 7 L 26,223  
8
Mon Oct 12
TOR 7 @ HAM 20 L 22,068  
9
Sat Oct 17 2:00 PM
MTL 4 @ TOR 3 L 19,041 CBCE
10
Sat Oct 24 2:00 PM
TOR 4 @ OTT 18 L 14,698  
11
Sat Oct 31
OTT 31 @ TOR 21 L 19,465  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 14 4 10 0 8 192 274 L5 1-5-0
    Home 7 2 5 0 4 113 113 L3 2-4-0
    Visitor 7 2 5 0 4 79 161 L2 1-5-0

Full 1959 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (1-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (1-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 4 (1-3-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (1-3-0) 8 (2-6-0)
After 2nd 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0) 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (1-9-0)
After 3rd 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 5 (3-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)
After 4th 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (0-10-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.582 2-5-0 (7) 2-5-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (5) 0.714
Montreal Alouettes (4) 0.429
Ottawa RedBlacks (5) 0.571
19591958 +/-
Average Combined Score 33.29 -7.71
Average Winning Score 29.00 -4.75
Average Losing Score 7.60 -5.50
Average Home Score 16.14 -4.14
Average Visitor Score 11.29 -6.43
Average Margin of Victory 16.75 -7.50
Average Margin of Loss 14.90 +1.00
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Toronto 131124 352358 292150 362460 113 (16.1)79 (11.3)192 (13.7)
Opponent 293463 315687 173552 363672 161 (23.0)113 (16.1)274 (19.6)
Head Coaches
1959 Player Awards and Nominations
1959 Most Outstanding
Toronto Argonauts 1959 All-Star Selections
3 All-Division Selections
HB Carlton “Cookie” Gilchrist
HB Dick Shatto
DHB Jim Rountree

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1959 Toronto Argonauts Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–1 (1)   Larry Stacey (DE) Toronto
2–1 (10)   Doug Lougheed (E) Toronto
3–1   Pass
4–1   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway