The Toronto Argonauts’ 1969 Season

Season Summary

Toronto Argonauts 1969 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Toronto Argonauts 1969 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 99 75 L1 2-2-0
Regular Season 14 10 4 0 20 406 280 W1 5-1-0
    Home 7 5 2 0 10 222 137 W3 5-1-0
    Visitor 7 5 2 0 10 184 143 L1 4-2-0
   Divisional opponent 9 5 4 0 10 246 205 W1 4-2-0
   Non-divisional opponent 5 5 0 0 10 160 75 W5 5-0-0

Full 1969 League Standings

Toronto Argonauts 1969 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.536 2-2-0 (4) 3-2-0 (5)
Non-Divisional 0.444 3-0-0 (3) 2-0-0 (2)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (3) 0.607
Montreal Alouettes (3) 0.214
Ottawa Rough Riders (3) 0.786
BC Lions (1) 0.313
Calgary Stampeders (1) 0.563
Edmonton Eskimos (1) 0.313
Saskatchewan Roughriders (1) 0.813
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (1) 0.219

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1969 Toronto Argonauts Attendance

  • Capacity: 33,150
  • Total: 226,612
  • High: 33,135
  • Avg: 32,373 (7 out of 7 games)
  • Diff from 1968 Avg: +3,960
  • Low: 28,916
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 97.66
  • Diff from League Avg: +11,214

More 1969 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19691968 +/-
Average Combined Score 49.00 9.71 +
Average Winning Score 31.90 6.57 +
Average Losing Score 21.75 10.55 +
Average Home Score 31.71 7.43 +
Average Visitor Score 26.29 10.00 +
Average Margin of Victory 15.20 2.53 +
Average Margin of Loss 6.50 12.70 -

Stadium

  • 1969 home stadium: Exhibition Stadium
  • Capacity: 33,150
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1959 – Opened 1959

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Toronto 4560105 6950119 473885 613697 222 (31.7)184 (26.3)406 (29.0)
Opponent 274673 293463 262753 553691 143 (20.4)137 (19.6)280 (20.0)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (3-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 5 (4-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 9 (7-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (2-0-0)
After 2nd 6 (5-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 12 (10-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0)
After 3rd 5 (5-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 10 (10-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)

Toronto Argonauts 1969 Player Awards and Nominations

1969 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Bill Symons (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Dan Nykoluk (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Bobby Taylor (Team Nominee)

Toronto Argonauts 1969 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–7 Pass
3–7 (24) Norm Trainor (T) Toronto
4–7 (33) Nick Giusepe (LB) Toronto
5–7 Pass
6–7 Pass
7–7 Pass
8–7 Pass

Toronto Argonauts 1969 All-Star Selections

4 All-Canadian Selections
RB Dave Raimey
G Charles Bray
DE Ed Harrington
DB Marv Luster
9 All-Division Selections
RB Dave Raimey
TE Mel Profit, Jr.
FL Bobby Taylor
G Charles Bray
T Dan Nykoluk
DE Ed Harrington
DB Ed Learn
DB Dick Thornton
DB Marv Luster

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
B 7
Fri. July 11
CGY 24 @ TOR 10 L 27,453
C 11
Thu. July 17
WPG 14 @ TOR 39 W 22,772
D 14
Mon. July 21
TOR 25 @ CGY 10 W 17,909
17
Wed. July 23
TOR 25 @ BC 27 L 21,310
1 22
Thu. July 31
HAM 34 @ TOR 28 L 33,135
2 25
Tue. Aug. 5
TOR 33 @ MTL 26 W 9,500
3 30
Thu. Aug. 14
WPG 3 @ TOR 29 W 32,021
4 36
Sat. Aug. 23
TOR 42 @ BC 20 W 27,661
5 38
Wed. Aug. 27
TOR 24 @ EDM 12 W 20,800
7 47
Sun. Sept. 7
SSK 15 @ TOR 34 W 33,135
8 51
Sat. Sept. 13
TOR 23 @ OTT 25 L 26,989
9 56
Sat. Sept. 20
OTT 34 @ TOR 27 L 33,135
10 61
Sun. Sept. 28
TOR 36 @ MTL 33 W 14,057
12 68
Wed. Oct. 8
CGY 25 @ TOR 31 W 33,135
73
Mon. Oct. 13
TOR 17 @ HAM 7 W 30,314
13 77
Sun. Oct. 19
HAM 8 @ TOR 51 W 33,135
14 79
Sat. Oct. 25
TOR 9 @ OTT 20 L 27,115
15 86
Sun. Nov. 2
MTL 18 @ TOR 22 W 28,916
P1 88
Sun. Nov. 9
HAM 9 @ TOR 15 W 33,135
P2 90
Sun. Nov. 16
OTT 14 @ TOR 22 W 33,135
92
Sat. Nov. 22
TOR 3 @ OTT 32 L 24,354