The Toronto Argonauts 1969 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Toronto Argonauts 1969 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 99 75 L1 2-2-0
Regular Season 14 10 4 0 20 406 280 W1 5-1-0
    Home 7 5 2 0 10 222 137 W3 5-1-0
    Visitor 7 5 2 0 10 184 143 L1 4-2-0
   Divisional opponent 9 5 4 0 10 246 205 W1 4-2-0
   Non-divisional opponent 5 5 0 0 10 160 75 W5 5-0-0

Full 1969 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (3-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 5 (4-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 9 (7-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (2-0-0)
After 2nd 6 (5-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 12 (10-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0)
After 3rd 5 (5-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 10 (10-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
B
Fri Jul 11
CGY 24 @ TOR 10 L 27,453  
C
Thu Jul 17
WPG 14 @ TOR 39 W 22,772  
D
Mon Jul 21
TOR 25 @ CGY 10 W 17,909  
D
Wed Jul 23
TOR 25 @ BC 27 L 21,310  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Thu Jul 31
HAM 34 @ TOR 28 L 33,135  
2
Tue Aug 5
TOR 33 @ MTL 26 W 9,500  
3
Thu Aug 14
WPG 3 @ TOR 29 W 32,021  
4
Sat Aug 23
TOR 42 @ BC 20 W 27,661  
5
Wed Aug 27
TOR 24 @ EDM 12 W 20,800  
7
Sun Sep 7
SSK 15 @ TOR 34 W 33,135  
8
Sat Sep 13
TOR 23 @ OTT 25 L 26,989  
9
Sat Sep 20
OTT 34 @ TOR 27 L 33,135  
10
Sun Sep 28
TOR 36 @ MTL 33 W 14,057  
12
Wed Oct 8
CGY 25 @ TOR 31 W 33,135  
12
Mon Oct 13
TOR 17 @ HAM 7 W 30,314  
13
Sun Oct 19
HAM 8 @ TOR 51 W 33,135  
14
Sat Oct 25
TOR 9 @ OTT 20 L 27,115  
15
Sun Nov 2
MTL 18 @ TOR 22 W 28,916  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 9
HAM 9 @ TOR 15 W 33,135  
P2
Sun Nov 16
OTT 14 @ TOR 22 W 33,135  
P2
Sat Nov 22
TOR 3 @ OTT 32 L 24,354  

Toronto Argonauts 1969 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.536 2-2-0 (4) 3-2-0 (5)
Non-Divisional 0.444 3-0-0 (3) 2-0-0 (2)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (3) 0.607
Montreal Alouettes (3) 0.214
Ottawa Rough Riders (3) 0.786
BC Lions (1) 0.313
Calgary Stampeders (1) 0.563
Edmonton Eskimos (1) 0.313
Saskatchewan Roughriders (1) 0.813
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (1) 0.219

Team Scoring

19691968 +/-
Average Combined Score 49.00 +9.71
Average Winning Score 31.90 +6.57
Average Losing Score 21.75 +10.55
Average Home Score 31.71 +7.43
Average Visitor Score 26.29 +10.00
Average Margin of Victory 15.20 +2.53
Average Margin of Loss 6.50 -12.70

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Toronto 4560105 6950119 473885 613697 222 (31.7)184 (26.3)406 (29.0)
Opponent 274673 293463 262753 553691 143 (20.4)137 (19.6)280 (20.0)

Coaches

Head Coach
Assistant Coach
  • Bob Gibson – Offensive backfield

Toronto Argonauts 1969 Player Awards and Nominations

1969 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Bill Symons (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Dan Nykoluk (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Bobby Taylor (Team Nominee)

Toronto Argonauts 1969 All-Star Selections

4 All-Canadian Selections
RB Dave Raimey
G Charles Bray
DE Ed Harrington
DB Marv Luster
9 All-Division Selections
RB Dave Raimey
TE Mel Profit, Jr.
FL Bobby Taylor
G Charles Bray
T Dan Nykoluk
DE Ed Harrington
DB Ed Learn
DB Dick Thornton
DB Marv Luster

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Toronto Argonauts 1969 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–7   Pass
3–7 (24)   Norm Trainor (T) Toronto
4–7 (33)   Nick Giusepe (LB) Toronto
5–7   Pass
6–7   Pass
7–7   Pass
8–7   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway