Season Summary

  • Finished 4th in the Eastern Conference
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
B
Sat Jun 17 9:30 PM
TOR 14 @ EDM 26 L 25,007  
B
Thu Jun 22 8:00 PM
WPG 4 @ TOR 35 W 37,207  
C
Thu Jun 29 8:00 PM
HAM 11 @ TOR 16 W 38,120  
D
Tue Jul 4 8:00 PM
TOR 24 @ MTL 27 L 34,500  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Wed Jul 12 8:00 PM
HAM 22 @ TOR 34 W 49,950  
2
Tue Jul 18 8:00 PM
TOR 23 @ MTL 30 L 51,388 CBCE
3
Wed Jul 26 8:00 PM
OTT 16 @ TOR 20 W 48,159  
4
Wed Aug 2 8:00 PM
MTL 11 @ TOR 16 W 52,308  
5
Tue Aug 8 8:00 PM
TOR 18 @ OTT 37 L 30,723 CTVE
6
Wed Aug 16 8:00 PM
EDM 40 @ TOR 3 L 49,168 CTV
8
Sun Aug 27 4:30 PM
TOR 10 @ SSK 31 L 19,341 CBC
9
Mon Sep 4 8:00 PM
TOR 16 @ HAM 19 L 31,377 R/C, CTV
10
Sun Sep 10 2:00 PM
MTL 27 @ TOR 2 L 46,202 CBCE
11
Sat Sep 16 6:00 PM
TOR 14 @ WPG 19 L 27,201 CTV
13
Sat Sep 30 8:00 PM
OTT 24 @ TOR 3 L 45,210 R/C, CTVE
14
Sat Oct 7 10:00 PM
TOR 16 @ CGY 22 L 26,190 CTV
15
Sat Oct 14 8:00 PM
HAM 7 @ TOR 21 W 41,250  
16
Sat Oct 21 2:00 PM
TOR 7 @ MTL 30 L 45,547 CTVE
17
Sun Oct 29 2:00 PM
BC 31 @ TOR 15 L 40,120 R/C, CBC
18
Sun Nov 5 2:00 PM
TOR 16 @ HAM 23 L 31,005 R/C, CBCE
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 89 68 L1 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 4 12 0 8 234 389 L3 1-5-0
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 114 178 L1 2-4-0
    Visitor 8 0 8 0 0 120 211 L8 0-6-0
   Divisional opponent 11 4 7 0 8 176 246 L2 1-5-0
   Non-divisional opponent 5 0 5 0 0 58 143 L5 0-5-0

Full 1978 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (0-4-0) 4 (3-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 9 (1-8-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 2 (0-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (0-5-0) 5 (3-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 10 (1-9-0)
After 3rd 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 13 (1-12-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 12 (0-12-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.506 4-2-0 (6) 0-5-0 (5)
Non-Divisional 0.538 0-2-0 (2) 0-3-0 (3)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (4) 0.344
Montreal Alouettes (4) 0.531
Ottawa RedBlacks (3) 0.688
BC Lions (1) 0.500
Calgary Stampeders (1) 0.656
Edmonton Elks (1) 0.688
Saskatchewan Roughriders (1) 0.281
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (1) 0.563
19781977 +/-
Average Combined Score 38.94 +6.62
Average Winning Score 22.75 -0.42
Average Losing Score 11.92 +0.72
Average Home Score 14.25 -1.12
Average Visitor Score 15.00 -1.00
Average Margin of Victory 8.75 -8.25
Average Margin of Loss 15.83 +4.13
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Toronto 14923 333164 233255 444892 114 (14.3)120 (15.0)234 (14.6)
Opponent 483381 354580 5066116 4567112 211 (26.4)178 (22.3)389 (24.3)
Head Coaches
1978 Player Awards and Nominations
1978 Most Outstanding
Toronto Argonauts 1978 All-Star Selections
3 All-Division Selections
DE Jim Corrigall
CB Eric Harris
P Ken Clark

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1978 Toronto Argonauts Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–5 (5)   Mark Brown (RB) Guelph
3–5 (23)   Jerry Gulyes (K) Wilfrid Laurier
4–5 (32)   Ian Magowan (DT) McMaster
5–5 (41)   John Greenough (WR) Waterloo
6–5 (50)   Tim Jones (C) Simon Fraser
7–5 (59)   Clark Johnson (WR) Concordia
8–5 (68)   Stan Strecker (DB) Guelph

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements