Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance
Ex
Sat May 20
UND @ WPG 17 W 2,500
Ex
Wed May 24
NDAC 5 @ WPG 22 W  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance
1
Fri Aug 25
WPG 12 @ CGYBRK 1 W  
2
Fri Sep 1
REG 6 @ WPG 20 W  
2
Mon Sep 4
WPG 17 @ REG 1 W  
4
Fri Sep 15
CGYBRK 18 @ WPG 19 W  
4
Mon Sep 18
EDM 7 @ WPG 14 W  
5
Fri Sep 22
WPG 18 @ EDM W  
6
Sat Sep 30
CGYBRK 6 @ WPG 25 W  
7
Fri Oct 6
WPG 19 @ CGYBRK 17 W  
7
Mon Oct 9
WPG 11 @ EDM 30 L  
8
Sat Oct 14
EDM 1 @ WPG 18 W  
9
Sat Oct 21
WPG 12 @ REG 16 L  
10
Sat Oct 28
REG @ WPG 16 W  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance
P2
Sat Nov 11
CGYBRK 13 @ WPG 7 L 6,000
P3
Sat Nov 18 4:00 PM
WPG 28 @ CGYBRK 7 W 5,000
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance
GC
Sat Dec 9 2:00 PM
WPG 8 @ OTT 7 W 11,738
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1939.
Regular Season 12 10 2 0 20 201 103 W1 4-2-0
    Home 6 6 0 0 12 112 38 W6 6-0-0
    Visitor 6 4 2 0 8 89 65 L2 4-2-0

Full 1939 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (4-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 5 (3-2-0)
After 2nd 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 10 (9-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0)
After 3rd 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 9 (9-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.379 6-0-0 (6) 4-2-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Edmonton Elks (4) 0.273
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.500
Calgary Bronks (4) 0.364
19391938 +/-
Average Combined Score 25.33 +3.21
Average Winning Score 17.80 -1.20
Average Losing Score 11.50 +11.50
Average Home Score 18.67 +4.17
Average Visitor Score 14.83 +0.83
Average Margin of Victory 12.10 +0.10
Average Margin of Loss 11.50 +1.00
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 38038 163349 423072 162642 112 (18.7)89 (14.8)201 (16.8)
Opponent 112233 61117 91423 121830 65 (10.8)38 (6.3)103 (8.6)
Head Coach
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1939 All-Star Selections
6 All-Division Selections
QB Wayne Sheley
HB Fritz Hanson
FW Jeff Nicklin
IW Greg Kabat
MW Marty “Butch” Gainor*
OW Bud Marquardt

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway