Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance
Ex
Sat May 11
UND 16 @ WPG 22 W  
Ex
Fri May 24
WPG 19 @ UND 20 L  
Ex
Mon Sep 23
CONC 8 @ WPG 37 W  
Ex
Sat Oct 19
UND 15 @ WPG 27 W  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance
1
Fri Aug 30
WPG 1 @ CGYBRK 12 L 4,000
1
Mon Sep 2
WPG 1 @ REG 3 L  
2
Fri Sep 6
REG @ WPG 12 W  
3
Mon Sep 16
CGYBRK 11 @ WPG 22 W 4,000
5
Sat Sep 28
WPG 20 @ REG 11 W 2,500
6
Sat Oct 5
WPG 3 @ CGYBRK 1 W  
7
Sat Oct 12
CGYBRK 19 @ WPG 26 W 4,000
9
Sat Oct 26
REG 1 @ WPG 23 W  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance
P2
Sat Nov 2
WPG 7 @ CGYBRK W  
P2
Sat Nov 9
CGYBRK 2 @ WPG 23 W 3,000
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1940.
Regular Season 8 6 2 0 12 108 58 W6 6-0-0
    Home 4 4 0 0 8 83 31 W4 4-0-0
    Visitor 4 2 2 0 4 25 27 W2 2-2-0

Full 1940 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (1-0-0)
After 2nd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 5 (5-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (0-2-0)
After 3rd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.375 4-0-0 (4) 2-2-0 (4)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.250
Calgary Bronks (4) 0.500
19401939 +/-
Average Combined Score 20.75 -4.58
Average Winning Score 17.67 -0.13
Average Losing Score 1.00 -10.50
Average Home Score 20.75 +2.08
Average Visitor Score 6.25 -8.58
Average Margin of Victory 10.50 -1.60
Average Margin of Loss 6.50 -5.00
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 19827 121325 23023 29433 83 (20.8)25 (6.3)108 (13.5)
Opponent 707 62026 13720 505 27 (6.8)31 (7.8)58 (7.3)
Head Coach
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1940 All-Star Selections
7 All-Division Selections
QB Greg Kabat
HB Fritz Hanson
HB Art Stevenson
FW Jeff Nicklin
IW Bill “Red Dog” Ceretti
OW Bud Marquardt (Tie)
OW Ches McCance (Tie)

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway