The Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1953 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1953 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 2 0 0 4 42 11 W2 2-0-0
Regular Season 16 8 8 0 16 226 226 W2 2-4-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 114 90 L2 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 2 6 0 4 112 136 W2 2-4-0

Full 1953 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (4-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 7 (5-2-0) 3 (2-1-0) 6 (1-5-0)
After 2nd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (0-2-0) 8 (6-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (0-5-0) 6 (6-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 8 (2-6-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Sat. Aug. 15
OTT 11 @ WPG 18 W 15,600  
B
Mon. Aug. 17
TOR 0 @ WPG 24 W 15,808  
1
Sat. Aug. 29
EDM 6 @ WPG 7 W 16,108  
1
Mon. Aug. 31
CGY 10 @ WPG 16 W 16,108  
2
Fri. Sept. 4
SSK 6 @ WPG 13 W 16,000  
2
Mon. Sept. 7
WPG 19 @ SSK 23 L 14,904  
3
Sat. Sept. 12
WPG 14 @ CGY 23 L 12,000  
3
Mon. Sept. 14
WPG 7 @ EDM 9 L 16,000  
4
Sat. Sept. 19
CGY 15 @ WPG 16 W 16,578  
5
Sat. Sept. 26
WPG 15 @ SSK 21 L 12,446  
5
Mon. Sept. 28
SSK 2 @ WPG 19 W 16,400  
6
Sat. Oct. 3
CGY 17 @ WPG 24 W 16,458  
6
Mon. Oct. 5
EDM 16 @ WPG 6 L 17,014  
7
Sat. Oct. 10
SSK 18 @ WPG 13 L 16,000  
7
Mon. Oct. 12
WPG 13 @ SSK 14 L 15,565  
8
Sat. Oct. 17
WPG 9 @ EDM 32 L    
8
Mon. Oct. 19
WPG 18 @ CGY 6 W 10,000  
9
Sat. Oct. 24
WPG 17 @ EDM 8 W 15,000  
P1
Wed. Oct. 28
SSK 5 @ WPG 43 W 16,827  
P1
Sat. Oct. 31
WPG 17 @ SSK 18 L 14,000  
P2
Sat. Nov. 7
WPG 7 @ EDM 25 L 15,500  
P2
Wed. Nov. 11
EDM 17 @ WPG 21 W 17,434  
P2
Sat. Nov. 14
WPG 30 @ EDM 24 W 16,000  
P3
Sat. Nov. 21
TBB 4 @ WPG 24 W 16,000  
GC
Sat. Nov. 28 1:00 PM
WPG 6 vs HAM 12 L 27,313 CBCE

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1953 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.502 6-2-0 (8) 2-6-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Calgary Stampeders (5) 0.219
Edmonton Eskimos (5) 0.750
Saskatchewan Roughriders (6) 0.531

Team Scoring

19531952 +/-
Average Combined Score 28.25 -9.56
Average Winning Score 16.25 -13.00
Average Losing Score 12.00 +2.33
Average Home Score 14.25 -10.75
Average Visitor Score 14.00 -10.25
Average Margin of Victory 7.50 -8.75
Average Margin of Loss 7.50 +3.50

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 302454 183250 332760 332962 114 (14.3)112 (14.0)226 (14.1)
Opponent 302959 72128 334073 204666 136 (17.0)90 (11.3)226 (14.1)

Coaches

Head Coach

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1953 All-Star Selections

6 All-Division Selections
FW Robert “Bud” Korchak
E Harold “Bud” Grant
DT Dick Huffman
DG Dean “Dino” Bandiera
DHB Neill Armstrong
DHB Tom Casey

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020 All rights reserved

Server: Holloway