Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT ) Result Attendance TV
Ex
Sat Aug 15 9:00 PM
OTT 11 @ WPG 18 W 15,600  
Ex
Mon Aug 17 9:00 PM
TOR 0 @ WPG 24 W 15,808  
Ex
Sat Nov 14
CGY 22 @ WPG 0 L    
Week Date/Time (EDT ) Result Attendance TV
1
Sat Aug 29 9:00 PM
EDM 6 @ WPG 7 W 16,108  
1
Mon Aug 31 9:30 PM
CGY 10 @ WPG 16 W 16,108  
2
Fri Sep 4 9:30 PM
SSK 6 @ WPG 13 W 16,000  
2
Mon Sep 7 4:30 PM
WPG 19 @ SSK 23 L 14,904  
3
Sat Sep 12 11:30 PM
WPG 14 @ CGY 23 L 12,000  
3
Mon Sep 14 11:30 PM
WPG 7 @ EDM 9 L 16,000  
4
Sat Sep 19 9:30 PM
CGY 15 @ WPG 16 W 16,578  
5
Sat Sep 26 6:30 PM
WPG 15 @ SSK 21 L 12,446  
5
Mon Sep 28 9:00 PM
SSK 2 @ WPG 19 W 16,400  
6
Sat Oct 3 9:00 PM
CGY 17 @ WPG 24 W 16,458  
6
Mon Oct 5 9:00 PM
EDM 16 @ WPG 6 L 17,014  
7
Sat Oct 10 9:00 PM
SSK 18 @ WPG 13 L 16,000  
7
Mon Oct 12 4:30 PM
WPG 13 @ SSK 14 L 15,565  
8
Sat Oct 17 10:30 PM
WPG 9 @ EDM 32 L    
8
Mon Oct 19 10:30 PM
WPG 18 @ CGY 6 W 10,000  
9
Sat Oct 24 10:30 PM
WPG 17 @ EDM 8 W 15,000  
Week Date/Time (EST ) Result Attendance TV
P1
Wed Oct 28 9:00 PM
SSK 5 @ WPG 43 W 16,827  
P1
Sat Oct 31 4:00 PM
WPG 17 @ SSK 18 L 14,000  
P2
Sat Nov 7 10:30 PM
WPG 7 @ EDM 25 L 15,500  
P2
Wed Nov 11 3:00 PM
EDM 17 @ WPG 21 W 17,434  
P2
Sat Nov 14 10:30 PM
WPG 30 @ EDM 24 W 16,000  
P3
Sat Nov 21 2:15 PM
BB 4 @ WPG 24 W 16,000  
Week Date/Time (EST ) Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Nov 28 1:00 PM
WPG 6 vs HAM 12 L 27,313 CBCE
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 16 8 8 0 16 226 226 W2 2-4-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 114 90 L2 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 2 6 0 4 112 136 W2 2-4-0

Full 1953 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (4-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 7 (5-2-0) 3 (2-1-0) 6 (1-5-0)
After 2nd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (0-2-0) 8 (6-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (0-5-0) 6 (6-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 8 (2-6-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.502 6-2-0 (8) 2-6-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Calgary Stampeders (5) 0.219
Edmonton Elks (5) 0.750
Saskatchewan Roughriders (6) 0.531
19531952 +/-
Average Combined Score 28.25 -9.56
Average Winning Score 16.25 -13.00
Average Losing Score 12.00 +2.33
Average Home Score 14.25 -10.75
Average Visitor Score 14.00 -10.25
Average Margin of Victory 7.50 -8.75
Average Margin of Loss 7.50 +3.50
Quarter Team Home (PPG) Visitor (PPG) Total (PPG)
Total Winnipeg 114 (14.3) 112 (14.0) 226 (14.1)
Opponent 136 (17.0) 90 (11.3) 226 (14.1)
1st Winnipeg 30 (3.8) 24 (3.0) 54 (3.4)
Opponent 29 (3.6) 30 (3.8) 59 (3.7)
2nd Winnipeg 18 (2.3) 32 (4.0) 50 (3.1)
Opponent 21 (2.6) 7 (0.9) 28 (1.8)
3rd Winnipeg 33 (4.1) 27 (3.4) 60 (3.8)
Opponent 40 (5.0) 33 (4.1) 73 (4.6)
4th Winnipeg 33 (4.1) 29 (3.6) 62 (3.9)
Opponent 46 (5.8) 20 (2.5) 66 (4.1)
Head Coach
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1953 All-Star Selections
6 All-Division Selections
FW Robert “Bud” Korchak
E Harold “Bud” Grant
DT Dick Huffman
DG Dean “Dino” Bandiera
DHB Dr. Tom Casey
DHB Neill Armstrong

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2022. All rights reserved.

Server: Clements