The Winnipeg Blue Bombers’ 1954 Season

Season Summary

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1954 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1954 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 1 1 0 0 2 19 2 W2 2-0-0
Regular Season 16 8 6 2 18 202 190 L1 3-3-0
    Home 8 5 2 1 11 126 78 L2 3-2-1
    Visitor 8 3 4 1 7 76 112 L1 2-3-1

Full 1954 League Standings

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1954 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.484 5-2-1 (8) 3-4-1 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.063
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.500
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.688
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.688

Coaches

Head Coaches

More Head Coaches

1954 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Attendance

  • Capacity: 17,995
  • Total: 136,704
  • High: 18,538
  • Avg: 17,088 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1953 Avg: +754
  • Low: 15,273
  • Sellouts: 2
  • % of Capacity: 94.96
  • Diff from League Avg: +14,258

More 1954 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19541953 +/-
Average Combined Score 24.50 3.75 -
Average Winning Score 16.25 0.00
Average Losing Score 8.33 3.67 -
Average Home Score 15.75 1.50 +
Average Visitor Score 9.50 4.50 -
Average Margin of Victory 10.25 2.75 +
Average Margin of Loss 11.67 4.17 +

Stadium

  • 1954 home stadium: Winnipeg Stadium
  • Capacity: 19,660
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1955 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 47653 342660 211435 243054 126 (15.8)76 (9.5)202 (12.6)
Opponent 231841 104656 243458 211435 112 (14.0)78 (9.8)190 (11.9)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-1-1) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (2-1-1) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (5-1-0) 4 (2-1-1) 6 (1-4-1)
After 2nd 6 (5-1-0) 1 (0-0-1) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-3-1) 8 (6-2-0) 1 (0-0-1) 7 (2-4-1)
After 3rd 5 (4-1-0) 1 (0-0-1) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (1-4-1) 6 (5-1-0) 2 (1-0-1) 8 (2-5-1)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 4 (0-4-0) 8 (8-0-0) 2 (0-0-2) 6 (0-6-0)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1954 Player Awards and Nominations

1954 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Dick Huffman (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Gerry James (Winner)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1954 All-Star Selections

4 All-Division Selections
E Harold “Bud” Grant
T Dick Huffman
DT Dick Huffman
S Tom Casey

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
A 1
Fri. Aug. 13
WPG 29 @ OTT 6 W 12,000
B 6
Mon. Aug. 16
TOR 2 @ WPG 19 W 17,407
1 10
Sat. Aug. 21
CGY 5 @ WPG 17 W 17,000
12
Mon. Aug. 23
EDM 3 @ WPG 7 W 17,385
2 13
Sat. Aug. 28
WPG 8 @ BC 6 W 20,606
16
Mon. Aug. 30
WPG 0 @ CGY 41 L 15,000
3 17
Fri. Sept. 3
SSK 12 @ WPG 12 T 18,090
20
Mon. Sept. 6
WPG 14 @ SSK 18 L 14,000
4 24
Mon. Sept. 13
BC 17 @ WPG 22 W 16,760
5 26
Sat. Sept. 18
WPG 10 @ SSK 10 T 10,663
28
Mon. Sept. 20
SSK 7 @ WPG 28 W 16,418
6 30
Sat. Sept. 25
WPG 8 @ EDM 12 L 17,841
31
Mon. Sept. 27
WPG 6 @ CGY 4 W 12,000
7 36
Mon. Oct. 4
BC 6 @ WPG 24 W 15,273
8 38
Sat. Oct. 9
EDM 16 @ WPG 5 L 18,538
9 44
Mon. Oct. 18
CGY 12 @ WPG 11 L 17,240
10 45
Sat. Oct. 23
WPG 18 @ BC 0 W 17,061
48
Mon. Oct. 25
WPG 12 @ EDM 21 L 19,000
P1 49
Sat. Oct. 30
SSK 14 @ WPG 14 T 15,479
50
Mon. Nov. 1
9:30 PM
WPG 13 @ SSK 11 W 13,700
P2 51
Sat. Nov. 6
WPG 3 @ EDM 9 L 19,817
52
Thu. Nov. 11
EDM 6 @ WPG 12 W 20,953
53
Sat. Nov. 13
WPG 5 @ EDM 10 L 17,000